We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Victoria Road, Forres IV36 3BN Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$118
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
Expedia.com
US$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
TravelocityUS$105
PricelineUS$118
Agoda.comUS$119
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (75)
Dining (29)
Room & Suite (12)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 3 hotels in Forres
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Ramnee Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Forres, offering a historic environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. Ramnee Hotel is a historic hotel offering flat screen TVs and free wi-fi. The hotel features room service. Plus, guests can enjoy free breakfast, which has made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Forres. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available. While staying at Ramnee Hotel, visitors can check out Forres War Memorial (0.8 mi), which is a popular Forres attraction. If you’re looking for a pub, consider a visit to Mosset Tavern, The Red Lion, or The Carisbrooke, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Ramnee Hotel. Looking to explore? Then look no further than The Nelson Tower (1.0 mi), Forres Mechanics FC (0.5 mi), and Sueno's stone (1.1 mi), which are some popul
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Newspaper
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
326Reviews2Q+A61Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 139
  • 109
  • 47
  • 16
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
MrConrad wrote a review 2 Oct
London, United Kingdom2 contributions3 helpful votes
A very nice stay at this friendly hotel, the staff so welcoming, the rooms clean and spacious. The food was always high quality, and I enjoyed my meals in the attractive landscaped grounds of the hotel. Overall a very pleasant trip.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Manager, General Manager at Ramnee Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you so much for your kind review. We do value guest feedback and are pleased our staff made you feel welcome and delivered quality food. We do take care of the grounds and it is possibly what marks us out from other places in the area. Do come again soon and our staff will be happy to welcome you back to Forres.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nealandrewsuk wrote a review Sep 2022
London, United Kingdom8 contributions17 helpful votes
My family stayed here for 3 days and I have to say I was impressed. The ambience is great. The staff were immensely helpful with my picky children- nothing was too much trouble. I stayed here on business early this year, in june, and I have to say the food has really stepped up a notch. I requested our rooms be made up daily and they replaced everything perfectly every time. One of the nights was quite quiet when dining- but we loved it. One night was exceptionally busy and we thought staff handled it really well. Some may feel the decor is a bit dated but that's why we loved it because it felt more in keeping with the exterior- who doesn't want a four poster bed in a castle style hotel?! The surroundings and location was great. We love the outdoors. We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Manager, General Manager at Ramnee Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. Our position with far-reaching views to Findhorn Bay and the Culbin forest, means the restaurant is a lovely place to dine and switch off. We believe in old-fashioned hospitality, anticipating guest needs and aiming to serve hot tasty food. There is a new winter menu coming but I am glad you enjoyed the summer menu, with a children's menu as well, since it means families can feel secure in coming to stay here too. Our refurbishments continue and we do have heritage furniture, some original, some reproduction which could be classed as dated, (mock antique!) but as you say, everything does fit here and couples appreciate that not much has changed. We look forward to seeing you on another occasion.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Owen G wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
We love this hotel! It has the most beautiful grounds in the area and the kids live to run around. The staff are very friendly and the food is yummy. We find the prices very reasonable and the service to be quite efficient.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Manager, General Manager at Ramnee Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. We do appreciate your feedback and our fresh Isle of Mull mussels are proving to be a real hit! We hope to be of service again sometime.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
elspeth_stewart wrote a review Sep 2022
Forres, United Kingdom51 contributions40 helpful votes
Really? Ate here as a local with friends and would expect much better for the prices charged. Extremely average and unimaginative, though with lovely staff. I'm sorry to say that I can see why it was very quiet on a Friday night. Could do so much better for potentially such a nice place to go. I hate to give a local place a poor review and the service was lovely, but unfortunately the food was just not what I would have expected.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Manager, General Manager at Ramnee Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
We are sorry the menu was not to your liking. After some changes in the kitchen, we are presently drafting a new Winter menu. We had a beautiful local special of Mussels starter in White wine and garlic sauce along with our usual dishes and our famous Sirloin steaks as always cooked to perfection. We didn't have many residents on Friday which is why it wasn't that full. We regularly do funeral wakes, celebrations and weddings up to 96, but with the cost of living issue, we cannot force people to eat out!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tom1116 wrote a review Sep 2022
Forres, United Kingdom7 contributions6 helpful votes
Booked a table for 3 for 630pm. Dining area totally empty. Sat for 45 minutes before asking if the chef was even on shift. Easy order, 2 hunters chicken and one steak. After another 15 minutes our order arrived. Chicken dish comprised of raw chicken wrapped in bacon, 3 boiled tatties, with salad. £17.95 wtf. Steak was ok. Will not be going back again. How can you get that so wrong with nobody else in. Ridiculous it really is. Gone right down hill😡🤬
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Manager, General Manager at Ramnee Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
We have noted this review and are investigating.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rowidaho wrote a review Sep 2022
Boise, Idaho88 contributions26 helpful votes
What a delight to be referred to this charming hotel. Staff is warm and accommodating. Room was large and comfortable. Quiet! Dinner was surprisingly good. I would highly recommend this place. We feel lucky to have found it!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Sherwood, Owner at Ramnee Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We aim to provide a quality service in this stunning quiet location and since the pandemic we have been gradually rebuilding. Although we have a new staff we are delighted with their progress and I am pleased you found every aspect of our operation to be first class. Do not hesitate to come again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angus wrote a review Sep 2022
Wick, United Kingdom71 contributions51 helpful votes
We had a lovely warm welcome from staff. We couldn’t book the room we wanted so made do with classic which was clean but small. We booked this hotel because it was dog friendly. However was shocked to discover the bar was not dog friendly. This made us feel so disappointed as most dog friendly hotels will allow you to eat in the bar not the dinning area, which is very understandable. We were asked to use a side room that was nicely made up for us. The chief even made up a special meal for our dog which went beyond our expectations. However hotels please don’t advertise a dog friendly hotel but then single out the dog families to not be able to sit and enjoy a drink in the bar. We are a very sociable couple.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don’t take the basic classic
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Manager, General Manager at Ramnee Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback. We very carefully do not advertise as dog-friendly but we take pets for an additional £10 per pet per stay. We are happy to make up a pet table in the residents lounge however. We take on board your comments and will make sure the website is even clearer.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Frenchie-lains wrote a review Jul 2022
Horsham, United Kingdom148 contributions61 helpful votes
I have nothing bad to say regarding this hotel. The staff where really friendly and helpful, especially in the bar and restaurant where we had a nice meal. However we where there three nights and no one made our bed or replaced our cups in the bedroom. I don’t require clean towels every day but do expect a clean cup daily so I can have tea in my room. The rooms are dated and the bathroom adequate but simple with shower gel and hand wash only. Was happy enough but can only give three stars as I think it is adequate with character.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Good parking and good location for looking round the area.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Sherwood, Owner at Ramnee Hotel
Responded 2 Jul 2022
We are so pleased you had a good stay with us and enjoyed especially our new menu crafted by Head Chef George. Housekeeping within the room is on request, not automatic and we explain this at checkin. Otherwise everything is delivered to the door. For daily cups we would suggest a supply or again at the door within housekeeping hours, or telephoning reception. Nothing is too much trouble for us and please we urge all guests to let us make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yvonne S wrote a review May 2022
13 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed for one night, after a lovely trip around Scotland. We were greeted by Kelly, receptionist, waitress, bar tender and all round friendly, helpful and person. The hotel is stunning, lots of original features, homely, clean and spacious. Our room was lovely, spotlessly clean and fresh, beds were comfy and the shower was powerful. We had a delicious evening meal (served by Kelly) compliments to the Chef, absolutely amazing food. Then our freshly cooked breakfast this morning was delicious and served on hot plates. The hotel is situated on the main road, but is set back & is in a lovely and quiet setting, with a beautiful garden full of sweet smelling plants. We definitely recommend that you stay here in this amazing hotel, as we will be again, without a doubt.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: A large carpark out the front. Not far from the main area of the town, within walking...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Sherwood, Owner at Ramnee Hotel
Responded 15 May 2022
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. Coming out of the pandemic has been challenging but our staff genuinely care about our guests and will always attend to issues for you to enhance your stay. We have one evening menu but it fuses bar food and fine dining in one go, since we are a small hotel. We are lucky to have actually three dining areas for evening meals! Do come back again and we will be delighted to look after you once again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alison D wrote a review Apr 2022
East Kilbride, United Kingdom21 contributions8 helpful votes
Visited the Ramnee today for lunch, the food was served lovely and hot and tasted fantastic, we have visited a few times and have never been disappointed. We wish them a good season (not that busy we can't get a table though !)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Sherwood, Owner at Ramnee Hotel
Responded 24 Apr 2022
Thank you for your feedback. The most important to us, is you’ve never been disappointed! After the pandemic we are regrouping and are delighted our staff are learning their craft and gaining confidence by the day. Do come back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$126 - US$163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ramnee hotel forres
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandMorayForres
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ramnee Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Ramnee Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Sueno's Stone (0.4 km), The Nelson Tower (0.3 km), and The Falconer Museum (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ramnee Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Ramnee Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ramnee Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ramnee Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mosset Tavern, Franklin's Restaurant at Cluny Bank, and The Red Lion.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ramnee Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Ramnee Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Ramnee Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Ramnee Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Tolbooth (0.3 km).