We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fish 'n Fry Campground

52 reviews
Save
Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (1)
Overview
  • Excellent78%
  • Very good11%
  • Average5%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“trout”(6 reviews)
“fishing pond”(4 reviews)
“catching fish”(2 reviews)
Free Wifi
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (52)Write a Review
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
39
6
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
39
6
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstroutfishing pondcatching fishblack hillsdeadwood leadsouth dakotaatv trailslaundry roomcreek runningcuster state parkcrazy horsemt rushmoreenjoyed our staylocation is greatwould stay againmichelecampers
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a toy hauler. Owners and staff were great. Very friendly and very helpful. Loved the restaurant and bar. Clean restrooms and laundry room. Close to all attractions. Will definetly stay here again.

Thank Lisa G
Response from Michele S, Owner at Fish 'n Fry CampgroundResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay! Please join us again in the future, and let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even more amazing!

Reviewed 27 September 2017

Stayed in Colt Cabin for 4 nights...had friends with RV who stayed close by. Traveled together to celebrate my 50th birthday to take our ATV's on the northern hills trails. First of all, at breakfast the owner brought me my breakfast with a candle and...More

Thank Andi J
Response from Michele S, Owner at Fish 'n Fry CampgroundResponded 11 October 2017

We were so glad you were able to spend your "29th" birthday with us and that you enjoyed your stay! Galena and the surrounding areas are so very fascinating and off the beaten path! Please come back and see us for your "30th!!" It was...More

Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights while we explored the area. Our site on the creek was shaded & was lovely. The owners were great... very friendly. The internet worked fine for us.... Facilities are very clean. Unfortunately because of a cold spell they had closed the...More

Thank sweetpeabc
Response from Michele S, Owner at Fish 'n Fry CampgroundResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and such a nice review! We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to get to host you again in the future. I apologize about the fishing pond closing early...More

Reviewed 29 July 2017

They will charge you extra for EVERYTHING. I was pulling a smaller 5th Wheel camper with a small trailer with 2 ATV's. They actually charged me an extra $10.00 per night for my ATV trailer. This campground and the campsites are smaller than most. When...More

Thank bandan1957
Response from Michele S, Owner at Fish 'n Fry CampgroundResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you, Mr. A. We value all feedback. Unfortunately when you make a reservation less than 48 hours before arrival during a large event, there are fewer sites to choose from. We gave you the best site we had at that time. When you made...More

Reviewed 27 July 2017

This was our first trip to this area of South Dakota. We had reservations through our vintage trailer group, Friendly Average Campers of Colorado (FAC). When we pulled in to the campground we were surprised to see a banner on the fence welcoming FAC. Upon...More

1  Thank enived2
Response from Michele S, Owner at Fish 'n Fry CampgroundResponded 29 July 2017

We sure enjoyed hosting your group and all of your campers! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you all coming back! We did put you in the sites for smaller trailers since most of you had smaller, vintage trailers....More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345611
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Laundry Service
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Fish 'n Fry Campground staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"This is a very clean and quiet campground! Facilities are quite adequate."
Read review
"Spaces 10-14 get all the water when it rains. It does get a little flooded."
Read review
"Do not stay at the tent sites directly in front of the office unless the sound of burping pipes does not..."
Read review
"We were in our 5th wheel. Didn't stay in a cabin, but the cabins are very attractive/cute!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing