We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Black Hills Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Best Western Black Hills Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 319: English reviews
Portland, United States
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Stayed one night in July 2016 while travelling from Deadwood to Wyoming. Hotel is older, yet in fairly good condition. Pool was nice and well maintained. Staff was helpful and prompt. Morning breakfast was good and well prepared.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabe K
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Gabe, Thanks for your review and rating. We appreciate you staying with us on your trip. Come again!

Virginia USA
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Rachael was very nice on the front desk. Room was a good size, beds lovely a comfy, although the lines looked a little 'tired'. Chairs were a little stained, and not a great deal of wall outlets. 'Fridge/micro AND.......1 cup serving KEURIG - brilliant! Good sized TV, excellent TV lineup. There is an indoor bar area - looks fairly limited,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Ahh, the details... you sure noted the things that some places don't have, like long list of TV channels and Keurig's and bar and outdoor patio. We have you DO "stay again"... Rachel should be waiting :). Thank you.

Belgrade, Montana
Reviewed 2 July 2016

We stayed here on the going and coming back a week later. Friendly staff upon arrival and departure. We do not eat the "breakfasts", usually get a coffee and a piece of fruit so we cannot comment on the "breakfast. Our rooms # 105A & 107A were both clean and had 2 doors one into the hotel hallway and one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeffreyshapiro
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jeffrey, Thank you for such a nice review. I appreciate all the details about your stay at our hotel, and will pass on the compliments to our "friendly staff". We look forward to seeing you again in Spearfish!

Dickinson, North Dakota
Reviewed 2 July 2016

We rented a pet room with its own outside door on ground level which was nice except it smelled badly of pet odors. They discounted rate and pet fee to make us happy and promised that they usually keep their pet rooms shampooed frequently!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdventureSeekingFam
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We just discussed our pet rooms this week and I heard of your experience from our GM Dan and his housekeeping staff. They have cleaned that carpet again since it appeared we missed something prior to your stay. I apologize for that as well, we will pay close attention to those rooms we...

Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Great value, friendly, easy to walk to restaurants. They had a nice bar area off from the lobby and had a local man singing from 7-9 pm. Breakfast was fine. Room had a refrigerator in it. The room also had a separate sink area from the bathroom which was convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Michelle. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hearing more people comment about having restaurants to "walk to" -- that is nice for those who want to on nice summer evenings. Hope to see you at our hotel again.

Reviewed 28 June 2016

I would not stay at this hotel again! Very poor mattresses and musty pillows. Also expected the normal scrambled eggs and sausage like other Best Westerns - not the case here! If they would replace the current mattress's and pillows with better ones and improve their breakfast I would stay here if I ever came to this area again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Robert, thank you for the review. Please accept my apologies for those things you did not like. Our beds are a Sealy posturepedic with a pillowtop, something we feel fits most guests' wants, but unfortunately not all - we mostly hear good things, but some people don't like them. If you read this please call us at 605-642-7795 and...

Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Reviewed 26 June 2016

The two things that bother me the most are old, saggy mattresses and child sized toilets, and this property offered both. Old and needing renovations. They recommended restaurant next door, but outdoor sign said "Cooks Wanted." This is code for the food isn't very good so we went to the Dairy Queen and had a great blizzard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bucky39
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Bucky39, Thank you for your review. Our mattresses are three to four years old, depending on which room you were in(I would like to know that, so if you would please contact us), so I don't believe it's a matter of them being old. However, if they felt "saggy" it is more likely the 'pillowtop effect' with a Sealy...

Arvada, Colorado
Reviewed 17 June 2016

It met all our needs. We were staying there for a bike race. The location was perfect and the staff very friendly. The room had a frig and microwave, which is important to me. They even had a hose and wash clothes outside to wash my bicycle.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Micki H
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Presumably for the "Gravel Grinder" bike race..?? hopefully you had fun! Thank you for writing a review. The wash is ready for you all summer... come back and see us again.

Reviewed 14 June 2016

We were in town for the Gold Rush Gravel Grinder bicycle race. The Best Western was the "official" sponsoring hotel. Served it's purpose excellently :-) Ease access to interstate and downtown. Opened the continental breakfast at 0400 for our early race start. Very friendly. Thanks!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Stephen W, for writing a review. I'm glad you stayed with us during the Gravel Grinder --What a race! over 100 miles??!! wish I had that much energy. We are glad to serve you. Come back again.

San Carlos, California
Reviewed 6 June 2016

We are traveling the U.S. And found that out of 30 hotels so far Best Western -Spearfish is one of the best. Clean, friendly and comfortable. They even supply shower caps which no one else has. Reasonable pricing as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki W
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Vicki, Thank you so much for such a rave review! I appreciate you taking the time to do so. I always like to hear these simple types of reviews about our hotel being clean, good friendly service and especially you mentioned "comfortable". That's great! We hope to see you again.

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
3.4 km away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#3 of 14 in Spearfish
272 reviews
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
3.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish
3.4 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Spearfish
134 reviews
3.0 km away
Travelodge Spearfish
Travelodge Spearfish
#9 of 14 in Spearfish
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Black Hills of South Dakota, about halfway between Mount Rushmore National Memorial and Devils Tower National Monument, the Best Western Black Hills Lodge in Spearfish, South Dakota is near Interstate 90 at Exit 12. Highly ranked on TripAdvisor in Spearfish the past couple years, you'll love the clean rooms with up to date amenities, the nice outdoor pool area and our Lookout Lounge and patio. Find shopping at our quaint downtown stores and a host of great restaurants nearby, including a 24-hour Millstone next door. With most Black Hills attractions 7-70 minutes away in several directions, we make a great stop along the way or as a week-long vacation headquarters. You will be most pleased with our hospitality and service - they are second to none in the area. We wish you safe travels always! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Black Hills Lodge

Address: 540 E Jackson Blvd, Spearfish, SD 57783-2204
Region: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Price Range: $95 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Black Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Black Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spearfish
Spearfish Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Black Hills Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hotel is relatively close to local attractions”
316jeanm, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“See description.”
WallaceW380, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Car access out your door on main level. Quieter on second floor.”
50somethingscanada, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for Lookout Mountain side”
Vei1962, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Walk in door on first floor was great for watching motorcycle.”
LiveEachDay, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5