We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ossaborough House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ossaborough House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 54: English reviews
plymouth
Reviewed 17 June 2016

We had a lovely clean comfortable room overlooking the golf course, the breakfast was well cooked and tasty and the proprietors are very friendly. The house has loads of character and is well maintained. Would definitely recommend this guest house.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank plymouthmarilyn
Oldham
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Stayed here for a couple of nights recently. Wasn't sure what to expect but given our experience we will definitely be going back - it was lovely. It is situated next to the Golden Coast Holiday Park - and (thanks to a local arrangement) anybody staying here has the use of all that park's facilities. There are three garden rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark A
Trevor D, Owner at Ossaborough House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback...we really appreciate knowing how our guests find their stay with us at Ossaborough House. We are pleased that you had a great time and enjoyed staying in our Garden Room , all of which are a very popular choice for our guests. We like to offer everyone a good breakfast with plenty of...

England
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

We spent two nights here in the garden room - clean, comfortable with a lovely view. Excellent breakfast and two lovely hosts. Good off street parking. Located just outside of Woolacombe in a quiet road. Excellent location for exploring this beautiful area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mondaymorning
Aurora, Canada
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Trevor and Rosie are awesome hosts. They make you feel at home from the moment you arrive and are very helpful and accommodating of all requests. The breakfasts are DELICIOUS! The B&B is very clean and has incredible character. The beds are comfortable and they provide tea/coffee in your room which is nice. The location is breathtaking! Located on a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JennySteveJoshuaSydn
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2015

We booked this B&B due to the ratings on trip advisor but we left early disappointed.... The house is down a lane about 2 miles up the hill out of Woolacombe at the side of golden sands holiday village and public house. The host were lovely and the breakfast faultless....but when walking through the hallway and up to the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy S
Trevor D, Owner at Ossaborough House, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at Ossaborough House & would like to respond to your issues. As in our terms & conditions it does state that there are no refunds for early departures unless we can re-let the room.The reason for you leaving early, we were told, was that you had family problems....

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2015

We have just returned home from a week staying here in one of the garden rooms. Very clean, comfortable accommodation and very welcoming hosts. Excellent breakfasts with a good choice and they are happy to accommodate dietary requirements. We are happy to recommend this well run bed and breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris H
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2015

The owners were helpful, kind, thoughtful, friendly and warm - top people! The breakfasts were excellent, plenty of choice, served in a very nice breakfast room. The bedroom was spacious, clean, comfortable with a good view. I felt very happy and relaxed there. The only query I had, I wondered whether the room would be improved with fabric curtains as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fish782
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2015

We decided to stay here to get a feel of the countryside and we did get that. The breakfast was really satisfying and the couple Trevor and Rosie made us feel at home. Just a couple of points, no wifi and even the 3G connection would not work which led to inconvenience in planning out while we stayed there. Adequate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank apellantmani
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2015

It would be impossible to be critical of this B&B. From our first contact with Trevor to our departure, every aspect has been very good indeed. We opted for a "Garden Room" and were very pleased with our accommodation. Large, bright and airy with high quality fittings and an eye to detail that finished it off very well. Very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DanWingrove
Ilfracombe
Reviewed 10 May 2015

A very comfortable stay for a long weekend.Very friendly couple , Ideally located near Woolacombe and close enough to Visit Exmoor. The breakfast was amazing and the hosts very friendly. Loved the garden . All in all a lovely stay for a very reasonable price, highly recommended. We will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nick c

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
2.9 km away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
684 reviews
1.8 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
749 reviews
1.8 km away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
723 reviews
2.6 km away
Sunnymeade Country House
Sunnymeade Country House
#10 of 23 in Woolacombe
57 reviews
3.1 km away
The Smugglers Rest
The Smugglers Rest
#2 of 5 in Mortehoe
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ossaborough House bed & breakfast is a 17th century home from home, family run guest house, with panoramic views overlooking an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The golden sands of Woolacombe Bay, a beautiful Blue Flag beach are but a mile away with the wonders of Exmoor just a further short drive. We have a golf course for the keen golfer and the Tarka trail for cyclists, both within four hundred yards. If you do not feel so active why not enjoy the scenery in full, when choosing one of our newer “garden rooms”. Relax on your own patio whilst sipping your wine, (glasses and corkscrew provided) or if you prefer, move inside to your comfy sofa with the view still to be appreciated. As an alternative, within the house we have rooms with an “older feel”. All are en-suite, have spacious seating areas with comfy sofas. The public areas abound with the “olde world” charms of beams, thick cob walls, gleaming copper and brass. Rosie’s succulent breakfasts are always freshly cooked to order with use of local produce wherever possible, including free range eggs direct from our neighbour’s farm. We serve breakfast in our cosy breakfast room, which boasts a log burner for the colder, winter months. Our guests have always been in raptures over the breakfasts at Ossaborough as can be seen by the ecstatic comments in the guest book. For romantic and other special occasions we can arrange for Flowers, Champagne and Chocolates to be provided as a surprise for your loved one, on your arrival. Over the fourteen very rewarding years that we have been at Ossaborough House we have made many friends with the people who have stayed with us, many of whom return year after year. We have added enjoyment to their holidays and we would love the chance to add enjoyment to yours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ossaborough House

Address: Ossaborough Lane, Woolacombe EX34 7HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Price Range: $60 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Ossaborough House Woolacombe, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ossaborough House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If traveling with kids, ask for the family suite as it has 2 rooms that are adjoined - very convenient!”
 of 5 bubbles JennySteveJoshuaSydn, 3 Sep 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in a "garden room", Lundy.”
 of 5 bubbles DanWingrove, 14 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Garden rooms are excellent and quiet and sunny.”
 of 5 bubbles arthurdenise, 10 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Our sunny garden room with a king size bed was a perfect choice for us.”
 of 5 bubbles 505Butterflygirl7, 2 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Garden rooms have the benefit of their own private patio.”
  • View from our patio.
 of 5 bubbles solaris11, 29 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5