We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Charleston Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Charleston Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Charleston Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 171: English reviews
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 August 2016

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The entire hotel smelled of smoke, although we were on a non smoking floor. We had to keep the balcony door open most times, go out and purchase air freshner and wipes to clean the bathroom. Housekeeping did not have enough clean towels, both days of our stay not enough wash clothes...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SkegeeGirl
Faulk44, Public Relations Manager at Charleston Grand Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire staff we are sincerely sadden that we failed you during your stay. I have reported your issues and complaints to the appropriate departments and will follow up on correcting these issues. Unfortunately some people smoke and the craziest thing don't want smoking rooms and will smoke in our undesignated areas. Our extreme apologies

Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a night. Pictures from the website are deceiving. Didn't feel safe to park at this place. I asked for a non smoking room, first step into the door the room reeked of smoke. The sheets and pillows had stains and make up on them. The bathroom had hair and stains everywhere. I couldn't sleep that night and felt...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kate A
Faulk44, Guest Relations Manager at Charleston Grand Hotel, responded to this review

We are sadden that your stay was unsatisfactory we do strive to make our guest comfortable during their stay here. Unfortunately we can not move the hotel but we have been petitioning for the Mayor and congressman and Charleston officials to spend some money into the area to beautify it. I have forwarded this to the housekeeping department to correct...

Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

First walked in the hotel the staff was counting register so she didn't even look up to greet us waited a couple mins another staff member came over to help us I had reservations she gave me key went to the 7th floor the hall smelled awful well the key she gave me was a room that was already occupied...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette L
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

This hotel was full of people who call it home. It shouldn't be considered a hotel but rather low income housing. The hotel is right beside a grey hound station... We weren't even comfortable leaving our vehicle parked there. Worst Ever! We changed reservation and stayed at a different hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shesaruckus
Faulk44, Guest Relations Manager at Charleston Grand Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire staff we don't rent rooms by the hour daily and weekly for contractors. We have 24hr surveillance cameras but have not had any problems over the yrs. Sorry you felt this way before giving us a chance

Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

Never made it beyond the lobby. Our plane was cancelled and I made a booking while still at the airport. We took the shuttle to the hotel and asked where we could eat lunch. The sign out front said they had a restaurant. They said that there were many places a few exits up the highway, we did not have...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Hazzan
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Hallways filthy. Room was disappointing. Old decor was not recently upgraded. We were On 7 floor, transformer apparently was hit by car. No power, no air. The stairways were totally blackened the emergency lights did not work. Oh and remember cousin vinny ? A train blowing his horn every 20 minutes. WORST hotel ever!!!! Should be Condemned don't believe the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slb4rat
Salisbury, North Carolina
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel the night before we left on a cruise. Believe me when I say the hotel is not "grand". This is a seven-story hotel and one of the two elevators was not working. The sign taped on the nonworking elevator looked as though it had been there for sometime. The hallways were filthy....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank travelingsupremely
Faulk44, Director of Sales at Charleston Grand Hotel, responded to this review

We did the "park and sail" package - stayed there the night before a cruise, and left our car there for the duration. Pros: the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room and the common areas were clean as a whistle, the bed was VERY comfortable (a rare compliment from me!) and the "park and sail" parking spot was...

Englewood
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Fleeing my campsite during a tropical storm, perhaps my requisites weren't very high, and arriving here, only a few yards from the interstate exit and next to the Greyhound terminal, I didn't expect much - North Charleston is not noted for charm - but the price was reasonable and downtown Charleston runs $200-$400 a night. I was very pleasantly surprised....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PriscillaNewJersey
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We stayed in this hotel before our cruise. For the money it was ok. No problems with getting to the cruise ports. Neighborhood looks sketchy. It was hard to get in and out of. Ran out of breakfast food. If I can offer one piece of advice--make sure if you have anything to mail-mail it before you go. I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caseymimi2
Hampton, Virginia
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We did the "park and sail" package - stayed there the night before a cruise, and left our car there for the duration. Pros: the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room and the common areas were clean as a whistle, the bed was VERY comfortable (a rare compliment from me!) and the "park and sail" parking spot was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank low_ridin_lady

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
3.1 km away
North Charleston Inn
North Charleston Inn
#41 of 59 in North Charleston
349 reviews
2.8 km away
Econo Lodge North Charleston
Econo Lodge North Charleston
#24 of 59 in North Charleston
113 reviews
2.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Convention Center
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Con...
#27 of 59 in North Charleston
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Quality Inn Coliseum
Quality Inn Coliseum
#44 of 59 in North Charleston
106 reviews
3.4 km away
Home2 Suites Charleston Airport / Convention Center
Home2 Suites Charleston Airport ...
#12 of 59 in North Charleston
702 reviews
10.8 km away
Suburban Extended Stay Airport
Suburban Extended Stay Airport
#30 of 59 in North Charleston
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charleston Grand Hotel (formerly Clarion) under new management and ownership is centrally located in the heart of North Charleston, SC. Just minutes away from Downtown Charleston and The North Charleston Coliseum, makes our hotel a very convenient choice. We offer you a variety of room choices and amenities. We take pride in great customer service to go along with an enjoyably comfortable stay. It is our goal to make sure that you leave happy. So if there is anything that we can do, please let us know. Thank you for making Charleston Grand Hotel your choice. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Charleston Grand Hotel

Address: 3640 Dorchester Rd, North Charleston, SC 29405-7569 (Formerly The Historic Grand Hotel)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Price Range: $112 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Charleston Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel North Charleston
Clarion Hotel Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Charleston Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Charleston Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if you a light sleeper ask for a double or suite king rooms face a train track”
 of 5 bubbles meredithm775, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pay a little more and get closer to town.”
 of 5 bubbles caseymimi2, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the back you hear the train the room in the front you hear traffic till 10 PM. Just turn the TV you be fine.”
 of 5 bubbles gloriac95, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Plan far ahead.”
 of 5 bubbles 145vickieh, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
“They do have smoking rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Nikkihem, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay