We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean Lakes Family Campground

Share
Traveller (327)
Pool & Beach (78)
Room & Suite (18)
Overview
Visit hotel website
6001 S Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575-4965 See on map
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Pets Allowed
Wheelchair Access
Additional information
Visit hotel website
Offers from Ocean Lakes Family Campground
Hotel packages
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews(804)
Traveller rating
  • 445
  • 182
  • 80
  • 43
  • 61
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Show reviews that mention
  • Filter
  • English
pjbartel
Leamington, Canada
41
Reviewed 3 days ago
I have to say even though this campground is the biggest we've stayed in it is far the best. So much to do and see. Our site was right across from the ocean. Great views and being able to hear the waves was so calming.
Thank pjbartel
sage83163
East Haven, Connecticut
128
Reviewed 6 days agovia mobile
Awesome campground. Very Clean. Staff friendly and so accommodating. The store is stocked. Beach is spotless. Pet friendly.
Many speeding in golf carts and people setting fireworks on beach , not cool.
Thank sage83163
James W
Asheville, North Carolina
49
Reviewed 1 week ago
MH 05 is a rental through Ocean Lakes properties that you should avoid. Three contractors use this property as a base for their businesses. One morning at 5:40 am there were 2 trucks and a van loading up materials from one of two storage sheds on the site. One van had no mufflers and woke everyone up. This happened several times and every day at different times. Bob Valentine and Bob Wimbley also park a 10 yard dumpster for their businesses on the lot and it draws flies like crazy. They men are nice, but they park cars on the lot, drop debris the dumpster everyday. The site is advertised as a large lot, but I was worried about picking up a nail or my can getting hit by the contractors loading tools and materials form the sheds.
1 Thank James W
Response from TeammateMPR, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Lakes Family Campground
Responded 2 days ago
Hi James - I apologize you were not totally pleased with your site. Please know I have shared your review with key team members. I do hope your family enjoyed the rest of the campground and its amenities! I spoke with our team at Ocean Lakes Properties about the site, your reservation, and the contractor. We always recommend to guests to let us know when there are here on site if there are any issues - so our team can address them and make the guest's experience better. There weren't any complaints listed with your reservation while you were here? Please know that Security is very strict with contractors not working during Quiet Hours of 11 PM-7 AM, in fact, they do not let contractors enter the gates until after 8 AM. I see them each morning waiting under the canopies. He may be in the park before 8 am, but his team is not permitted in until 8 am to work. Understand that the contractor owns the site you rented, and if he were to be reported to Security, he could not only jeopardize his ALL of his vendor work badges, but he would also jeopardize his site (s) lease (s) potentially putting them at risk for non-renewal (yes, that happens). Not sure about the van, currently, the white van does have mufflers and makes no loud noise while running, perhaps he has had that repaired since your visit. There were no other complaints about the van on file (Security logs each call). Please know we do not have many sites with construction dumpsters, there really is very little room for them. The contractor's dumpster should not draw flies as it does not have typical garbage in it, the dumpster is used tear down debris which consists of wood and metal scraps as far as our team has seen. There is usually one vehicle parked there during the day and Bob comes and goes throughout the day but he is vigilant about keeping that entire lot clean. He takes great pride in his unit and is always cleaning up outside so that the lot does not have leaves and magnolia pods that drop from the tree laying around. I am glad his team was friendly. I certainly understand worrying about nails and such, there is so much construction throughout the MB area, I have the same concerns. We are very concerned about any complaint we receive, our goal is to provide great customer service, and address the times when we fail to meet that goal. I was informed that the issues you listed have not been an issue with any guests that have stayed at that site and it is advertised as a large lot for parking (it can be seen on Ocean Lakes Properties Rentals web page). The vehicle that parks there and the dumpster are on the far left corner of that lot which leaves the entire area shown in the photo for the guests to park their vehicles and trailer if needed. The OLP team will try to make that clear to future guests. Once again, we apologize that you were not happy with this site. Often our team can address the issue while a guest is here, and if available, even move a guest to a different site. We hope you can visit again soon and that we can find the best site for you and your family!
Roger C
44
Reviewed 1 week ago
Ocean Lakes is a wonderful place to stay, nice beaches, a wonderful water park and several lakes to fish in ! The only bad thing I can say is you have to book a site at least a year ahead of time if you have a special site you like staying at. Very friendl.y staff
Thank Roger C
mzdollyparton
New Orleans
130
Reviewed 3 weeks agovia mobile
Nice rental with 5 bedrooms. One queen with private bath down stairs. Lots of living room space. Out door deck...grill .
Very comfortable place. Weather didn't cooperate. Found a very nice nail spa for the rainy day.
Thank mzdollyparton
PreviousNext
123456161
About
Description
A perfect 10/10*/10 located at the south end of Myrtle Beach on 310 oceanfront acres, Ocean Lakes Family Campground features 859 campsites (641 with concrete pads) and 300 beach house rentals, reserved through More Ocean Lakes Properties. All campsites are pull-through and generally accommodate 40' campers or larger with slideouts on both sides. Tents are welcome. Campsite rates include: 20-30-50 amp electric, water, sewer, and complimentary 64-channel HD cable TV hookup, Wi-Fi, picnic table, the number in your family and pet(s), see policies on our website. Campsite reservations are made up to 18 months in advance according to site availability and sites are reserved by specific site number. Our national award-winning park is known for its amenities, year-round activities, and outstanding customer service earning us the title of 6-time winner of National "RV Park of the Year" by ARVC. Opened in 1971, Ocean Lakes Family Campground is family owned. Less
Contact Information
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Beachfront
Free Internet
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Room Service
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
859
Price range
US$28 - US$2,600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Ocean Lakes Family Campground Hotel Myrtle Beach
,
Ocean Lake Family Campground
,
Ocean Lakes Campground Myrtle Beach
Location
United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
859
Price range
US$28 - US$2,600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Ocean Lakes Family Campground Hotel Myrtle Beach
,
Ocean Lake Family Campground
,
Ocean Lakes Campground Myrtle Beach
Location
United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Photos
Traveller (327)
Pool & Beach (78)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (6)
Family and Play Areas (8)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 208 nearby hotels
Rodeway Inn Surfside Beach
39 reviews
.62 km away
Myrtle Beach Resort
875 reviews
.71 km away
Plantation Resort
601 reviews
1.21 km away
Quality Inn
122 reviews
1.34 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 963 nearby restaurants
Meyer's Ice Cream Parlor
301 reviews
.31 km away
Joey Doggs Burger and Fries
423 reviews
.40 km away
Omega Pancake House
683 reviews
.72 km away
Bar-B-Que House
335 reviews
1.27 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 380 nearby attractions
Beach Beads & Glass Studio
17 reviews
.25 km away
JT Nails and Spa
9 reviews
.35 km away
Buccaneer Bay Mini Golf
16 reviews
.37 km away
Quarter Deck Beachside
25 reviews
.71 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sarah M
1 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TeammateMPR | Property representative |
Hi Sarah! You can actually see the rentals at Ocean Lakes Properties website. There you can see photos inside and out, search dates and more. Then you call 800-845-2229 to reserve the site. We have about 300 beach houses for... More
1
Vote
Inkwife57
18 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from EcoTraveler13 | Reviewed this property |
Not sure where in Charlotte you are coming from but here is from the City Center. Take US-74 E, US-601 S, SC-151 S, Old River Rd/State Rd S-21-57, ... and SC-544 E to Ocean Lakes Dr - Head northeast on S Tryon St toward W... More
0
Votes
dawpaint
17 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from kitten4762 | Reviewed this property |
No, they can pull out your camper the same day. Getting a site is another matter. Summer months and holidays weeks/weekends are almost impossible to get an availability unless you reserve well ahead of time. By well ahead of... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Our site number was 2025 and we were about 7 spaces from the ocean front."
Rebeljan
4 weeks ago
Read review
"Choose section 3000-4000 for a quiet campsite"
mikki-in-the-atl
31 Aug 2018
Read review
"3000’s for shade"
ErinB484
28 Aug 2018
Read review
"3000-4000 section is quieter since you are not right up at the beach where all the hustle and golf cart..."
jln1992
20 Aug 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing