We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ballymaloe House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Ballymaloe House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

400 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ballymaloe House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 389: English reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

We visited in August and were in the area on a late autumn break and decided to return on what was more like a summer's day. Unusually the cafe was very quiet late lunchtime. The menu is always short, but you struggle to choose as it always offers so many temptations. We decided to go for the celeriac soup with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CraigD999
fern071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of the Cafe, thank you so much for the super review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Cafe and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 13 October 2016

What an outstanding hotel! Everything was perfect, from the outstanding breakfasts to the delicious dinners in the evening. The downstairs reception rooms are really comfortable and the bedrooms are pretty and tank goodness do not have televisions and mini bars. The bathrooms are well stocked with sweet lavender soap and cleaned and sorted carefully. The staff have just the right...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rosemarygosling
fern071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and especially thank you for making us all laugh here about our special Jumping Sheep! We are delighted that you felt so relaxed and looked after. It is also great that you enjoyed the walks through the woods. Robyn's hand made lavender Soaps are lovely and are available in some special outlets...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016

From the tray of tea on arriving to the high standard of service, food and comfort, we felt as if we were treated as welcome friends rather that customers. The room on the ground floor was comfortably furnished with a large firm but comfortable bed. Only minor quibble was electric point location as although numerous they were all at skirting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaggieBunion
fern071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review of your stay at Ballymaloe House. I am so glad that you enjoyed being with us. Thank you also for the comment about the electric points. I will speak to our electricians. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

What a treat, as always could not fault 1 bit from welcome, warmth, service ,atmosphere & food, I was disappointed as no duck on the menu so opted for goose, & was not disappointed by it, what flavours, divine, usual divine cheese & trolley choice, left with a great feeling & look forward to next visit, well done Ballymaloe on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clover12345
fern071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review for Ballymaloe. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your dinner with us. We are lucky to be able to get Nora Ahern's wonderful Geese, Ducks and Turkeys that she rears for us. If ever you are coming to visit you can always call us and request...

Billerica, Massachusetts
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We stayed at the Ballymoloe on our recent trip to Ireland and it was quite special. On our arrival, we were informed that there would be an art exhibit outside in the front of the house. We were staying in the Top Room which was recently redone. It was absolutely lovely. The view was beautiful, the room was quite large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PJV78
fern071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Ballymaloe. The Top room is one of my favourite rooms too! It is nice to choose a particular table for dinner. I am also glad you enjoyed visiting the Shop and buying the Relish! We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

wales
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Lovely location, fantastic accommodation and great welcome! What else could you wish for? Walk around the grounds and evening meal, heaven. Thank you Darina for a lovely entertaining evening. Will look forward to returning soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CiDu34
fern071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed being at Ballymaloe. Thank you so very much for the lovely review. We look forward to your return visit!

County Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Was excited to receive an invite to a wedding at Ballymaloe. It didn't disappoint. First impressions were if really friendly, helpful staff. Booked into a room in main house, Our window looked out to front of the house, lovely rural view.Bedroom was well appointed, very comfy bed, and a charming bathroom.Pretty flowers on a side table were a lovely touch....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie R
fern071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding at Ballymaloe. Thank you for the review. It is nice to have convivial big tables for Breakfast next day and I'm glad you were looked after well.

Norwich, Eng
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We are great fans of Ballymaloe and eat there with family and friends several times a year. As always the reception (especially Rachael) was excellent and welcoming with good knowledge of menu and drinks. We have noticed, however, that when in certain parts of the restaurant the waiters are simply not as good as before. For a party of 8...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank relaaxed
fern071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry you found the service was not up to scratch that evening. If you wish to, feel free to contact me directly at Ballymaloe and I will trace back to what went amiss. I will certainly pass on your compliments to Rachel. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Worcestershire
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Despite booking in May I couldn't get two rooms for two nights on August bank holiday weekend for a friend and myself. We were offered the Courtyard, in a seperate building- a spacious room with twin beds. The staff were most welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. However the wifi continued to be problematic despite flagging it up on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
fern071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We are aware that the wifi can be a bit patchy and we are doing our best to rectify the situation. With the old house and thick walls it can be a challenge! I'm glad that you enjoyed your meals and had a relaxing time with us. We would love to see you again...

Ireland
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Lovely, relaxing ambience both inside and outside this country hotel. Good-sized, comfortable rooms. Wonderful staff. And food to die for! I would be surprised if anyone would not come away from Ballymaloe in a more chilled-out state than they arrived. I'm not great at the total switch-off thing, so a couple of features take a little getting used to. Like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bscc
fern071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your break with us. The road to Shanagarry is a very busy one and we very often ferry people over to the cookery school instead of walking. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food and we will check why our Breakfast wasn't quite up to scratch....

169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanagarry
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,529 reviews
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,248 reviews
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
1,945 reviews
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Ballymaloe House Hotel

Address: Shanagarry P25 Y070, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Shanagarry
Price Range: $142 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ballymaloe House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Ballymaloe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymaloe House Hotel Shanagarry
Ballymaloe Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ballymaloe House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ballymaloe House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Yellow Room on the lower level offers good access to parking and a direct view over the garden”
 of 5 bubbles Ross-Siobhan, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A very special place”
 of 5 bubbles mw8055, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room in the house”
 of 5 bubbles rosemarygosling, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for easy access if stairs are tricky, no lift”
 of 5 bubbles MaggieBunion, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the main house and were very pleased”
 of 5 bubbles 170valerier, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5