We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franklin
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 165: English reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016

This was by far the best B&B experience that we have ever had! The rooms were clean and beautifully furnished. The beds were really comfortable!!! There are three common areas upstairs that are all comfortable and inviting in their own way: a cozy living room; a large sun room, and a wonderful wrap around porch with a swing and lots...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vicki C
robsmithson, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for such nice comments regarding your stay with us while visiting Franklin. We enjoyed having you with us glad to be a part of your trip. Robbie Smihson

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Everything was wonderful at the Magnolia House. My hosts were very friendly and as a solo traveler I felt both welcomed and very safe. It's convenient to downtown (I walked) and to the Civil War sites. My room was lovely and comfortable (with a door to the porch). And the breakfasts were so delicious. It was a very enjoyable two...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cindy C
robsmithson, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Magnolia House for your recent visit to Franklin. It was our pleasure to meet you and host you during that time and we appreciate the nice comments. Have a happy and blessed year. Robbie & Jimmy

Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Room was average - larger than a hotel. Room was tastefully decorated. Bed was small (double?) and on the hard side. Seem to have an electrical issue - lights, etc flicker. Rooms on second floor accessed by steep steps inside and outside. No backyard - it is parking lot. Nice large common area but the furnishing is a bit shabby....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 678Shari
robsmithson, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for choosing Magnolia House for your recent visit to Franklin, but am disappointed that you weren't completely satisfied and appreciate you bringing these areas of concern to our attention. Franklin is a bustling town and at certain times of the day it is busy. I will check into the mattress, but not sure which...

Madison, Alabama
Reviewed 1 September 2016

My best friend and I go away for a girls' weekend once a year. This year, we decided to stay closer to home and go to Franklin. We had a wonderful stay at Magnolia House B&B. We arrived earlier than expected and were able to check in early. We, easily, walked to lunch down the street. After lunch, we came...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank abneyt
robsmithson, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Magnolia House for your girl's weekend. It was a pleasure having you with us. I too discovered the wasps making a home while cleaning the porch and rockers. They no longer have their home there and I am soo thankful you did not get stung. Hopefully you will return to Franklin for a relaxing time. Robbie

Mansfield, Texas
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Expected more from this highly rated B&B. Everything was OK but not super. I think we got off to a bad start because we arrived while the innkeeper was away. Although a nice note was left with the key, we weren't quite sure if we could have bottled water or soft drinks from the mini fridge in the TV room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PSC76063
robsmithson, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit to Magnolia House B & B and for bringing to our attention the items that might have affected your stay with us. I do apologize for not being present when you arrived, as we had a family birthday party to attend that afternoon and not being more specific in my message regarding the bottled...

Florence, Alabama
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Had another wonderful weekend at Magnolia House...Breakfast was delicious....not only tasty but a beautiful presentation. Robbie always makes things easy. The room was clean, comfortable and cool during a hot summer visit. Parking is off the street, is well lighted and provides easy entry to the large comfortable Sun Room, which provides a fantastic place to relax, watch TV, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
Henrietta, New York
Reviewed 24 August 2016

My daughter and I stayed here and enjoyed walking into town for the shopping and dinner. You have a nice, clean room, and wonderful sitting room with TV, magazines, and snacks to enjoy. The owner was very gracious and friendly. It was a lovely home and breakfast was good - we had biscuits, poached eggs in shredded potato cups. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clairet049
robsmithson, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are so glad to have had a part in making your trip to Franklin memorable. It was a pleasure meeting you and your daughter and hopefully you will return to our special town in the future. Robbie Smithson

Reviewed 6 August 2016

Our recent stay at Magnolia House was simply wonderful! Such gracious hosts, a BEAUTIFUL home and every amenity you can imagine! Our room was beyond clean and comfortabe, and because the entire second floor "belongs" to guests, we had lots of privacy. Robbie is not only the sweetest person ever, but also a fabulous cook - the breakfasts were out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
robsmithson, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much Sandy for writing such sweet comments regarding your visit. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you and your family and being able to offer you a place to relax and make fond memories while visiting with your family. We look forward to a return visit in the future. Robbie and Jimmy

Reviewed 30 July 2016

This was a amazing experience. Robbie was an excellent hostess. Accommodations were Just like home. Bed and room were well attended. Room for relaxation and close to downtown. That is nothing compared to the over the top breakfast with an equally appealing presentation. Franklin is a beautiful town and staying at the Magnolia was the icing on the cake. No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
Florence, Alabama
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We stayed a couple of nights recently during my wife's birthday trip. We enjoyed our host the Smithson's. They remind you of an aunt and uncle. The home is well designed to serve as a B &B. Four bedrooms on 2nd floor with 2 large community rooms and a wraparound deck. Spent the first afternoon visiting with other guest on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank floalareb

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franklin hotels
5.2 km away
Drury Plaza Hotel Nashville Franklin
4.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Franklin Inn
BEST WESTERN Franklin Inn
#9 of 23 in Franklin
782 reviews
8.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Nashville Franklin / Cool Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Nashville / Franklin
6.9 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Nashville Franklin (Cool Springs)
6.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cool Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lovely Craftsman-style home circa 1905, built upon the site of the Battle of Franklin. Located within one mile of the Historic Downtown Shopping/Dining District of Franklin and 3 blocks from the famous Carter House and Lotz House Museum. Guests can choose from four uniquely decorated bedrooms furnished with antiques; each with its own private bath, and relax in the gathering room or large sun room and wraparound porch. Full breakfast served in the main dining room and coffee/tea bar available at all times in the gathering room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1317 Columbia Ave, Franklin, TN 37064-3620
Region: United States > Tennessee > Franklin
Price Range: $182 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Magnolia House Hotel Franklin
Magnolia House b&b
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Clarksville, Tennessee
6 months ago
Houma, Louisiana
9 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing the main road will have sounds of traffic during the day.”
mackey2015, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms were great”
nancymK9562LN, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the front room, This room does face the road, so there is some traffic noise.”
  • front room
SharonS170, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are all on the second floor, no elevator.”
R2K2E, 20 Oct 2015 | Read review
“I chose the twin bedroom with a walk-in shower....great for my 92- year old Mother”
donnawalker29, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5