We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Speciality Lodging in Myrtle Beach

Ocean Lakes Family Campground

Save
Traveller (291)
Pool & Beach (75)
Room & Suite (14)
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good22%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“golf cart”(196 reviews)
“bath houses”(35 reviews)
“sandy mart”(23 reviews)
Free Internet
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Pets Allowed
Wheelchair Access
All hotel details
Offers from Ocean Lakes Family Campground
Hotel packages
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (711)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Ocean Lakes Family Campground
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveller rating
380
161
73
41
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
380
161
73
41
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf cartbath housessandy martrec centerconcrete padswater parktravel trailerrv sitesfifth wheelfull hookupskids drivingcamp storebeach housesquiet hoursexpress checkputt puttcable tv
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 706 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Booked rental house back in January. I booked 2 rental properties, putting one in my name and one in my cousins name. Paid for with separate credit cards. Somehow both properties ended up in my cousins name, even though I booked reservation, had separate reservation...More

2  Thank Nickieo8
Response from TeammateMPR, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Lakes Family CampgroundResponded 21 September 2017

We’re sorry to learn that your most recent visit did not provide you with the feeling of satisfaction our customers have come to expect from us. I spoke with the teammate that were here when this happened. She said that the cleaning service dropped the...More

Reviewed 31 August 2017

This is our third time at Ocean Lakes (2005 and 2011). Since our last visit, they have added an impressive water park and improved their wifi. Sites are relatively wide (at least in 4000 section, maybe less so near the beach) but not long. It...More

Thank gregoirek
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Talk about a dirty house! We saw a July 2017 review that said the same. The deck and stairs had nail pops. Extremely noisy at night on the beach with unregulated fireworks Management said they didn't own the beach.

3  Thank randk372017
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

The final straw was when we went to use the grill. It was covered in old grease and guess what, only one burner worked. This was the final straw because the grill was mentioned as an amenity. So to begin we our trip took about...More

Thank Steven C
Response from TeammateMPR, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Lakes Family CampgroundResponded 29 August 2017

I apologize that your recent experience with your site was so negative. Mighty Maids did drop the ball and as soon as you let us know, we called them and they got there to clean. We are truly sorry this happened and understand how frustrating...More

Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

There were 6 of us (all adults ) on this vacation. We rented a small house close to the entrance. This was a good distance from the ocean and pool, but we had a golf cart which is essential. The pool area is very crowded...More

Thank SunLoverVirginia
View more reviews
PreviousNext
134567142
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Beachfront
Free Internet
Restaurant
Hotel Amenities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Self-Serve Laundry
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
US$28 - US$2,600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$28 - US$2,600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (291)
Pool & Beach (75)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (6)
Hotel & Grounds (202)
Family and Play Areas (9)
Bathroom (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mochashad
18 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Stu C | Reviewed this property |
After school goes back the campground is a lot “calmer”. The water park is open based on staffing as most of the lifeguards etc are students and have to heed back to school. We have attended the 3 week of August ourselves... More
0
Votes
Traci B
9 January 2018|
Answer
Response from TeammateMPR | Property representative |
Hi Traci! We reserve by site number up to 18 months in advance, so you can choose a site adjacent to our awesome bathhouses (they receive rave reviews!), by the ocean, in shade, many choices according to the availability of... More
0
Votes
mknz111
8 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Bobby H | Reviewed this property |
Not Easter, which is April 1, 2018. Perhaps early-mid March or the second-third weeks in April. Otherwise wait until after Labor Day to avoid crowds.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Bring earplugs so you can sleep through all the traffic."
Read review
"sights in the 2000 area are near the ocean maybe even a view of the ocean"
Read review
"Beach front is always best, but you will have to content with the continuous golf cart traffic."
Read review
"Site With Shade Trees"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite