We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Blue

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Blue
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,422: English reviews
Strawberry Plains, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We enjoyed our time at Hotel Blue and highly recommend. Everyone of the employees that we encountered were amazing, so nice and helpful. Can't wait to go back!!! Planning our next trip already. We were within walking distance to many resturants and area attractions like the amusement park just a couple of blocks from the hotel. The 2nd Avenue Pier...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arleen M
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we want to thank you for sharing your vacation with everyone else.. We look forward to your return.. Hopefully soon!

Reviewed 12 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed with hotel blue over the weekend and we had terrible customer service from the staff. Checking in the front desk clerk we had seemed under the influence. They were not willing to accommodate anything with us during our stay.. no late check out like we had asked for several times, because we had a plane...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MACDADDY91
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not receive the best possible service during your stay. We can assure you that we are a drug and alcohol-free work zone and we are taking your comment about the front desk clerk very seriously. We strive to provide the best customer service possible and we do apologize that you didn’t receive that...

Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The location is good. Really liked the swim up bar. The staff was friendly and accomodating. Liked the free bowling at Captain's Quarters and the VMB card. Would like to see them replace that worn carpet in the 1 bedroom suites with tile like in the oceanfront rooms. Not a bad place to stay for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CNDE
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to post a review for us. We so appreciate all feedback that we get, as it helps us to continue to improve our resort. We would like to thank you for your comments about our staff, we are so excited to pass that onto them in our meeting today. We cant wait to see...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for our first trip to Myrtle Beach. For what I paid, I at least expected a clean room. We found hair and food in the room when we first got there. The hotel is old, oddly designed, and loud. They charge you to change your sheets each day ($20) and when you are at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashley R
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our resort. Although our resort is older, we have been updating our resort over the past few years and we pride ourselves on keeping it clean and well kept. We are sorry you did not have that experience during your stay. Our policy, as with many hotels, is to...

Forestville, Maryland
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

At first, I was little worried about this hotel but after getting here I'm very happy with my choice, the blue was located right in the beach, has for the room it was just right for my group, had some small cosmetic problem but still great looked just like website.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Homealone88
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your vacation with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return.. Hopefully soon!

Reviewed 10 June 2013

Where to begin? There were young adult cursing in the kids' pool area, loud drunk people in lobby, stair wells and elevators that smelled like the aftermath of a college party and then there was the room. The room was small and outdated. Couch was torn and stained. Hair dryer was also broken. Then we noticed how black our feet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MitT13
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

We would like to apologize that you did not find our resort is for your family. We do appreciate all feeback that we get, as it helps us to continue to improve. We strive to do our very best and your comments have been passed onto the appropriate department heads..We hope that you will try us again in the future.

Aiken, South Carolina
Reviewed 10 June 2013

my stay at hotel blue was nice and enjoyable would stay there again and again, will recommend ed to other people. the room was very njce and clean the staff was very nice and security was on their jobs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darlene v
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review for us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments about the staff and security, we are pleased to pass those comments on.. Hope to see you again very soon.

High Point, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My stay at Hotel Blue was amazing, oceanfront room was very nice and clean,the pool and hot tub were cleaned every morning! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The DJ had the pool rocking! The security and lifeguard made the pool experience safe for all ages. I will be back and recommend Hotel Blue to family and friends!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kimberly S
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking a moment to write a review for us. We thank you on your comments about the staff, our pool area and DJ. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you can come back and see again very soon.

Henrietta, NY
Reviewed 7 June 2013

An inexpensive hotel right on the beach. We had reserved an ocean front king room and also added the breakfast buffet. When we arrived the room was ready but the buffet was not included. The check in clerk was very accommodating and provided the needed coupons for breakfast. The room had a great view but was mediocre at best. It...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DEL069
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review for us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again the next time you are in Myrtle Beach.

SALUDA, SC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My stay at Hotel Blue was excellent--the staff made me feel at home and were very friendly. I had a relaxing visit and would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family. It was truly GREAT! I think that I received a great price for the bed, breakfast and bowling. It was one of the best vacations.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KIM B
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff and our resort. We love reading wonderful reviews as yours and we are so glad that you enjoyed your vacation with us and hope to see you again in the near future.

1,105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (592)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (70)
Viewed
View from Room (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (112)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (226)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (489)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Beach (20)
Viewed
Hot Tub (9)
Viewed
Lazy River (12)
Viewed
Ocean Front Efficiency Room (47)
Viewed
Ocean Front King Room (36)
Viewed
Ocean Front Two Bedroom Suite with Handicap Accessiblity (72)
Viewed
Ocean View King Suite (50)
Viewed
Ocean View Room (36)
Viewed
Ocean View Two Room Double Suite (52)
Viewed
Ocean View Two Room King Suite (61)
Viewed
Pool (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#94 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,229 reviews
0.9 km away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#85 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,166 reviews
3.9 km away
The Palms
The Palms
#93 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,155 reviews
10.4 km away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,338 reviews
1.5 km away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#152 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Address: 705 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4481 (Formerly Tropical Winds)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $140 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Myrtle Beach
Tropical Winds Myrtle Beach Sc
Hotel Style:
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Blue staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Blue staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room on the side of the hotel away from the pool or get the highest floor possible. The music from the pool bar is unacceptably loud!”
R4416ZDsarahm, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“partial view of ocean may be cheaper”
LWSmith24_7, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Beach view is a MUST!”
Z9616ULmelissac, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Very good view, accessible to the ocean, a water park, and bowling in the sister hotel next door.”
ttaylor75, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book Oceanfront view”
  • View from 410
  • View from Room 410
TLH1968, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5