We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Deadwood Dick's

Show Prices
#19 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Deadwood Dick\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Deadwood Dick's
See the most recent reviews
Showing 234: English reviews
Dannebrog, Nebraska, United States
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed in the suite on the 3rd floor. It had a mini kitchen with a small (dorm size) fridge, microwave and coffee maker. It was also stalked with dishes and silverware. The room had a queen and a king bed, husband and I thought the king bed was very comfortable, we slept good. We also ate a few meals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deidre1234
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a fun time in Deadwood and liked our hotel and amenities. We look forward to seeing you again.

Mandan, North Dakota, United States
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We had an excellent time during our stay at Deadwood Dicks, this place has unique character and feels like your traveling back in time, our suite had great beds , lots and lots of hot water , microwave, tv fridge, lots of towels, there is a great playground and community pool a. Block away, downstairs you can get great food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 996Susan
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so happy when guests can appreciate the positive aspects of our business and efforts to accomodate our guests. Thank You!!

Anoka, Minnesota
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed in February. We were escorted to our room on the 4th floor via a rickety freight elevator, walked across a roof and into a maze of hallways. That night we were awakened by the police department pounding on our door as smoke filled the building. We were evacuated because of a possible fire in the elevator shaft. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TVStroup
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review

We are sorry you had to experience the unfortunate timing of our elevator being misused. The elevator you are speaking of is our passenger elevator and it is part of the historic building and history. The elevator has a weight limit and we tell all our guests when we check them in to please observe the maximum weight limit. The...

Worden, Montana, United States
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We had the occasion to visit Deadwood in January. We stayed at Deadwood Dicks Hotel and I must say it was like going back in time. It is not like the many faceless hotels and Motels that exist now, It has charactor and charm that seems to be a long gone trait. Altho the room had a nice large TV...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dee B
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and we are happy you enjoyed yoiur stay.

Pine Haven, Wyoming
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I would caution anyone considering this hotel to reconsider as it is unsafe and not sure how it could pass a fire marshal's inspection. The old elevator was operational but scary when we arrived but when we went back to the hotel late that night it was not working and when you opened the door to the elevator you saw...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MaggieB2
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not like our building and elevator. The elevator you are speaking of is our passenger elevator and it is part of the historic building and history. Someone had “pryed” the elevator door open making it non-functional. That is why it was open to the bottom. We are unsure of how they were able to do...

Exeter, Nebraska
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Quaint place. However the broken windows, smells and lack of safety outweigh the experience. We were there late fall and I killed over 100 flies during a one night stay. They know they have a problem that fixing/caulking the old windows would fix because there was fly spray and a fly swatter in the room. We stayed on the top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Huskermale
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not like our hotel. It is true, in the fall the flies and wasps try to obtain warmth and do get into the building, that is why we provide spray and swatters. Our building is safe. The metal ladder you speak of is an historic fire escape (not intended for modern-day use). We have current...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Deadwood was our wedding destination. Deadwood Dick's is an awesome place to stay. Shopping in the antique store, eating(and drinking) in the bar/restaurant, and feeling like you have stepped back in time in the guest rooms. We stayed in room 407, which had a great view from the side window looking out over the street and downtown area. From the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shane W
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Deadwood and at our property.

Billings, Montana
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Rake cold showers. Pro...it woke us right up after a night of partying. Con...who really wants a cold shower? There is an old time elevator that is small, fun and unique, and a little scary. But if someone doesn't close the doors afed flag #1...prepayment of room required at booking (I can see why...because we would have canceled our next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Renee B
Imperial, Nebraska
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The location is one of the best in Deadwood. We stayed in the King room which was spacious and comfortable. We've stayed in historic hotels in other mountain towns and this is by far the best we have found in terms of comfort and space. The room was clean and spacious. The room is decorated with a historic feel. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RangerMomn
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked our hotel and the antique store.

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Friendly staff and great location to Deadwood's main street. Lots of character in this hotel and clean and spacious rooms. The elevator and decor make you feel like you have stepped back in time. Free parking, pet friendly, outside eatery and if you like antiques this is the place. If you only like 5 star hotels then this isn't the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sheri6813
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is nice to know we are achieving our goals in serving the customer.

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (156)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.3 km away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#2 of 24 in Deadwood
597 reviews
0.1 km away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#15 of 24 in Deadwood
144 reviews
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 km away
Bullock Hotel
Bullock Hotel
#16 of 24 in Deadwood
349 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
National Historic Landmark Building in Downtown Deadwood converted into a hotel. Spacious comfortable Queen and King rooms or suites with an Old Deadwood feeling decorated in period styles. European style elevator, an original Otis. Saloon and Eatery on premises plus an Antique Mall covering 12000 square feet. The coolest place in Deadwood. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Deadwood Dick's

Address: 51 Sherman St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1315
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Price Range: $55 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Deadwood Dick's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deadwood Dick`s Hotel Deadwood
Dicks Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Dicks Hotel
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#13 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Deadwood Dick's staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Indianapolis
Laramie, Wyoming

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Deadwood Dick's staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only ate here , didn't stay”
 of 5 bubbles Elevenfiftysix, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a king suite, but all of the rooms are nice.”
  • King sized bed
  • Lamp
  • Rug
  • Lamp
 of 5 bubbles BikerMikeVB, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“405 was awesome two yrs in a row.”
 of 5 bubbles jeffbX712TX, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All were great views”
  • Loved the large armoir
  • 4th floor room
  • Loved the historic home feel
 of 5 bubbles mcihawth, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“rooms rear facing are a little quieter”
 of 5 bubbles stuart6630, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay