We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2700 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3052
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Official Site
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Traveluro
travelup.com
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (803)
360
Panoramas (35)
Room & Suite (445)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 12/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 12/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#42 of 195 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Strand is a quaint oceanfront boutique resort in the heart of Myrtle Beach, SC. Enjoy a beautiful oceanfront pool, private cabanas, swirling hot water whirlpool, and a well-equipped exercise room. The market restaurant serves piping hot coffee and delicious deluxe hot breakfast each morning for FREE for guests. Spacious, convenient, covered parking is also available just across the street.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Happy hour
Vending machine
24-hour security
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English
1648Reviews74Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 770
  • 493
  • 216
  • 85
  • 84
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sil359 wrote a review 13 Sep
New York City, New York23 contributions30 helpful votes
I must preface this review by saying,” I hold every hotel I stay at responsible to their website description of what I should expect, and to a lesser degree reviews on Trip Advisor, as they are subjective.” The Strand hotel in Myrtle beach does not meet the expectations of what they lead you to expect, for the most part. I will start with the hotel itself. The furniture in the rooms is old and dated. And no, it is not “beach charming.” It is just rundown. It makes you feel like you are going to catch something sitting on it.The carpeting, which covers almost every room and hallway is dirty and disgusting. You can just see the dirt, moisture, and whatever else may be living in it ready to crawl onto your skin. Who puts carpeting in a beach hotel, where everyone is walking on it with wet dirty feet? And before anyone talks about slipping on some type of tile floor, I travel fairly extensively as a scuba diver, and I have never been in a beach hotel with carpeting everywhere. They always have some type of flooring that minimize slips and falls. And if there was carpeting in the rooms, it was clean and well maintained throughout The service at the Strand has the distinction of being some of the worst I have ever encountered in a hotel that charges what they do — roughly $226.00 per night. The front desk staff ran the gamut of serviceable to downright surly. With the implementation of protocols reflective of the pandemic, the Strand clearly tells you that they will not clean your room in order to protect their staff. They do, however, tell you that they will replace your towels and clean your garbage on a daily basis, which is a lie. We were there for 4 days, and they replaced our towels once. When we called the front to request a towel pickup, we were told, rather rudely ,to leave our towels outside our room. The used towels sat outside our doors for a day and half. One of my biggest “ pet peeves” in any hotel is noise, in particular in my room. We could clearly hear the conversation of the couple in the adjoining room through the door that separates the rooms. The slamming of doors could be heard throughout day and night. The indoor parking garage is a tight maze begging for damages to your car. This is by far the worst beach hotel I have ever stayed in, relative to the price.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Amanda Warren, General Manager at The Strand
Responded 1 week ago
Dear sil359, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know about your recent stay with us. Our goal is to provide excellent customer service and outstanding accommodations. We apologize for not accomplishing our goal during your stay. We hope you return to give us the opportunity to treat you like the valued guest that you are. Sincerely, Amanda W. Resort Manager
Read more
Kenneth E wrote a review 9 Sep
Matthews, North Carolina7 contributions1 helpful vote
It started when we checked in: I have mobility problems; is the room close to the elevator – “Oh, yes!” {actually the second furthest}. The overly short fitted sheets allowed the covers beneath to roll up as the sheet popped out. The soaps were so small, they were basically single use. The bath control felt as though it was coming off. WIFI ran at 1.25 MBPS. Unique room-key system in the rubber band you might wear at the pool: I don’t know anybody who wants to wear a hotel wristband around town. Apparently, someone told food services you have to show a profit with no income: I think they begged their buffet. Their “meat” varied every day. I have never in my life had someone cut up hot dogs and call it breakfast. If you don’t know what canned corn beef hash looks like, go to your local grocery and grab the cheapest available: you might be able to feed it to your dog when it’s opened. “Biscuits” looked like they came out of the easy-bake oven, gravy was tasteless, potatoes were half-done, and the grits were set up by the time they reached the bar. The coffee was so watered down, we had to buy real coffee when we got on the road. Parking was in/out of a deck across the street – practically no handicapped spaces – shared with Patricia Grand, with notices that your car could be towed if you park in the wrong space.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Amanda Warren, General Manager at The Strand
Responded 1 week ago
Dear kennethe899, I was disappointed to hear about your experience in our hotel recently. I can assure you that what you encountered during your stay is not a normal occurrence. We have a detailed program in place to assure guests do not have this type of encounter. Thank you for staying at the The Strand and we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel needs bring you back to Myrtle Beach. Sincerely, Amanda W. Resort Manager
Read more
Konstantin wrote a review 5 Sep
Cincinnati, Ohio1 contribution
Book oceanfront room with 2 queen beds. The room was tiny, dirty, housekeeping is either nonexistent or cannot be bothered. The balcony is even tinier than the room, but it's definitely has the view. The bedsheets did not fit the beds properly and were coming off all the time. The sink did not drain. The breakfast buffet is of the cheapest kind, don't expect anything of it. Housekeeping did a poor job of taking out trash, even from public areas, it could seat in the hallway for a whole day. Towels were supposed to be changed daily, but during our 7 days stay nobody came, were had to go to the front desk for that. Front desk seemed more interested in their phones than in guests not turning the screen off even when checking people in or helping otherwise. Parking is across the street, covered parking garage, nothing bad to say about it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Amanda Warren, General Manager at The Strand
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear treshchev, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know about your recent stay with us. Our goal is to provide excellent customer service and outstanding accommodations. We apologize for not accomplishing our goal during your stay. We hope you return to give us the opportunity to treat you like the valued guest that you are. Sincerely, Amanda W. Resort Manager
Read more
Bart_Hek wrote a review Aug 2021
Cincinnati, Ohio5 contributions4 helpful votes
Hey, I stayed in this hotel recently. I do sports, live an active life, spend time outdoors when on a vacation. When looking for a hotel - I don’t care that much if the room is equipped with TV, DVD or what is the color of the walls. What matters is a location and amenities which help me to keep my sport routine & enjoy nature. From that perspective: I rate The Strand hotel 4 out of 5 stars. (1) It gives you a direct access the beach and to the Beach Boardwalk and Promenade (2) Beach chairs are nice & clean, they give pool towels (they don’t give you beach towels) (3) There are very good breakfasts - no need to eat outside (menu should fit every diet, you can eat clean & healthy(4) Parking is across the street (you can access your car & drive e.g. to Planet Fitness in minutes; btw nearest PF is 5” away driving). So why not 5 starts…? I think they should not make a claim that there is a "fitness center". There is treadmill and an elliptical and one more machine… and that doesn't meet my definition of „fitness cener” or a gym. (I use PF anyways but those who count on on-Site equipment may be disappointed.) The Staff is very friendly and does an excellent job keeping this old building in a good condition and serving Guests despite Covid. Myrtle Beach is awesome place and this hotel allows you to enjoy it very well. Highly-highly recommend this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Amanda Warren, General Manager at The Strand
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 981bart, We are so thrilled that you had such a wonderful experience! I will share your comments with our entire team. This sort of feedback is especially rewarding to our staff, who look forward to serving you on your next trip to Myrtle Beach. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Amanda W. Resort Manager
Read more
la_gatuna wrote a review Aug 2021
Galveston, Texas, USA81 contributions14 helpful votes
We stayed in an oceanfront room for three nights in August 2021. The room really did look like the picture you see on their website. There’s not a lot of space and the balcony is small, but we got exactly what we expected. Below are some of the negatives and positives from our stay. Negatives: (Covid-related) almost all guests ignore recommended safety measures: no distancing in breakfast line or at bar; mask use among guests is very low – people pack the elevator 10 at a time and no one else would be wearing a mask. Other: people leave their towels on lounge chairs to reserve them. Housekeeping: although the claim is made that this is Covid-related, the one day of three that our garbage was collected and our towels changed, we waited in the room until we saw someone to ask for towels. We were told to leave our garbage outside the door, which was fine. There was a daily ‘Guest Housekeeping fee’ of $8.98 for our room. Breakfast: during this visit there were times when food or coffee had run out and it wasn’t always replenished all that quickly. At times there were long lines and no distancing between guests. Bar: closes at 9 PM. Positives: Superb staff. This is the 4th time I’ve stayed here and during every visit, all employees I’ve had contact with, without exception, have been friendly, kind and accommodating. They may currently be short staffed, but still, the employees have demonstrated grace under pressure. If you’re frustrated with slow response times, issues with housekeeping, empty trays of food during breakfast, don’t vent those frustrations on these overworked employees, they deserve to be treated with the same respect they show guests. Free parking in multi-level parking garage immediately across the street from hotel. Free breakfast – in normal times this is well-stocked and has decent options. Clean room, had all required supplies. Happy hour drink prices at the bar. Within walking distance (1 – 16 easy blocks) of many restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Amanda Warren, General Manager at The Strand
Responded 13 Aug 2021
Dear la_gatuna, Thank you very much for your review of The Strand Resort! I would like to thank you for your continued loyalty. We pride ourselves in accommodating our guest to the best of our ability. Thank you so much for your comments about the staff! That is always encouraging! We hope that you will continue to choose The Strand Resort as your vacation destination when visiting Myrtle Beach. See you again soon! Sincerely, Amanda W. Resort Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$80 - US$298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
breakers resort north tower hotel myrtle beach, breakers hotel north
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaMyrtle Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
141
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Strand
Which popular attractions are close to The Strand?
Nearby attractions include Drifters Saloon (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Strand?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Strand?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Strand?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Strand?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Strand?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pulaski Deli, Toscana Italian kitchen, and Little Italy.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Strand?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Strand?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Strand?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Myrtle Beach Colored School Museum (2.1 km) and Charlie's Place (1.3 km).
Does The Strand have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The Strand accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.