We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Crown Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crown Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 115: English reviews
Start your review of The Crown Inn
 Click to rate
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here a couple of years ago while working locally and found it to be quite good, so I was back this week but we weren't residents. We had lunch here on three occasions, it was brilliant, a great choice of lovely food served by two very pleasant waitresses. We had to work late the one evening so two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael P
Mollymook, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked this pub for 2 days and extended as it was so good. We stayed early January and was greeted by a roaring log fire,room was spectacular,breakfast and evening meals great all complimented by great staff,mine host was an ex Navy Chief who could not do enough for you,his female sidekick was super efficient. Will certainly stay again when we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ken h
Reviewed 1 week ago

Top quality food at very reasonable prices too. Our visit was a delight and what a pleasure to have the ordering process explained clearly upon arrival rather the being left to flounder as is often the case in pubs. The staff were attentive without being pushy. We visited on a quiet Monday lunchtime but will be returning very soon for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank l w
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This wonderful country inn has been beautifully revamped, befitting of its historical setting. A large open fireplace sets the ambience where you can while away the hours in a warm friendly environment and enjoy a drink and something tasty from the menu! Although we didn't stay on this occasion, the accommodation offered is first class and will definitely entice us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen P
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We popped in here for an evening meal and were pleasantly surprised with the decor, cosiness and the friendliness of the place. The menu choices were the best I have seen in a long while too. The staff are hardworking and gave us a warm welcome. For starters we had two portions of cheesy garlic bread to share between the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diane S
Argaka, Cyprus
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Had a 3 night break here.A very friendly quintessentially Dorset village pub. Cosy bar area with roaring log fire and interesting 'priest hole'. Excellent range of local ales and ciders and a very good,reasonably priced wine list. A very good, varied menu, again well priced. We ate here every night and were never disappointed. Every meal was well cooked and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank clara c
Portsmouth England
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We have been staying at a nearby cottage and have visited The Crown for two dinners and a lunch during our 3 night stay. We have found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. Pprtion sizes are generous but there is an option for a smaller serving on many meals. I highly revommend the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank casdix
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Have been there before and had a pleasant experience previously. Went on Saturday and ordered the fish, unfortunately it tasted slightly off. In my opinion this isn't really a big deal. It happens sometimes with fish. When the waitress was approached quietly to try and get it resolved, she was rude and categorically stated there nothing wrong with the fish....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cweco
Gemma H, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review that we have both been expecting after your visit with us on Saturday. I find it particularly frustrating as we did everything we could on the day to please you, to include a full refund of your faultless meal and quite clearly our efforts went unappreciated. You ordered our salmon dish, pan fried with lemon...

Dorset
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We had an evening meal at the crow. The starters were tasty, but portions very large and only one of us cleared his plate. We ordered two Sirloin Steak main courses. They were huge steaks, but rather chewy, and the plain steak was peppery. The Crown burger was very nice, but again too much for me. Service was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ROKALO
Reviewed 21 October 2016

I stayed here on my own for one night as I was working in the area, the staff were really friendly, food lovely and the room I stayed in was large, comfortable and had all I needed. I needed to leave before breakfast so staff offered to make a packed lunch for me to take away with me. Would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michelle W

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturminster Newton
16.1 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
374 reviews
9.6 km away
BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel
19.2 km away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
The Fiddleford Inn
The Fiddleford Inn
#3 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
42 reviews
12.9 km away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
176 reviews
9.0 km away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A thatched 16th century traditional country inn located in the picturesque village of Marnhull & right in the heart of Thomas Hardy country! Steeped in history, with beautiful Dorset scenery, a warm welcoming atmosphere, luxury accommodation, award winning Dorset brewed Hall & Woodhouse Badger ales & great home cooked food served all day! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: Crown Road | Marnhull, Sturminster Newton DT10 1LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sturminster Newton
Price Range: $131 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
somerset
over a year ago
Ross on Wye
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No 1 is the room to go for”
 of 5 bubbles 770kenh, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms face onto a fairly quiet country road but our room was double glazed so the noise was minimum,”
 of 5 bubbles saundersa32, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a fan on hot nights.”
 of 5 bubbles edsjab, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seem good - but beware of road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles RedCompliance11, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“Not applicable in my case”
 of 5 bubbles thomasw408, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5