We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mountain Inn & Suites

Show Prices
#1 of 2 Hotels in Erwin
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mountain Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 128: English reviews
Union, South Carolina
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We had a little trouble with the reservation, the room we ordered online was different when we checked in. But Mr. Tim saw the error and quickly took care of it. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite and for the price it was worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hatchet69
Shannon B, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Mountain Inn and Suites. We take pride in caring for our guests and making sure your stay in a great one. We are glad that you enjoyed your accommodations and hope you can visit us again in the future.

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 10 September 2016

$249 a night for special event and they ran out of breakfast and coffee. Rooms are very "worn" and as our daughter called them "ratchet". Any more than $60 dollars it's over priced! Watch the police arrest on of the guest and take him away in handcuffs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J M
Shannon B, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Mountain Inn and Suites. We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay. It's always a very busy time during the Bristol Race Weekend with a full hotel of guests. Our breakfast hours are from 6:30-9:30 each morning, and when it's really busy a few additional minutes may be...

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We stayed one night at the Mountain Inn & Suites. We needed several last-minute changes and the staff accommodated without a hitch. We got to interact with three shifts of front desk folks and they were all kind and helpful. The rooms were reasonably clean, there was plenty of space, the pool was clean. There was plenty of parking. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hdfranz
Shannon B, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are very happy that you chose Mountain Inn and Suites and that your stay was pleasant. Thank you for the kind comments about our hotel and especially our front desk staff. We are always happy to accommodate our guests' needs and are glad we could be of help during your stay. Again, thank you for staying with us and...

Nashua, New Hampshire
Reviewed 29 July 2016

II'm on a motorcycle trip, and had to stop short of my destination (Asheville) due to bad weather. I'm kind of glad I did...the place was quite nice. The rooms are large (I had a single king, I'm sure the suites are larger), there is plenty of parking, I was able to park my bike right under the overhang by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John F
Shannon B, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us at Mountain Inn and Suites. You are correct, we were a Holiday Inn Express until two years ago when we became an independent hotel. We are glad that you found your stay to be comfortable, as we take pride in taking care of our guests. We will certainly take into consideration your request for accessible...

Reviewed 8 July 2016

First the promised handicapped room with walk in shower was not available when we arrived.The room we had was on the 3rd floor and when electricity went off due to storm we could not call out on phone or leave 3rd floor due to non-working elevator. The room became hot and stifling in a matter of a few minutes. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
Shannon B, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We strive to make sure that all of our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable experience during their visit to our hotel. Unfortunately, problems due arise and the effects of the weather is often out of our control. Luckily, the storm did pass rather quickly and power was restored within a half hour or so. Due to the storm affecting...

Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed 5 days, and 4 nights, had a great time. Staff was extremely helpful and polite. Kids had a blast in the pool, and hot tub. Very clean place, at a very reasonable price. Breakfast was much better than I had expected, waffles, sausage, biscuits and gravy, milk, juice, coffee, bagels, toast, and more. We will definitely come back to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tonyandlauraburnett
Shannon B, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting our hotel and we are happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in providing wonderful customer service, clean rooms, and hospitality to our guests. We look forward to seeing you in the future when your family visits our lovely town.

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

I'm sure this was a nice place several years ago...not so much now...ownership and staff have stopped caring for the facility and is degrading quickly...numerous issues with the key card doors...TVs inoperable..bare bones breakfast..weeds outside of the hotel...pool was closed due to leaks...better options in nearby Johnson City or Asheville

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdhbigdog
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 11 June 2016

My dad and I stayed here the night before we left for the Appalachian Trail. The hotel is definitely showing its age, but we had a clean room and the staff were pleasant. The breakfast was ok - about what you would expect for a free breakfast. If you're looking for a decent place to stay for a night or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Summer G
Patelsc8, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Mountain Inn and Suites. We are glad that you came to visit while your father was hiking the AT. We are always open to suggestions for our breakfast bar and would be happy to provide a different selection for our guests. Please come back and visit us when you are passing through Erwin, TN.

Reviewed 10 June 2016

We were in Erwin to attend a funeral and are repeat customers at Mountain Inn & Suites. Each time we have stayed there the staff has been very cheerful and helpful to us. The free breakfast has a wide variety of choices and plenty of it. The room we had was clean and neat. We choose the non-smoking rooms and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delores R
Patelsc8, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your continued visits to Mountain Inn and Suites. We take pride in caring for our guests. We hope you stay with us again very soon!

Unicoi, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Stayed on 5/28. There were ants in my room and on linen. I saw ants near the breakfast area too. The lobby, breakfast area and hallways were blisteringly hot. The towels looked dirty and were very thin. The last time I stayed was probably 2 years ago and it has gone way downhill. The only positive thing is the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lilredsammy
Patelsc8, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Mountain Inn and Suites. We pride ourselves in taking care of our guests. We would have been happy to have adjusted the A/C settings in the lobby/breakfast area and given you fresh towels if we had known you were uncomfortable during your stay. Unfortunately, ants are always a problem at the beginning of...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erwin
34.3 km away
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
182 reviews
21.6 km away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 20 in Johnson City
478 reviews
19.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites
Country Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Jonesborough
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#2 of 20 in Johnson City
223 reviews
22.0 km away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#3 of 20 in Johnson City
400 reviews
25.7 km away
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
#5 of 20 in Johnson City
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just imagine....waking up to the scent of fresh mountain air and listening to the sounds of silence. Wake up at the Mountain Inn & Suites - Erwin (formerly the Holiday Inn Express) where every room has a mountain view. We are conveniently located in the Tri-Cities area of Bristol, Johnson City and Kingsport. Right outside our back door is the Appalachian Trail, whitewater rafting, Cherokee National Forest, river and stream fishing, and many other outdoor activities. Nearby you'll find golfing, Country & Bluegrass music, snow skiing, antiques, pottery, and Jonesborough - a historic village of unique shops, galleries and restaurants. Tour the numerous winding back roads between small Appalachian communities, or simply unwind and relax while breathing in the crisp mountain air. There is much to do, or choose nothing at all. You can enjoy our outdoor pool and Jacuzzi from Memorial Day weekend to Labor Day weekend. Whether you are a corporate traveler or a hiker/rafter; we have a room and a special rate for you! Let our friendly and knowledgeable staff make your stay in Erwin a truly pleasurable experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain Inn & Suites

Address: 2002 Temple Hill Rd, Erwin, TN 37650-7980 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Erwin, TN)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Erwin
Price Range: $138 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Erwin
Erwin Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountain Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mountain Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book online early for discount”
 of 5 bubbles Hatchet69, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Run the other way”
 of 5 bubbles A7737QVjm, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Even number rooms face the pool, odd numbered rooms the opposite side.”
 of 5 bubbles Q3441RLjohnf, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room away from outside doors and away from elevators if possible for a quieter night.”
 of 5 bubbles deloresr96, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Although the rooms are nice, when leaving a tip, I consider where there is dust on the headboards, if the tub was cleaned , etc...That did not happen a couple of days that we were there.”
 of 5 bubbles karons19, 29 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay