We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mountain Inn & Suites

Booking.comUS$90*
View Deal
#1 of 2 Hotels in Erwin
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Mountain Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Mountain Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 130: English reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2016

We were in Erwin to attend a funeral and are repeat customers at Mountain Inn & Suites. Each time we have stayed there the staff has been very cheerful and helpful to us. The free breakfast has a wide variety of choices and plenty of it. The room we had was clean and neat. We choose the non-smoking rooms and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delores R
Patelsc8, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your continued visits to Mountain Inn and Suites. We take pride in caring for our guests. We hope you stay with us again very soon!

Unicoi, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Stayed on 5/28. There were ants in my room and on linen. I saw ants near the breakfast area too. The lobby, breakfast area and hallways were blisteringly hot. The towels looked dirty and were very thin. The last time I stayed was probably 2 years ago and it has gone way downhill. The only positive thing is the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lilredsammy
Patelsc8, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Mountain Inn and Suites. We pride ourselves in taking care of our guests. We would have been happy to have adjusted the A/C settings in the lobby/breakfast area and given you fresh towels if we had known you were uncomfortable during your stay. Unfortunately, ants are always a problem at the beginning of...

Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Need an economical stay, this little hotel with mountain views does fill the bill. Very dated but friendly little place, the casual atmosphere does help you relax. Just off I-26, this made visiting Asheville a breeze (45minute drive) and nearby Johns town. We were able to visit nearby flea markets and Biltmore for a fraction of the cost. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ASunflower46
Patelsc8, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Mountain Inn and Suites. We truly enjoy our little town and all it has to offer. It is surrounded with many outdoor attractions to include: the Appalachian Trail, fly fishing in the Nolichucky River, many place to raft or kayak, breathtaking waterfalls, and locally owned restaurants and antique stores to visit. We pride ourselves in accommodating...

Winchester, Virginia
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

We are hiking a long section of the Appalachian Trail. We needed a place to spend the night before beginning our hike, and we needed a safe place to leave our car while we are hiking in this area. The Mountain Inn was a great choice. It's located just a mile from the trailhead. Although there is a very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank passinthroo
Patelsc8, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your visits to Mountain Inn and Suites. It was so nice to meet you both while you were staying with us. Thank you for your kind words about your stay and our staff. We take pride in our hotel and look forward to our AT hikers staying with us. We hope you continue to have...

Cedar Bluff, Alabama
Reviewed 27 May 2016

The room was very clean and included a small fridge, a nice bonus. If you like a nice view from your room, you'll want to be on the south side, the next time I stay here, I'll be sure to ask for a room on the south side. It does have a small exercise room, the equipment appeared to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JordansofWeiss
Patelsc8, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit to Erwin, TN and for staying with us at Mountain Inn and Suites. We are very fortunate to be nestled among beautiful mountains and strongly encourage you to plan a visit to our area in the Fall when the leaves change. It is truly breathtaking! You are welcome to request a room overlooking the mountains...

Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Met my husband for a weekend as he is hiking the Appalachian trail. Ants rules the room. Along with spiders. And reaches. The front desk person, who o am assuming is the owner, is about the rudest person. EVER. Do not ask her for anything. She will give you a look that would kill all the bugs. Don't go. Just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jules1166
Patelsc8, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Mountain Inn and Suites. We enjoy accommodating our AT hikers and their families as we have many visit with us each year. Unfortunately, the beginning of the warm weather season brings ants and spiders to our areas and inside. We have recently taken great measures to prevent them from being inside of our...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Stayed one night last weekend. King room was immaculate and spacious, fridge great. Breakfast was delicious and front desk staff very helpful and friendly. Really impressed by the place. I would definitely stay here again if I am in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank z0nebuster13
Shannon B, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your visit to our hotel. We take pride in taking care of our guests and are very happy that you enjoyed your accommodations and breakfast. We enjoy our lovely area and our beautiful mountain scenery and hope you can visit us again in the near future.

Avon, Ohio
Reviewed 9 March 2016

We stayed there last Friday night and was very pleased with our stay. The staff is very helpful and friendly, directed us to a very good place to eat which was close after our long drive. The room was spacious and clean. There was very little noise and that was only people walking in the hallway--which is the same in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OhioAussies
Shannon B, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. Your comments regarding the staff are greatly appreciated,and we are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast.We appreciate your business and look forward to your return again in the area.

Reviewed 8 February 2016

We have stayed at this Inn several times over the last 3 years.. Each visit is a little less pleasant. This time the orange "juice" at breakfast was so dilute it was essentially orange colored water. The bath towels were frayed on the edges and the hotel hallways were cold.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J Ned P
Shannon B, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry that you didn't find your stay to be accommodating during your recent visit at Mountain Inn and Suites. We take pride in making each stay pleasant for our guests and welcome your comments so that we can improve our guest stays. We will look into your report about the juice machine and make sure that it is...

Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 14 January 2016

It was my first trip to the area. The towns are small. The locals recommended Mountain Inn & Suites. The staff was friendly and informative. Free breakfast included eggs, yogurt, cereal, sweet rolls, coffee, juice, biscuits and gravy. The room was clean, quiet and warm. We'll probably stay there again when we are ready to take on the Apalacian Trail.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMANDAFELIZYSANA
Shannon B, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Mountain Inn and Suites. We are located 1 mile from the Appalachian Trail and offer hiker rates upon request. We also offer a safe place to leave your automobile free of charge while you hike. Please contact us directly about these special rates, hiker shuttles available in the area, and...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erwin
34.3 km away
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
186 reviews
21.6 km away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
528 reviews
28.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#4 of 19 in Johnson City
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites
Country Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Jonesborough
191 reviews
22.0 km away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#2 of 19 in Johnson City
427 reviews
28.2 km away
Value Place Johnson City
Value Place Johnson City
#10 of 19 in Johnson City
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just imagine....waking up to the scent of fresh mountain air and listening to the sounds of silence. Wake up at the Mountain Inn & Suites - Erwin (formerly the Holiday Inn Express) where every room has a mountain view. We are conveniently located in the Tri-Cities area of Bristol, Johnson City and Kingsport. Right outside our back door is the Appalachian Trail, whitewater rafting, Cherokee National Forest, river and stream fishing, and many other outdoor activities. Nearby you'll find golfing, Country & Bluegrass music, snow skiing, antiques, pottery, and Jonesborough - a historic village of unique shops, galleries and restaurants. Tour the numerous winding back roads between small Appalachian communities, or simply unwind and relax while breathing in the crisp mountain air. There is much to do, or choose nothing at all. You can enjoy our outdoor pool and Jacuzzi from Memorial Day weekend to Labor Day weekend. Whether you are a corporate traveler or a hiker/rafter; we have a room and a special rate for you! Let our friendly and knowledgeable staff make your stay in Erwin a truly pleasurable experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain Inn & Suites

Address: 2002 Temple Hill Road, Erwin, TN 37650 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Erwin, TN)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Erwin
Price Range: $135 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Erwin
Erwin Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountain Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mountain Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book online early for discount”
Hatchet69, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Run the other way”
A7737QVjm, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Even number rooms face the pool, odd numbered rooms the opposite side.”
Q3441RLjohnf, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room away from outside doors and away from elevators if possible for a quieter night.”
deloresr911, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Although the rooms are nice, when leaving a tip, I consider where there is dust on the headboards, if the tub was cleaned , etc...That did not happen a couple of days that we were there.”
karons19, 29 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$90* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$90
TravelocityUS$94
Orbitz.comUS$94
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates