We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Reef

525 reviews
Save
Traveller (220)
Room & Suite (81)
Pool & Beach (46)
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good20%
  • Average12%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible30%
Travellers talk about
“ocean front”(37 reviews)
“an older hotel”(14 reviews)
“outdoor pool”(13 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (525)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for The Reef
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveller rating
134
110
64
73
144
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
134
110
64
73
144
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontan older hoteloutdoor poolfamily vacationoceanfront viewthe past yearspoolsratestubskitchenettemyrtledishwasher
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
261 - 265 of 525 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This was our 2nd year at the Reef We stayed Jan. & Feb this year. the front end staff were friendly and helpful (especially liked Ed) who also ran our bingo night. The cleaning staff is Terrific!!! Sandra, Luba and Julia were one of the...More

Thank Shirley C
Response from Reef2101, Manager at The ReefResponded 26 March 2013

Dear ShirleyC, Thank you for being a winter guest at the Reef. First, we miss you all, and can't wait to see you next year. We appreciated you taking the time to write a review and for mentioning our staff members. We feel so fortunate...More

Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed at Reef Resort Hotel in Myrtle Beach SC during the months of January and February 2013. We found the front desk staff charming, funny and accommodating during our entire stay. The Housekeeping staff, especially Sandra and Luba, we awesome and very personable. Oh...More

1  Thank maggie c
Response from Reef2101, Manager at The ReefResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Maggie C, We so appreciated you returning to the Reef again this year, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. You were kind to mention our staff, and in particular to acknowledge the housekeeping team. We are so fortunate to...More

Reviewed 25 February 2013

NEVER STAYED IN PENTHOUSE !!!!! but what the heck sure glad we did r eally nice huge kitchen and living room w/fire place nice beach front 3 flat screen tvs 2 bed rooms .indoor pool,hot tub,game room,great resturant,very friendly staff, we have allready booked a...More

3  Thank Sherriek0616
Response from Reef2101, Manager at The ReefResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Sherriek0616, Thank you for celebrating your birthday at the oceanfront Reef Resort, and we appreciated you writing a review on the Penthouse. Myrtle Beach is a great destination for girlfriend's weekends, birthday celebrations and other fun events. We hope to see you back soon!

Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

I travel quite a bit, I've stayed at many hotels in the Myrtle Beach area and I must say this is by far the worst! Let's start with the pros! -Good location. Now on to the cons! -Horribly dirty rooms (found old cupcake wrappers, molded...More

2  Thank isprintz
Response from Reef2101, Manager at The ReefResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Isprintz, Upon reviewing the housekeeping and manager on duty logs, as well as speaking with the team leaders, I could not find documentation of the complaints that you have noted on this review. I apologize that you indicated cleanliness issues in your room, and...More

Reviewed 13 February 2013

Our group booked this facility for our golf trip. It was satisfactory for our basic needs, as out of room most of time. It is well worn and should be considered for demolition and rebuilt. After all, there are no more beachfront lots. However, every...More

1  Thank terryw658
Response from Reef2101, Manager at The ReefResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Terry W, Thank you for staying at the Reef of Myrtle Beach. We regret that your golf outing was not satisfactory, but hope that you will return to the beautiful Myrtle Beach area again in the future. We appreciated you acknowledging our staff and...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
15152535455105
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free Parking
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Meeting Rooms
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$74 - US$278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#95 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$74 - US$278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#95 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (220)
Room & Suite (81)
Pool & Beach (46)
Dining (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
beanyboy103
7 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from briansR1774UD | Property representative |
Hi the hotel was built in 1984.
0
Votes
Bri05281
20 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from briansR1774UD | Property representative |
Hi, the bed sheets are changed after a guest checks out and the rooms are inspected to insure that this has been completed. If you encounter an issue with this during your stay you would need to contact the front desk so we... More
0
Votes
TeriSc
1 June 2017|
Answer
Response from briansR1774UD | Property representative |
Hi and thank you for your question and comments in regards to housekeeping. We are diligently working with the staff and bringing on new team members to assist with this department. We understand your concern and rest... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12345
Room Tips
"Make sure that they do an inspection before you enter your room"
Read review
"Do not book it."
Read review
"The corner rooms 1 & 10 are the niceset."
Read review
"12th floor balconies provide a great oceanview"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing