We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Spearfish Canyon Lodge

Show Prices
#2 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Spearfish Canyon Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

384 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Spearfish Canyon Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 382: English reviews
Minot, North Dakota
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Hotel is fantastic! Service was excellent! Value for the mid-week snowmobile package is good, but seems to be getting worse year after year. This was my third consecutive year of coming to Spearfish Canyon Lodge for their mid-week snowmobile special. The first year the deal was amazing. Second year the price went up a little for the package, I think...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hawk876
Scott B, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Hawk876, We're so glad to hear that you've been enjoyed our Midweek Snowmobile Package! We do strive to offer our customers the best bargain that we can but I do appreciate feedback and we will take your comments into consideration again. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Isanti, Minnesota
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Very nice place to stay. Staff was very friendly. Beds were comfortable. Great place to stay if your snowmobiling in the Black Hills. Great views of the canyon with direct access to the snowmobile trails.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dshortell4
Scott B, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dshortell4, I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Snowmobiling is one of our favorite pastimes here at the Lodge; we look forward to seeing you again with the next snowstorm!

Luverne, Alabama
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Beautiful and relaxing lodge. The view and food was spectacular! We rented the lodge's snowmobiles and had a great time on the trails! We enjoyed the hot tubs and sitting by the fire in the evenings! We will visit again!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank k_schomacker
Scott B, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

K_Schomacker, Isn't snowmobiling one of the best ways to see the Hills? We love going out on the trails but it does feel nice to come back to that hot tub at the end of the day! We're glad that you enjoyed it as well and look forward to welcoming you back with the next snow!

Dell Rapids
Reviewed 7 February 2016

What a great lodge, restaurant, and snowmobile adventure! The price was right, the location is absolutely beautiful, and the facilities perfect! The staff were very professional and were quick to assist us. The food and service in the restaurant were excellent for breakfast, lunch, and supper.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jetsr
Scott B, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Jetsr, Thank you for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed yourself at our facility and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

South Dakota
Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

We Stayed for a winter weekend. Arriving 9pm we were still able to use the open air hot tub which was very nice. The rooms were very clean. We stayed in a normal bedroom where we had gotten a nice deal through a booking portal. For the normal price I would not stay there. The window was to the parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olifia
Scott B, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Olifia, Thank you for your review. I apologize that you did not receive the level of customer service we expect from our front desk employees or our restaurant. Every property has improvements they can make and I appreciate your feedback. If you have any further questions or comments I would love to hear from you; please don't hesitate to call...

Black Hawk, South Dakota
Reviewed 29 January 2016

My sister and i recently rented the cabin, which advertises a fireplace. We stayed for 2 nights, and our fireplace wouldnt stay lit. (Gas) We brought this to the attention of the Lodge staff. The serviceman came and told us that the fireplace was out of date and needed to be replaced. Evidently they have been aware of this problem...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank susie_klop
Scott B, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Susie Klop, I understand your frustration with your recent stay and apologize that you did not receive the high level of service our Lodge is known for. I encourage you to contact me about your stay with us - please feel free to call me at 605-584-3435. Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you.

Gillette
Reviewed 28 January 2016

What a great place to stay. We attended a wedding here this winter and it was beautiful. Rooms were clean and beds were comfy! the restaurant also had amazing food and service! I would stay here again !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 808tara
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

808tara, Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to hear you had a good experience at the wedding you attended here at the Lodge! The Canyon is beautiful in every season and we hope you can come experience it's beauty and stay with us again. Linda Ahlers GM

Hoople, North Dakota
Reviewed 28 January 2016

The rooms,the staff,the amenities all top rate. Winter pkgs or summer and ohhh the fall. All seasons are a GREAT time to visit! The restaurant has up scale food with reasonably prices. Hiking trails in season and we'll groomed. Snowmobiling is fantastic well groomed trails!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cskjerven11
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

cskjerven11, We want to thank you for your great review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Lodge and welcome you back! Thank you, Linda A GM

Bismarck, North Dakota
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Unfortunately our trip didn't include enough snow for snowmobiling but we did enjoy hiking, the hot tub and the beautiful fireplace in the lobby. Turned out we were the only two couples booked that Sunday night. It was as if we had rented the whole lodge. Felt rich!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dakotamouse
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dakotamouse, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Lodge. We are hoping that more snow appears in the forecast and hope you will come back! Thank you, Linda A GM

Orange City, Iowa
Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed this past weekend and had a wonderful time! We were in a regular room that was clean and had been updated since the last time we were there. We went on a snowmobile package and the snowmobiles were in good condition. The canyon was spectacular with new snow, trails in good shape, and even tried a day of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherry L
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Sherry L, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our updated rooms and had a good time out on the snowmobile trails. We hope you will continue with your decision to make it an annual event and hope we will see you again next year! Linda GM

173 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (161)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lead
12.1 km away
Blackstone Lodge and Suites
17.8 km away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#4 of 24 in Deadwood
481 reviews
13.2 km away
Town Hall Inn
Town Hall Inn
#1 of 8 in Lead
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
16.2 km away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
15.9 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 24 in Deadwood
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Spearfish Canyon Lodge

Address: 10169 Roughlock Falls Road, Lead, SD 57783
Region: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Price Range: $142 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spearfish Canyon Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Spearfish Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spearfish Canyon Hotel Lead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Spearfish Canyon Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Spearfish Canyon Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was on main floor, at the rear entrance to the parking lot. Very accessible for handicap people and loading and unloading vehicle.”
 of 5 bubbles njsedor, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We only stayed in one, but it was perfect”
 of 5 bubbles joniew160, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the back side were super quiet! Nice robes to use for hot tubs!!”
 of 5 bubbles 138psa, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We happen to really like the suites. But I would guess the other rooms would be nice as well.”
 of 5 bubbles sharonmG8011SJ, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the back overlook the creek. I didn't think the romance package was worth it, but it was nice enough.”
 of 5 bubbles kc597, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5