We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Simonsbath House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Simonsbath House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Simonsbath House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 131: English reviews
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Our walking group spent a weekend here and we were very impressed with the facilities. Comfortable bed rooms, extremely cosy lounge and bar areas plus excellent food and service. We had a warm welcome from Andrew and the whole team. There was great consideration of walkers needs, in providing drying facilities for wet clothes and boots. The location was superb,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rita L
vermouth, Manager at Simonsbath House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you all had some great walks, here on Exmoor. We also look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Reviewed 29 September 2016

Recently we revisited Simonsbath House after a gap of nearly thirty five years and fell in love with it all over again! The food was superb and Andrew and his staff could not have done more to make our visit truly memorable. The setting is legendary and brings a new meaning to the title 'a room with a view'. Superb!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda P
vermouth, General Manager at Simonsbath House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you had a memorable time with us. We look forward to seeing you again one day. Please do not leave it so long.

UK
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Simonsbath House with our walking group. Andrew and his fantastic staff really looked after us. Their help and advice and service was unobtrusive. They clearly know how to look after groups but still treat their guests as individuals - how did they know our names so quickly. The breakfasts were good with plenty of choice. We ate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soil_management
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Last minute decision to stay on Exmoor and was lucky enough to find this hotel. Beautiful setting with lovely walks on the doorstep. Nice to not get in the car to go for a walk. Our bedroom was great, bathroom slightly small and noisy fan which is going to be sorted out. Breakfast was very good. We didn't have dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jojet2014
vermouth, General Manager at Simonsbath House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for the August Bank Holiday 2016. Cottage/Hotel is in the most beautiful locations, peaceful and clean, the air is fresher than anywhere else! The place is beautiful with vintage decorations and amazing details. Rooms are clean and spacious, bright and cozy. Bathroom clean, shampoo, shower gel and body lotion provided and of high quality. Coffee, tea, hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deana991
vermouth, General Manager at Simonsbath House, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. We will certainly look into the shower curtain issue. Hopefully your stay will be longer next time.

Chalford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the Simonsbath during a photo workshop with Image Seen Rooms were large and quite well appointed the only issue was the lack of a/c which resulted in my room being rather warm Breakfast was excellent all freshly cooked to order and the packed lunches also good Overall a good hotel with very helpful staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martinatdreyhouse
vermouth, Manager at Simonsbath House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast and we hope it set you up for a good day for your workshop.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

This is an amazing old building from the 1600. The fireplace has the build date carved in it. The front door had axe marks from an attack. Very interesting place lovely rooms and excellent facilities. The food is amazing both the dinner and breakfast. My wife is saying describe it as warm friendly and welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harrisp6
vermouth, Manager at Simonsbath House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you back here in Simonsbath one day.

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Andy & Louise were wonderful hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was fantastic. Couple that with the beautiful Exmoor scenery. It's ideal for a walking holiday. That's why i keep coming back !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alanrelph
vermouth, Manager at Simonsbath House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was great to see you again and I know we will be seeing you very soon.

gloucestershire
Reviewed 29 July 2016

We stayed here on the 16th of July for one night only, the setting is absolutely breath-taking, unfortunately our room only had a side view but i can imagine if you book a front facing room you would not be disappointed. The hotel has a fascinating history and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We would definitely return, although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank essvana
vermouth, Manager at Simonsbath House, responded to this review

Thank you. We will certainly do our very best to give you a room with a view, next time you and your wife visit us.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016

we stayed in one of the self catering cottages - the spinning wheel, as we had our dog with us the accommodation was excellent, very well fitted out and spotlessly clean the dog was made very welcome and the lady and gentleman running the hotel could not have been more helpful we did not eat at the hotel but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sueknight171
vermouth, Manager at Simonsbath House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the very near future.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simonsbath
14.8 km away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
486 reviews
22.3 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
625 reviews
8.0 km away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
427 reviews
11.7 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
314 reviews
11.8 km away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Exmoor overlooking the Barle Valley Simonsbath House is the ideal place to relax and explore the contrasting scenery of the National Park with its deep wooded combes, heather moors and magnificent coastline. With 10 individually decorated en-suite rooms this 350 year old Country House Hotel offers friendly service, a relaxed atmosphere and comfortable accommodation. The cosy bar and lounge both have log fires and oak paneling, with a charming restaurant reminding of a bygone era. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Simonsbath House

Address: Simonsbath | Exmoor, Simonsbath, Exmoor National Park TA24 7SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Simonsbath
Price Range: $132 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Simonsbath House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS, Book Direct Rooms, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Simonsbath House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Simonsbath House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles endisnigh, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“For a family with small children the ground floor mini flat is ideal.”
 of 5 bubbles C297JCjeand, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a room at the front of the hotel, which had lovely views across Exmoor.”
 of 5 bubbles 771gilliank, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best views from the south side”
 of 5 bubbles 913rital, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Front facing rooms all have a wonderful view”
 of 5 bubbles brendapZ6263EN, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5