We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Caledonian Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Caledonian Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Caledonian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 119: English reviews
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2016

For a golf trip, we need 3 things. A clean and comfortable room, a hearty breakfast and a bar at the end of the day. The rooms were tired and in need of redecorating as does the stairwell (there is no lift) but the bed was comfortable and the shower worked fine. The breakfast was distinctly average. The bar closed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterbrooksimaging
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time out to write your review of our hotel. I'm disappointed to hear our hotel wasn't up to your standards. If you would like to discuss further please call me on 01333 424101. Lauren Turnbull Asst Manager

Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Had another enjoyable stay at the hotel. We are a party of 22, predominately golfers. Sharon is a terrific help with helping organise golf and transport,and always makes sure things are running smoothly. This is our sixth time at "The Cally", and we are always treated well by the staff, who always greet you with a smile on their faces....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Calum64
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Calum64 for your wonderful review. Its a pleasure as always, We can't wait to see all the guy next year. Lauren

Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Yet again Sharon and her team have looked after our party of 22 golfers with aplomb. My room was very clean, with a very comfy king sized bed. The bathroom is basic but clean with lovely white fluffy towels. The food is excellent with a wide range available. I can personally recommend the haggis bites with a peppercorn sauce and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris3249
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Chris3249, So glad you had another great stay with us, we must be doing something right if you all keep coming back. We are all looking forward to seeing all you guys next year. Lauren

Rijswijk.
Reviewed 2 June 2016

We have been coming now to this hotel for the last 18 years. Its ideal for playing golf round and about Fife. The food and staff are great, looking after eleven golfers is not so easy if they are not playing good. Sharon and Jim do a real good job in running the hotel, and the staff are always trying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V5503PFas
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank you for taking the time to review us, we always appreciate all feedback and always take on board guests comments and how we can improve. I will of course pass on the review. We hope this wont be the last time you visit us. You can always give us a call on 01333424101 we will be more...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Poor service. Rooms worn out and uncomfortable. Food nice if you get a decent chef . Varies throughout the week. Can't think of any positives. Definitely will not be returning. Wait far too long to be served.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Gordon C. Thanks for taking time to review us. If there is anything else you would like to discuss please call me direct on 01333 4242101. Thank You Lauren Turnbull Asst Manager

Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Visited on Saturday after being a customer at least twice a week for the past 8 months. I was about to book the function room for a family celebration therefore am so glad this event occurred. Was served food for my child that was not cooked - complained to 3 different staff members to have nothing done. Our dinner plates...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kelly G, I am sorry you were not happy with your last visit. There was an incident on Saturday as explained at the time, this was the priority. This incident caused a shortage on staff, due to the first aider attending the incident. You are right, the ice cream was left of the order by mistake, I can only...

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Living local we often eat here. Food is always lovely, well presented and hot. However...recently the service has been poor and we waited ages on our food. On recent breakfast visits we never got our coffee until after we had finished our food and only when we chased someone down to ask. Toast and preserves were not served until we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindahendrylennen
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi lindahendrylennen, Thank you for bringing your recent visit to my attention. Im very sorry to hear that you wont be returning soon. If you would like, you can call on 01333 424101 to further discuss your visit. Lauren Turnbull Asst Manager

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Went to this hotel for lunch on Sunday which was a bank holiday weekend.I have been here before and enjoyed it but this time it was awful.When we went in the table we choose it was covered in dirty dishes un-eaten food and drink all over the table.I asked a waitress if she could clean the table but was told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seafront1953
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, I'm sorry to hear you had a poor visit with us. First of all let me apologise for the unpleasant experience you had with us. I will certainly discuss your review with all our staff that was working over the busy bank holiday weekend and hopefully we can learn a few things so it doesn't happen again. Hope this...

Levenmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Visited on Friday around 5.30pm with my husband, it was very busy but managed to get a table as another couple was just leaving. Wanted steak pie for myself but there wasn't any left, so I ordered scampi for me & fish & chips for my husband. Ten minutes later the food arrived, I am no chef but the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there sorry for the delay in replying, I am really sorry to hear your recent visit wasn't up to our usual standards of food or service, I sincerely apologise. I will certainly discuss the review with all our staff to see Where we went wrong and how to avid this happening again. I hope this hasn't deterred you from...

Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed in room 15 , clean but very tired decor was stated all rooms had TV which ours did only it didn't work kept losing signal , ate in restaurant which was very busy and food was really good. There is very little else in leven and a shortage of places to eat such a shame as it has...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janette s
sharon e, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Janette s, Please accept our apologies that your recent stay was not up to our usual standards. Thank you for your lovely feedback on the restaurant service. If you would like to discuss this further, please call me direct on the number below. 01333 424101 Emma Sharon Ednie

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leven
2.9 km away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
454 reviews
9.6 km away
Premier Inn Glenrothes Hotel
10.7 km away
Golden Acorn Hotel
Golden Acorn Hotel
#5 of 9 in Glenrothes
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
21.5 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 19 in St Andrews
2,778 reviews
19.2 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Andrews
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Address: 81 High Street, Leven, Levenmouth KY8 4NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Levenmouth > Leven
Price Range: $70 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Leven
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Caledonian Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel was very quiet so any of the rooms would have been acceptable.”
 of 5 bubbles HazelA428, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“None don't go!”
 of 5 bubbles wishbonemusic, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles andypW576MD, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“first floor good”
 of 5 bubbles dhardie777, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are well used, basic amenities a bath shower ( a rare occurrence these days) the back is quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Bigsigh63, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay