We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hamnavoe Hostel and Apartments

Save
Share
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (9)
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good14%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible5%
24 Sep 2016
“Cycle trip on orkney”
16 Aug 2015
“quiet, comfy and fully equipped”
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Hamnavoe Hostel and Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
22
5
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
22
5
1
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed here for one night early Autumn 2011 on our trip through Scotland. The hostel itself is in a convenient location to catch the ferry at Stromness, this is one reason we chose this one on our last night in the Shetlands. The owner...More

Thank J2012UK
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I thought it was great - really welcoming and allowed me to make myself at home. Granted, it helped that it's pretty quiet at the moment in terms of tourists but I really liked the place, great views out over the water from the kitchen...More

1  Thank wonderstevie
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Didn't have any problems here, stayed for a long weekend, all rooms spotlessly clean, kitchen with all the facilities, and a rest room with tv, great. It isn't a 5 star hotel, but neither is the price, this is cheap by Orkney standards. Stayed in...More

1  Thank dairsieman
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The place was not very clean, had to clean out drain and not as advertised. Manager unhelpful and did not fulfill conditions relating to rental, but was however happy to take the money. For example drier was broken and accomodation so limited in layout and...More

Thank 61travelled
Response from HamnavoeOrkney, Owner at Hamnavoe Hostel and ApartmentsResponded 3 September 2012

This review does not belong on trip advisor. This "guest" was housed in our apartment as a tenant not as a traveller. Unfortunately we are given guidelines by trip advisor that, should we choose to ignore, would allow me to attach a scripted account of...More

Reviewed 23 July 2012

Promoted as 'The only Visit Scotland 4 star graded hostel on mainland Orkney'. When my partner called visit scotland to enquire he was informed that this hostel is not even registered with them! I'll leave it for your readers to decide what sort of establishment...More

4  Thank JJA A
Response from HamnavoeOrkney, Owner at Hamnavoe Hostel and ApartmentsResponded 31 July 2012

Firstly I would like to thank the reviewer for pointing out that we have no registration with Visit Scotland. We cancelled our quality assurance grading for our Apartments and it would appear, inadvertantly cancelled for the hostel. As of today (30.07.12) this has been reactivated...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Price range
US$19 - US$38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms
6
Location
United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (9)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hamnavoe Hostel and Apartments staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"If you have one fof the front facing rooms there are some amazing views"
Read review
"Room 3 was great for couples, private with own bathroom."
Read review
"don't get the first floor apartment with young children - stick to the ground floor"
Read review
"The en-suite room was good value at an extra £2 per head!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing