We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Affordable Family Resort

View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Affordable Family Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Affordable Family Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 104: English reviews
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

Checked into hotel. Deluxe Family suite w/ kitchen. Room 108. Room smelled, lamp switch broke, front A/C unit not working, 90 degrees outside, cover fell off, not even near it. Kitchen floor sticky, my daughter's flip flop actually got stuck. Carpet needs a good shampoo or just replaced. Spoke to manager, moved to room 107, room ok. Smelled clean. No...

5Thank Jen6973
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

This is a terrible motel: dirty, dingy, overpriced for what you get and scary! The carpets are all stained and filthy, which causes a bad odor. The rooms are big but unkept - cobwebs, dirty doors with stains on them. No fire sprinklers. I witnessed them reissuing a room key to someone without checking ID. This place needs to be...

Thank melytol
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

My goodness what a fun stay. My son and I spent a few nights at the AFR and loved every minute. The staff was phenomenal. Christina and several other members made sure we had everything we needed and the room/kitchen was fantastic. I will definitely stay here when I return. Pool was great, beach is directly across the street, food...

8Thank Rickey T
Reviewed 17 July 2015

This place have ROACHES!!!!!! The room was ok but it smelled. I was in the room for bout an hour before the roaches started coming out. I went to management and got a full refund. They need to close this place down and upgrade it. It was $119 a night and it should be $20

4Thank shantell t
Lenoir, North Carolina
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Yes, the motel needs a fresh coat of paint and needs to invest in a leaf blower for the steps and sidewalks, but my room was clean and well stocked. I never saw the first roach. My air conditioning went out mid week and was replaced with a brand new one within an hour. For the price, I cannot complain....

5Thank Angi C
Glenda A, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your suggestions. We are planning some upgrades for the off season and hope you will be back to stay with us again.

Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed the week of the 5th of July 2015!! The cottage 502 wahoo I stayed in had ROACHES!!!!! I went to management staff about the problem and stated that I wanted my money back for the inconvenience, or to be moved to another cottage. I was told by management that they would only refund the money for the five...

3Thank Trish M
Glenda A, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Guests had a reservation for 4 people in a "double ste". The confirmation they were sent stated 2 double beds, 1 bath, and kitchen, our least expensive room. When they arrived they were not satisfied, because it did not have a sleeper sofa. They decided to upgrade to a 2 bedroom cottage after going to look at the cottage instead...

Reviewed 7 July 2015

This place is worse than a trailer park. It makes Motel 8 seem like a 5 star hotel. I stayed here for the 4th of July weekend. It was the only hotel that had a vacancy, and I know why now. The price is too high for this place. It should be $15 per night, instead of $200+. I first...

7Thank Ladrika W
Reviewed 3 July 2015 via mobile

This place is so disgusting, it needs a major cleaning and update. The rooms are filthy, the refrigerator door handles are black from never being cleaned, everything looks like a cheap motel from the carpet to the thin bed sheets and comforters. The pools and walkways and lounge chairs are filthy. The water slides look old and like they aren't...

5Thank Realreviewer12
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

My 3 children and I loved the place we will definitely return for another visit we really enjoyed the room an the accommodations. was an older motel but it worked perfect for me and my family.thank you to the staff for being so friendly and helping us with all of our needs we really enjoyed our stay.

4Thank Devra W
Reviewed 1 July 2015

This was horrible! This was the worst place I have ever stayed in. The walls looked like food had been tossed on them and had never been cleaned. The floors were disgusting they were supposed to be tan carpeting but instead the were grey. The room stunk! It smelled like wet dog. The beds were dirty. I would not recommend...

1Thank Renee W

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (54)
Bathroom (2)
Room/Suite (14)
View from Room (2)
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Family/Play Areas (5)
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (48)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Room/Suite (3)
Other (31)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 km away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#153 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
488 reviews
0.3 km away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#125 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
153 reviews
4.9 km away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#137 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.8 km away
Tropical Seas Hotel
Tropical Seas Hotel
#112 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
213 reviews
3.7 km away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#104 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Everything located on one city block between 23rd Ave South and 24th Ave South. Now even closer drive to Airport since the extension of Harrelson Blvd. Less than 2 miles from Myrtle Beach Internation Airport. Just accross street from ocean with serval condos we manage in the building in front of us. We check and inspect all complaints. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Affordable Family Resort

Address: 2300 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4745 (Formerly Monte Carlo Inn)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $108 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Affordable Family Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Affordable Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affordable Family Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
#100 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Affordable Family Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Affordable Family Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bad beds, dirty pool area, good room lay out, private balcony”
joanr639, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose this”
153shantellt, 16 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Check your room before you pay to make sure you are satisfied.”
757angic, 13 Jul 2015 | Read review
“No rooms are good here”
ladrikaw, 6 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Choose another place to stay.”
367reneew, 30 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
US$169* /night
View Deal
View all 7 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates