We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

731 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 725: English reviews
Stourport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having been to the self catering apartments for Xmas several times before.and was not disappointed, but sure made up this time. Good POINT.....The apartments have been updated to a nice standard, BUT no blinds at bathroom.Yes they are frosted windows but this is not adequate, because my daughter was having a bath someone knocked the window when the light was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tina P
WoolacombeBayHotel, Front Office Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you again for your much appreciated feedback from your visit in our self-catering apartments over Christmas. We are particularly upset as mentioned in our previous response that you did not enjoy your stay. I have since spoken with our maintenance team with regards to the blinds and should any alternations be made we will of course rectify them as...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

During Xmas/NY Break we decided to make quick family trip to Woolacombe - and got a one night deal on a 2 bedroom suite at the Woolacombe Bay Hotel. Location for this imposing old style hotel is awesome - literally on the UK's Best Beach. Suite was very comfortable - and enjoyed by the Kids. Although we needed to check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gareth B
WoolacombeHotel, Front Office Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your short but enjoyable stay. We hope that we will see you again very soon. Kindest regards Michelle Worsfold

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for one night en route to relatives for Christmas. The hotel was fairly quiet with regard to residential guests but busy with Christmas parties however we had no disturbance at all from the partying which was nice (and somewhat surprising). Our room was spacious if rather oddly laid out. The location of the door & siting of the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeg289
WoolacombeHotel, Front Office Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback from your recent stay at Woolacombe Bay Hotel. We very much appreciate your comments but are disappointed that your experience was not as you expected. We do have so many variations of bedrooms at the hotel and some may be more suitable to others. We fully take on board your feedback in regards to...

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Our Xmas party venue for the second time...ticked all the boxes again Would recommend as a great venue for any business/office party Food very good, staff friendly...drop dead hotel surroundings . Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arlene c
WoolacombeHotel, Front Office Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we are really pleased that you enjoyed the Christmas party and hope that we will see you again next year. Thank you again, Michelle Worsfold

Devon UK
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

My husband and I had booked The Loft for the weekend, we also had our works Christmas party on the Saturday. Our room /apartment didn't disappoint ( we have stayed here before) lots of room with 2 bathrooms, lounge area, study and balcony. Very clean and well equipped. Breakfast was adequate with choice of cereals or cooked breakfast or other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julieDevonUK
WoolacombeHotel, Front Office Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas Party and your stay in the Loft. We are glad that you also enjoyed other aspects of your stay and our facilities. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards Michelle Worsfold

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We were a party of 16 who had booked 2 nights accommodation and a Christmas Party night here, it was fabulous, we were not disappointed. Rooms were beautifully decorated and furnished, we had a see view which was awesome, hotel was very well kept, staff were friendly, Food was excellent the Hotel whilst decorated in a contemporary way had maintained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Speaky2013
WoolacombeHotel, Front Office Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your Christmas Party with us. We are so pleased that you found all aspects of the hotel good and hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Kindest regards Michelle Worsfold

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel which has been fully restored and renovated in a sensitive way. The public rooms are great except for the main dining room which has decor reminiscent of an Edwardian Funeral Parlour! Light, summary colours would be better for a seaside hotel. The bedrooms are varied with some better than others but all are comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelnut3333
WoolacombeHotel, Front Office Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Our rooms are decorated to a particular style of which we love and can cause a varied review but we very much appreciate your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest regards Michelle Worsfold

Marlborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

There are some good points and some bad ones. The good The staff - As many other reviews have said, the staff could not have been more accommodating, cheery, pleasant and helpful. The venue - It's stunning. Positioned on an enormous, clean beach but separated from it by a few acres of their own manicured lawn. The Bay Brasserie -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Golfcricketer
WoolacombeHotel, Front Office Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. We very much appreciate your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed our service and the majority of your stay. With regards to our bedrooms we do have so many variations, shapes and sizes and so we do try and suggest that guests do...

Sutton Coldfield
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

I've been coming to the Woolacombe Bay Hotel for 10 years, my wife 24 years. It never fails to disappoint. We are staying in The Turret which has an amazing view of the panoramic sea. The staff are all charming and the food is of a great quality. All the team go above and beyond to make your stay relaxing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JonMWilson
WoolacombeHotel, Front Office Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It is really lovely to hear that your returning to the hotel year after year and that after all this time we haven't been able to disappoint. I am glad that the team look after you so well and I will make sure they are aware of your kind words. Thank you...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016

The Woolacombe Bay Hotel is highly rated however on my second stay I was disappointed with the room and choice of food offered. I have stayed here before on business, out of season, and was impressed with the price and the room so I wanted to share the good experience with my other half. This time for the price the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anny B
WoolacombeHotel, Front Office Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback from your recent stay. We are extremely disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience in both your bedroom and the food offering during your stay. As you have mentioned had we been aware of your upset with your room we could have moved you to a room that would have been more...

825 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (254)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (91)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (544)
Viewed
Amenities (109)
Viewed
Classic Family Room (41)
Viewed
Din Sands (48)
Viewed
Luxury Sea View Room (30)
Viewed
Pool (26)
Viewed
Potters Hill (53)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Sea View Balcony Double (27)
Viewed
Standard Classic Double (27)
Viewed
The Bay Lido (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)
Viewed
The Loft - Luxury Sea View Suite (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.9 km away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
699 reviews
6.0 km away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,632 reviews
0.6 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
510 reviews
13.3 km away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,073 reviews
4.1 km away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Much of the Hotel has been lovingly restored from the mid 1800's, creating it's unique and tranquil atmosphere. High ceilings, chandeliers and comfortable, quiet lounges are a testament to that era, and where first class modern amenities are required, they have been skilfully incorporated into the existing Woolacombe accommodation. We place high value on our staff. Trained to be attentive yet unobtrusive and to provide the kind of personal service that is so often hard to find. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Address: South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Price Range: $275 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolacombe Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Woolacombe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Bay Woolacombe
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Woolacombe Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Delabole, cornwall United Kingdom
Cardiff, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Woolacombe Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“302 had stunning views”
 of 5 bubbles Speaky2013, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check room before you accept it, ask if any maintenance in progress.”
 of 5 bubbles 339annyb, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles RylandHelen, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view....”
 of 5 bubbles RodolpheP, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are several family rooms and two different layouts”
 of 5 bubbles fersmeare, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay