We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Somerville Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

655 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Somerville Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 639: English reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

Been lucky enpught to come here for a hen was so good i arrangey friends baby shower consistent superb service can not praise or recommend this hotel enough. Food location everything just perfect. If you have not been here I would strongly suggest you book yourself in

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie H
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your very kind review and for recommending the hotel, delighted that you had a fun time and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards

kent
Reviewed 31 July 2015

We came across this hotel 2 years ago after stumbeling across it while out for a walk, the concierge invited us in for a drink and showed us around the hotel . We were so impressed by the relaxed atmosphere and helpful staff that my husband booked a stay for my birthday. Although we hadn't booked a sea veiw room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, delighted that you had a wonderful birthday with us and that we will be seeing you again next year. Until then, kind regards and all the best.

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2015

if you like delicious food well presented by friendly staff do not miss this hotel. Whether you dine in the dining room or have a snack or afternoon tea on the terrace you will not be disappointed. The view over the bay is beautiful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happybunny29
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to make your kind review. We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2015

The hotel has the great advantage of having superb harbour and sea views from the rooms specified as such (The rooms at without a sea view tend to overlook a wall and houses) and a car park, a must for those hiring a car on the island. Our room was a superior sea view room which had three large windows,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OldPos1956
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments, we do see ourselves as a Country House Hotel and try and provide friendly but at the same time traditional, professional service and I'm delighted that that appears to have been the case. All your comments are appreciated. Many thanks.

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2015

staff at front of house very nice.room was good lovely views,just a little hot, great location for other places to eat,as felt hotel food was not up too much,far too much and over priced.amenities well if you wanted a sun lounger,you needed to be up at the crack of dawn,spent 10 days here and every day the same lounger was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jewllerymanager
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments, all reviews are welcome. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy our catering, it is very rare for us to receive such comments. May I apologise for the rather excited best man at a wedding who decided, much to the annoyance of the rest of the wedding party to take a dip...

Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Very attentive staff and a great location with views over the bay. Food also was excellent. Well worth a visit and very reasonable price wise. considering this hotel is linked to other Dolan hotels on the island, I would recommend eating at this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony U
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and recommendation which is greatly appreciated by all. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2015

The hotel itself is good with possibly the best views in Jersey. We had no problems with the room that was up to 4 star standard. The room did lack the little niceties one expects such as bar soap,shower cap etc We used the hotel restaurant on the first night we arrived and what disappointment !.In summary: slow service -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GordonYates
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and apologies that you did not enjoy your meal with us. It is very rare for us to get poor comments regarding the dining experience here at the hotel and we take all reviews seriously and will be discussed with the team. Thank you for your time. Kind regards.

Lincolnshire UK
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We have not stayed at the hotel (so ignore the sleep rating but it was the only way to submit the review -although the rooms look fab!)but always visit for afternoon tea when we are on holiday In Jersey and it never fails to please. Delicious food, excellent attentive service and fabulous views across the bay. A fabulous way to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacquelinecole123
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of our Afternoon Tea which is a very popular event here at the Somerville enjoyed overlooking the beautiful bay of St Aubin. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards.

Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

Nice Hotel, but disappointing room. No value for money of a 4 star hotel: room on the back looking to a wall, very small could not sleep due to permanent noise of hotel infrastructure. No alternative given by the staff, just confirmed the problem. Stayed first & last time in Somerville.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Giorgio H
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, so sorry that you were disappointed with your room and that we were unable to change this for you. Kind regards.

Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We returned again to the Somerville at the beginning of July 15. We were once more delighted with the quality, comfort and atmosphere at the Somerville. At the Tides restaurant first class food and wine were served by friendly knowledgeable staff. In fact, all the staff at the hotel, from the housekeepers to the managers were very friendly and welcoming....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arthur S
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and delighted that we will be seeing you again. Kind regards Somerville team.

439 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (197)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (210)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Classic Inland Room (29)
Viewed
Classic Seaview Room (27)
Viewed
Pool (35)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Superior Garden Suite (36)
Viewed
Superior Seaview Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Aubin
1.3 km away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
883 reviews
0.7 km away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
722 reviews
1.9 km away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St Brelade
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
688 reviews
1.7 km away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#8 of 16 in St Brelade
938 reviews
5.5 km away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestling on the hillside, overlooking the yachting harbour the village of St. Aubin and the bay beyond, the views from the Somerville hotel are breathtaking. The hotel is one of the Island's finest country house hotels and is well know for its warm welcome and excellent reputation with guests appreciating its discreet location and emphasis is on indulgence and style. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Somerville Hotel

Address: Le Mont Du Boulevard, St Aubin, St Brelade JE3 8AD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade > St Aubin
Price Range: $132 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Somerville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerville Hotel St Aubin
Somerville Hotel Jersey
Hotel Jersey Somerville
Somerville St Aubin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Somerville Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Somerville Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The garden rooms are lovely, have a little private garden and terrace, but you are outside the main body of the hotel, lovely in summer.”
 of 5 bubbles michelangelo, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Whilst the lift is out of order choose the first floor if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles tayloryellow, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms which offer a sea view over the beautiful St. Aubin's bay overlooking the harbour & fort which all looks stunning on full tide.”
 of 5 bubbles CliveP595, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Need sea facing for the view and without squeaky floorboards outside”
 of 5 bubbles 566lynnj, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“choose a room with a view over the harbour”
 of 5 bubbles LallieC, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5