We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Highwayman Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sourton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Highwayman Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 188: English reviews
England
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

As so many have said, this is a really interesting place, in particular the galleon bar is really quite amazing. Sadly, we weren't able to sit in the galleon bar as it is reserved for residents. We ate there on a whim on a Sunday, and were disappointed that the menu is limited to old fashioned (ie 1980s) pub fare...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wentworth1
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

I accept your criticisms of the inn and have taken on board your suggestions. I would like to say though that we were actually quite busy on Sunday the 8th and with a lot of food. The reason why we dont do Sunday lunches is twofold really. Firstly, everybody does them and some for little profit just to simply get...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is the second time we have spent an evening here, this time with family. Do not pass without a visit. The owners are very friendly and there is not an inch of the pub that doesn't merit a peek. Love it !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What an amazing and interesting pub. It has so many interesting rooms and nooks and crannies. Ladies must use the ladies loo, it's an experience in itself! We had lunch which was perfectly edible standard pub grub, the puddings were typical but lovely. The landlord and Landlady were friendly and their little dog, Monty, was a real cutie. This is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hippychick1958
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you hippychick 1958. Glad you had a good time. You were a pleasure to have here. Best Wishes and hope to see you again.xxx SallyT

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Recommended as somewhere to park up in our motorhome when we were visiting the area. And enjoys the accolade of the most interesting pub in Britain. It is! Visit when you can. You won't be disappointed. We're already working out when we can come back. It's unique and fascinating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baggyanddebs
Havant, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Highwayman is an inn loaded with curiosities. Staff very friendly and know the area very well so great for information on what to see and do as well as directions :) Food is modestly priced compared to nearby options and you get a warm if not spooky feeling when you walk through the door into to bar.. Not a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cptracker
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for enjoying the inn and your positive comments. Sourton is an interesting area area with lots of good walks and ancient sites to see. Hope to see you again. If you need any further info on the area do email me at the inn.

Okehampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We've just moved to Okehampton, and are so pleased to find this wondeful pub only 5 miles away. We went to the open mike night tonight and had such fun. Bruce is such a lovely chap. Would defiantly recommend the inn to everyone. Top marks!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beightonnick
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for participating in the night. Bruce loved it. I had to go early but heard about it. Some very talented people participated. It is amazing what is hidden in this county. In appreciation of you all Sally.

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

As a novelty pub it's got lots of character. Dark corners, little hideaways, objects to capture your imagination. As a pub, don't think I would visit it again. We dropped in for a quick bite as we were passing. Service very slow, two bars run by one person and you could see people getting frustrated. food expensive for a limited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barrie59
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Sorry you werent happy with us. I was unfortunately away that day unavoidably. Normally two of us run the bar and it is not so slow and it was a rather busy day. As for the cost of the scampi, we do buy in the better quality ranges of products and the scampi is battered not crumbed so it is...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2016

4 of us popped in today for a light lunch. Sandwiches were great. The inside of this pub is so amazing so much to see and the hosts are chatt and friendly. We were also fortunate to see the angel room. Been about 2 years since we last came and glad to see Sally and Bruce still the same. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redbabe999
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you my lovelies. Look forward to seeing you next time. Glad you liked and 'get' the inn.

Teignmouth
Reviewed 10 November 2016

I was one of four that visited on Sunday 6th Nov, yes the pub is interesting and a little different, but you really can't justify charging £5.50 for a small microwaved Pasty even if it is part of a combined meal which we didn't want. We wanted a snack but charging £22 for 4 pasties is nothing short of RIP...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cludasdulac
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Just to put things in context, I have just paid £3.50 for a hot pasty from a reputable company which was served in a paper bag to take away at Clapham Junction. I ate it standing up in the station. There was no seat, no table, no cutlery, condiments or plate. No interesting room, no waiter service, no heating, no...

Reviewed 6 November 2016

Popped in today for a drink and a snack, and the novelty soon wore off when we were charged £11 for 2 small, poor quality, microwaved pasties, which were just about edible. Total came to just over £20 with a few half pints of coke and larger on top, and in addition to this they charged us 50p to pay...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Joe B
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were disappointrd with your experience at the inn. I thank you for your comments and would like to address a few points you have made. Our pasties are combination cooked and are normally served with chips and gravy or mash and vegetables but I believe you didnt want those and we reduced the price accordingly...

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (54)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sourton
2.0 km away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
12.1 km away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
7.1 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
357 reviews
15.7 km away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
442 reviews
1.6 km away
Bearslake Inn
Bearslake Inn
#2 of 27 in Okehampton
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The highwayman is considered England's most unusual inn. It is filled with eclectic curiosities and artefacts housed in a tasteful surreal and atmospheric setting. Nestling on the edge of Dartmoor it provides. A romantic and interesting environment to enjoy simple lunchtime fare or a more sophisticalted evening menu for residents that encompasses lobster and steak dishes. Three four poster rooms with ensuites and more practical cabin boat rooms suitable for cyclists and walkers exploring the area on foot or bike are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Highwayman Inn

Address: Okehampton | Devon, Sourton EX20 4HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sourton
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Highwayman Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Plymouth, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Highwayman Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles FREDBENTON, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Minimal rooms, but all feel as if you're stepping back into time. Wonderful.”
 of 5 bubbles SandyElinca, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are furnished with antiques. The Angel room has a slipper bath”
 of 5 bubbles RogerB85, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“more of a pub then somewhere to stay”
 of 5 bubbles debbiegQ6439SU, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“we didn't actually stay here”
 of 5 bubbles King_Druid, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5