We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chattanooga Choo Choo

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,622 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chattanooga Choo Choo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,588: English reviews
Scottsboro, Alabama
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have stayed here before and this time was exceptionally good. Check in was as smooth as it could have possibly have been. So easy and very friendly staff. This hotel is so close to so many attractions down town. It has the free shuttle that is next door so very convenient. We will be back. The Station House restaraunt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth P
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review about our hotel and staff. We are pleased that you had a great visit to the Choo Choo. Thanks for your recommendation Look forward to your next visit. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM

Georgia, USA
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Hotel totally speaks for itself and is one of a kind.Gorgeous inside and out! Live music...Park your car and take the trolley to all of the attractions , great eats and bars. The aquarium is fun, the IMax for the kids or Adults. A fab place to go for singles, couples or families.....and don't forget to take a walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gapeach66
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

First of all, thanks for the 5 stars and for your recommendations. We are glad that you enjoyed exploring all the many venues of our property.. Come back real soon. Regards, Jill Ellis Coker Quality Assurance

Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff, lots of character, nice indoor pool, and plenty of train activities and sights to entertain my 2 year old train enthusiast. We were in building 3, which had an Asian theme and rooms that overlook a pretty pool with waterfall and hotub. My son enjoyed exploring the train, riding the trolley, and looking at the very detailed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HarryPetDoc
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review! We love to hear that you enjoyed all the different venues. Children love it here. Thanks for letting us know about our friendly staff. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM

Nashville
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Our family stayed overnight at the Chattanooga choo choo hotel. The lobby is beautiful and we enjoyed the shops and the overall atmosphere. The indoor pool was heated and well maintained. Our room was clean and comfortable. We would stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pastordp
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I am happy to hear that you stay was great. Thank you for sharing your comments and appreciating the historic beauty of the station. We look forward to your return. All the Best, Jim Bambrey

Madison, Alabama
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed for a weekend with the express purpose of visiting the aquarium. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised to find that there was a shuttle bus that ran from the hotel to the aquarium (among other places). It was nice to not have to drive anywhere during our stay! The hotel, of course, was just as we remembered from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Larry F
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thank you for the great comments and a 5 Star review. These are the types of comments we want to hear from everyone. We appreciate you staying with us during your visit to the Aquarium; it’s the best. We look forward to your return. All the Best, Jim Bambrey

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Customer service was very good and Tyler went above and beyond to make things right for our stay and was very good to work with. We would stay there again. Breakfast in the gardens was pleasant and walking around with all the lit torches at nite was a site to see.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeff D
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thank you for recognizing the history of the terminal building. We love to hear that you not only were an overnight guest but enjoyed our Formal Gardens and Gardens Restaurant. Thanks for your comments about Tyler, we will pass it on. Because of reviews like yours our CSI for November is 93%. Thanks again and we look forward to your...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed in one of the rail cars that looked out to the inner gardens. very nice, quiet. Was very disappointed that the dining car was closed. Our meal on a Saturday night took a very long time to be brought to us and there were very few patrons..! That being the case we opted not to do breakfast there....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drivininmycar
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thanks for your 4 star review.. You are right we are ideal for families and kids. The Café did have some minor renovations; sorry we did not communicate that to you. Diner in the Diner is very seasonal. Thanks for choosing the Choo Choo for your stay. We look forward to another visit real soon. Regards Jill Ellis Coker Quality...

Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had a 4day coca cola convention there nov.6th-9th, The planning staff was excellent in planning all events. The sleeping rooms were large and comfortable and the cleaning staff did an excellent job. I don't think I have ever had such a great supply of towels and etc. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and very responsive to our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank labron7770
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Success is great! We appreciate you holding your convention with us. We do a lot of group business and hear similar comments. I am glad our staff and facilities exceeded your expectations. We look forward to another convention. Regards, Jill Ellis Quality Assurance

Atlanta
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Not sure where to begin... Black mold on the walls and lampshade (See pics), pubic hairs throughout the bedding, filthy carpet, and they appear to house college kids in parts of the hotel so the hallways reaked of pot. We had a good laugh but truly a miserable experience.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrRatt
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I am disappointed that you were disappointed. Did you report any issues with management? We could have easily corrected any problem you had. We make mistakes, but we make great recoveries. There is no excuse that your room was not prepared properly. We have 4 managers (including me) on our QA team that inspect rooms regular basis, along with the...

Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Upon walking in we were stuck with the beauty of the history & beauty of the terminal/front desk. The garden’s are beautifully manicured which makes it a lovely to sit & reflect. Fun little shops on the grounds you can visit to look for that special souvenir. Must see was the miniature model railroads & to ride the trolley on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do have a lot to offer on our complex. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the grounds and utilize the other venues on our property. I regret you had some issues with your room. I have reviewed your comments with the respective Department Heads, so that they can take corrective action....

1,168 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1044)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (300)
Viewed
Bathroom (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (153)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (449)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (99)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (17)
Viewed
Executive King Room (14)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Pullman Train Car Room (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.5 km away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,192 reviews
1.1 km away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.8 km away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
1.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Address: 1400 Market St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Price Range: $193 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chattanooga Choo Choo staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question

I've been coming here 1-2x a year for about 7 years now-always in winter. This year I finally attended a convention there in summertime and I was STOKED to finally use that pool that had been vexing me.

All day long it was full of feral children and at night, when the con activities slowed the pool gates were locked. (9pm!) that was the only time I saw any security off their golf cart-to lock us out of the pool! Earlier in the day, we noticed a car POURING GAS from it tank in the parking lot. We flagged the centaurs (security/golf cart hybrids) and one said point blank that he didn't care because it "wasn't his car". I called the front desk 2x about it. No one really seemed to care.

I am SORELY disappointed, Choo Choo.

Also the renovations are terrible, did you have to tear out the station house and sandwich shop at the same time? The gardens breakfast we used to look forward to was awful, and the short male waiter was TERRIBLE. Overheard him telling a table of three ladies that unless they gave him another dollar he would have to pay a dollar to take care of them (not sure what he meant, but they coughed up an extra dollar, which he pocketed and left them without saying ty) ladies told us they'd never be back. When we paid him, he didn't even offer to bring our change, just took our cash and left.

He should be fired.

  We had silver car pizza 1x and it was burnt. We called out to papa johns and then city cafe after that.

We have always stayed here at the choo choo, and looked forward to it, but after this past weekend at the con, we're considering branching out and trying another hotel nearby...

over a year ago
Decatur, Alabama
9 months ago

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Chattanooga Choo Choo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“some rooms had a view of other rooms. 223 looked out into a parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles 841jscott, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Can't give an opinion of the hotel, because I didn't stay there.”
 of 5 bubbles H4094IMjanetb, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Have a carriage if you can do the steps it so different”
 of 5 bubbles avrilwiltravel, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“1) don't pick a room that faces the street. 2) train cars might sound like a good idea but”
 of 5 bubbles gonzaloc711, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Read reviews so your expectations are set appropriately.”
 of 5 bubbles jolsson, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5