We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Blue

Booking.comUS$75*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$75*
US$75*
US$75*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,423 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Blue
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,421: English reviews
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

This was possibly one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. Everything was very dirty and stark. The sheets were scratchy and the bed was extremely uncomfortable. The first night we got there, we looked out over the balcony and saw beer cans, red solo cups and trash all over the pool and jacuzzi area and trash actually...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alex_Nasim
Carey B, General Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I would like to take this time to apologize to you about your experiences at Hotel Blue. Please know it is our mission to exceed all of our guests expectations and I am sorry we did not succeed at that for you and your family....

Watertown, New York
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We arrived Monday night around 730 pm , finished registering in minutes we were put on 15 th floor strange setupyou open door to bedroom and small dated kitchen , we were tired but unpacked ,the bathroom is small toilet the tub slippery , then living room in back one chair one couch very uncomfortable , then turned on wall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharonar523
Carey B, General Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Dear sharonar523, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at hotel Blue. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to see we were able to move you to a room more suitable for you and that you felt safe. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Have a wonderful day! Sincerely, Carey Batchelor Interim GM

Florence, South Carolina
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here in March 2017...after calling the hotel itself to make reservations...the person we booked our room threw told us there was carpet in the living area and tile in the bedroom which wasn't true..the whole suite was tile..the whole weekend was chilly which caused the floors to be cold...didn't tell us that you actually parked on the parking deck...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Susan B
Carey B, General Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Dear Susan B Thank you for choosing to stay with us at hotel Blue. We appreciate your feedback as it certainly shows us where we have opportunities to grow. We are very sorry for the inconveniences you faced while staying here and we certainly hope you will give us the opportunity to make things right for you on a future...

Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel was ok! Not my favorite seemed to be nothing but party time in the pools and hot tubs all the time. The ocean front view was great. Just was not for a couple that just wanted to relax and not listen to music everyday which was little annoying. If you are single and couple that loves to party...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
Carey B, General Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Dear Tina B Thank you for staying with us at hotel Blue. We appreciate your feedback and for giving us the opportunity to grow and learn. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the oceanfront view and hope you will return to stay with us again soon. Have a great day! Sincerely, Carey Batchelor Interim GM

Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Hotel Blue is beautiful! Stayed for Spring Break with friends and would go back. The staff at the front desk, Rochelle and Jessica, were the most friendly and welcoming people. Our oceanfront rooms were perfect and clean. I would recommend this spot to anyone visiting Myrtle Beach!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Schemme2
Carey B, General Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Dear Schemme2, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at hotel Blue. Rochelle and Jessica are wonderful assets to our front desk staff and they will be happy to see that you've mentioned them on Tripadvisor. We are happy that we were able to provide perfect and clean oceanfront rooms for you. Thank you so much for any recommendations...

Bluff City, Tennessee
Reviewed 15 March 2017

From the time we checked in with Tyler, at the front desk, we had an amazing time. We were visiting for both business and pleasure and had our two children with us. We loved the fact that we could use Captain's Quarters and their amenities as well. We stayed in an oceanfront efficiency and it worked perfect for us. In...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amandabarrett7181
Carey B, General Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Dear amandabarrett7181, Thank you so much for staying with us at hotel Blue. We are so happy to see that you had an amazing time and that our staff was so friendly and accommodating. We have definitely had some wonderful weather lately and we are glad you were able to come to the beach and enjoy it. We look forward...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 14 March 2017

This was a birthday trip that was amazing for my girlfriend and I. it was LGBT friendly and we did not feel out of place. There were many other couples and many friendly people. We did not see many children but other hotels had families for the beach was full of everyone. Still a great experience. The beach is just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Satrina L
Daniel L, General Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Dear Satrina L, Thank you for your recent review of Hotel Blue Resort and I am pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay during your recent "birthday trip." We all here at Hotel Blue hope that this will be the first of many trips to our resort and we hope you have found a new home away from...

Greenwood, South Carolina
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Pitiful, trying to set up the two nights was hell and they don't seem to care that you donated money for a good cause. If they didn't want to honor the trip, why did they put it on the site as one of the trips to bid on? Got 2nd floor ocean view and a bunch of drunks screaming and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joey H
Daniel L, General Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Dear Joey H, First let me thank you for taking the time to post a review on our resort and providing us with information which you allow us to improve our services. I am truly sorry to read that you were not happy with your recent stay and I can assure you that we will be addressing the items you...

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel is a party hotel. Not for families. We knew this going in and as a young couple this is fine. None of the hotel bars were open. Building is getting older but facilities were very clean and well maintained. Our oceanfront room was just painted. Mirror in bathroom was old and chipped. Tv did not work but amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shawn L
Daniel L, General Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Dear Shawn L., First let me thank you for taking the time to review our resort and for letting everyone know how much you enjoyed your time with us here at Hotel Blue. We all hope you will be able to return again soon and enjoy all that Hotel Blue has to offer including our swim bar and coffee shop...

Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

This year will be my 3rd year in a row staying at hotel blue! I love it, it has a great atmosphere especially for people with no children it's a great hotel to stay at! I see all these reviews with bad carpet, dirty beds, dirty bathrooms, bugs. I've never had any of these problems here! It's a great price,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kayla F
Daniel L, General Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Dear Kayla F., Thank you for taking the time to review our wonderful resort and I am truly pleased to hear that you will be return for 3rd straight year to Hotel Blue in beautiful Myrtle Beach SC. On behalf of the staff we would like to say thank you for your kind words and we all look forward to...

1,105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (592)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (70)
Viewed
View from Room (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (112)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (226)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (489)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Beach (20)
Viewed
Hot Tub (9)
Viewed
Lazy River (12)
Viewed
Ocean Front Efficiency Room (47)
Viewed
Ocean Front King Room (36)
Viewed
Ocean Front Two Bedroom Suite with Handicap Accessiblity (72)
Viewed
Ocean View King Suite (50)
Viewed
Ocean View Room (36)
Viewed
Ocean View Two Room Double Suite (52)
Viewed
Ocean View Two Room King Suite (61)
Viewed
Pool (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#94 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,229 reviews
0.9 km away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#85 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,166 reviews
3.9 km away
The Palms
The Palms
#92 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,154 reviews
10.4 km away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,336 reviews
1.5 km away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#152 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Address: 705 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4481 (Formerly Tropical Winds)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $139 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Myrtle Beach
Tropical Winds Myrtle Beach Sc
Hotel Style:
#83 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Blue staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Blue staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“partial view of ocean may be cheaper”
LWSmith24_7, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Beach view is a MUST!”
Z9616ULmelissac, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Very good view, accessible to the ocean, a water park, and bowling in the sister hotel next door.”
ttaylor75, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book Oceanfront view”
  • View from 410
  • View from Room 410
TLH1968, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“unless your a partier who doesn't mind it getting loud and rowdy ... no room is a good room”
travelings4me, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$75* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$75
Orbitz.comUS$75
TripAdvisorUS$75
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates