We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
See the most recent reviews
Showing 181: English reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2016

The bed was comfy and clean ,the two single beds had dirty linen on them so just used my own.The bathroom was dingy and dirty so they do need to clean a bit more efficently. Otherwise quiet and staff were polite.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry L
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our Okehampton Whiddon Down hotel. Through valuable feedback such as yours, we know that the cleanliness of a room means as much to our guests as it does to us so we do apologise that the standard of cleanliness of your bathroom and the linen did not meet with our high expectations on this occasion. As...

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We recently stayed at this hotel it is very quiet well located to the A30 the staff are very friendly and helpful. It has a restaurant next door called the Hog and Hedge and also has a petrol station with a Costa on the go and a sit down subway well located for Castle Drogo lovely place but the road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bend509
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We strive to provide a positive experience and this why we're happy to hear your found our hotel well located and encountered very friendly, helpful staff members. We’ll be happy to provide your comments to the hotel as this is the best way to help give the best service possible to our guests and we...

cornwall
Reviewed 18 July 2016

three friends visiting for 2 nights so we had a 'triple room' The double bed was ok but the two other beds were absolutely awful!! They were almost like camp beds, the mattress was lumpy and covered with a kind of 'flannelette' sheet. I guess they are aimed for children and not adults. The tv remote control didn't work, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank casCornwall
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had multiple issues during your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us as it is the starting point we use to act on improvements. We have passed on your comments to the hotel and we thank you again for...

Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for only one night, friendly and helpfull staff at the checkin. Rooms are clean and tidy. Bathroom with shower and bath also clean and tidy. Only thing missing is a second chair to sit in. Now one of us has to sit on the bed. The room is big enough for a third bed, so plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maurice L
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're so pleased to hear you found our staff members friendly and helpful along with your accommodation clean and tidy. Please rest assured your feedback enables us to continue with improvements. May we thank you for your helpful comments and we hope to welcome you back to us soon.

cornwall
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Other than a strange smell of wee in the room, it was spotless, very quiet, huge bed ( though it had been made with the duvet opening on the side? Not a good nights sleep as kept getting tangled through the night, turned it round the next night and slept like a log. Brilliant location, didnt hear a sound inside...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank shirleyjones_14
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2016

A very comfortable, clean and tidy Tavelodge. This is the second time we have stayed at Whiddon Down and will go back again. My only gripe is that Wifi should be free to all as it is in most places these days.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank normanm679
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Firstly it's a Travelodge so don't expect too much. Yes it was clean and yes the staff were polite and friendly. And that's it. Nothing else at this Travelodge to comment about. Very basic. The restaurant next door we didn't use because the prices were ridiculously expensive. Nearly a fiver for a bacon sandwich! For evening food and drinks take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. We understand your stay did not strike you with the highest of standards we hope for and we do apologise for this. Feedback is really important to us and detailed comments like yours will help us with improvements. We hope that there will be another occasion to welcome you as our guest and restore...

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2016

It's ideally located for touring if going to Dartmoor or N Devon. I found the car park 'busy' and did wander if I or the next guest would find room to park, although I did. Check-in was fine, and as usual had to give my old address as their system doesn't update your address. Everything was in my room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JackRussell1964
TravelodgeUK, Adele from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Many thanks for providing your detailed feedback with us at our Okehampton Whiddon Down Travelodge. We are so pleased to learn the hotel was an ideal location to suit your needs and your room was clean and fresh. We're sorry to learn of the issues that impacted your stay, please rest assured your comments have been passed to the hotel....

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Handy location 2 minutes from the a 30 with a esso garrage on site with a sub way if ykur into that kind of thing.the travelodge pleasant staff restaurant next door very handy., the room clean and tidy with a very comfortable bed.oh and a pub a little walk into the village.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tdodders
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. It is a real pleasure for us to see our efforts being appreciated by valued guests such as yourself. We strive to provide a positive experience and are happy to see this was the case. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we do hope you will choose to stay with...

Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Travel lodge is very tired and could benefit from an update. Bathroom smelt of damp which made the whole room smell. Everything else was ok for what we wanted. Disappointment was the building not the staff

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 797edwardv
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We wish for our customers to enjoy their hotel experience, so we are sorry to hear that you were not positively impressed by your last stay in our Okehampton Whiddon Down hotel. Please rest assured your feedback enables us to improve the service we offer. May we thank you for...

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okehampton
10.8 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
118 reviews
4.2 km away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
14.5 km away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,105 reviews
3.9 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
441 reviews
8.9 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down

Address: Exeter Road | Merrymeet Junction, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 2QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Price Range: $79 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down Hotel Okehampton
Travel Lodge Okehampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room overlooking the carpark and there was no noise at all.”
 of 5 bubbles Nesto69, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is in a quiet location to start with”
 of 5 bubbles PhotobugsUK, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms at the back possibly quieter away from car park”
 of 5 bubbles margaretc578, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of the lodge away from the car park are a bit quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Mr_Stanhope, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If staying for longer than 1/2 days book wifi for the week, its cheaper.”
 of 5 bubbles Langers90, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5