We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crieff
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 220: English reviews
Start your review of Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me my husband and the dog all stayed in a Kata for 2nights. The Kata was surprisingly bigger than I imagined. It had basic supplys for cooking and heating. Being February it was very cold so we spent a lot of our night maintenaning the log burner and drinking wine....im not Complaining. The toilet facilities up the top of campsites...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Mooham
CrofterAndrew, Owner at Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping, responded to this review

Hi Mrs_Mooham, Great to hear from you! I'm glad you had such a good time in the Kata and managed to keep nice and cosy despite the February chill. Great top tip, as you found torches are essential as we try to keep light pollution to a minimum here. Hope you come back and see us again soon. Amanda (Croft...

glasgow
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed with our 4 and 2 year olds and baby Sunday and Monday nights. arrived at 1740 on the Sunday and everyone away but key left quite clearly for us to find at reception. someone did check in with us the next afternoon to check all was okay. we chose kata 5 so we could be right next to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flickxGlasgow
CrofterAndrew, Owner at Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping, responded to this review

Great to hear that you and your family enjoyed staying in one of our Kata's. As you found out Kata 5 isn't the most romantic, but we built it with access for families and less mobile people in mind. I'm sorry to hear that the cleanliness wasn't up to our usual high standards, I've passed these comments along with the...

Kinloss, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were lucky enough to be the first occupants of the newly finished Katas 3 and we were so thankful. Beautifully finished inside with the eco toilet in the outhouse. The Katas was right next to a stream with a rope swing, camp fire and seating area all perfect for the 3 young children in our group to play close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
CrofterAndrew, Owner at Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping, responded to this review

Hi Fiona, thanks for the review and for being the first to sleep in Kata 3. The kids seemed so excited when they checked in, I glad they (and the adults) had such a good time. Look forward to seeing you all again soon. Amanda (Croft Communications)

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Comrie Croft was a perfect venue for our surprise 70th birthday party. The barn was beautifully lit and warm and the fire pit in the courtyard was very welcoming for our guests as they arrived. The staff were incredibly helpful to work with and ensured that at every step of the way we were happy with the organisation. They worked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank becksandtim
CrofterAndrew, Owner at Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to write us as review. It looked like an awesome party, lots of sore heads in the morning I'm sure. Ellen (our events coordinator) will be delighted to hear it went well. We all enjoyed being part of the surprise. Hope to see you all back at the Croft soon. Amanda (Front of House).

Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We were invited to a wedding and the Hostel had been privatized for the occasion. Everything was perfect and very convenient to host many people as well as to dine and party in the barn area. The area is very beautiful and short walks from the hostel give access to nice views of the region. Only (small) drawback, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simon t
CrofterAndrew, Owner at Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Simon, it's always nice to hear that guests have enjoyed their time at Comrie Croft. I'm sorry you found the rooms too hot. I spoke with our maintenance team about it, with the temperatures outside being so variable at the moment they have struggled to get the ideal balance. We have turned the thermostat down a...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Totally rundown, dirty, freezing accommodation. Hired for the weekend, arrived Friday pm, no heating on for such a huge place. Took until Sunday to heat up. The rooms were very basic but the whole place needs an overhaul. The floors were filthy, sticky and really didn't want to take shoes off. Damp on walls. The only good thing was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janice h
CrofterAndrew, Owner at Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping, responded to this review

Hi Janice, I'm sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay at Combruith. We pride ourselves on having clean and cosy accommodation, something has obviously gone wrong. I'd appreciate it if you could contact me directly so we can talk through the issues. My email is amanda@comriecroft.com. Thanks, Amanda (Front of House)

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend stayed in one of the newer woodland Katas for a couple of nights at the beginning of January. From arrival all the staff were extremely friendly and approachable. We arrived while it was still daylight so was easy finding the Kata as they are all clearly signposted. The Kata itself was brilliant. Clean and tidy with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David H
CrofterAndrew, Owner at Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping, responded to this review

Great to hear from you David. Martin and Daniel (our Kata building team) will be delighted to know you enjoyed the Kata and that it kept you cosy. Hopefully we'll see you back here soon. Amanda (Front of House)

Newburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Arrived in the dark and having never been before was having trouble finding our Kata! Luckily remembered our torches and head torches(a must!) Asked a passing fellow camper who put down his water carrier and took us right up to our Kata (Thank you James) Fire had been lit for us (thank you so much) and the inside of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trudmeister
CrofterAndrew, Owner at Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping, responded to this review

Sounds like you had the perfect weekend, thanks for taking time to write us as review. I'm sorry to hear you had trouble finding your Kata, should you have any problems in the future the phone number for our on-call staff member is on all the reception doors, they'll be happy to help you. Glad to hear you kept warm...

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016

I was here recently for a Wedding in August and previously for Duke of Edinburgh expeditions (great for Bronze award kids). Every time i have stayed here it has been absolutely fantastic, from the helpfulness of the staff to the food in the cafe, even the mountain biking routes are very well maintained (i highly recommend giving them a go)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will M
CrofterAndrew, Owner at Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping, responded to this review

Sounds like you've experienced almost every part of Comrie Croft. A kata next time? Thank you for your comments, we love to hear that people enjoy their time here. The barn is an amazing space and as you've seen yourself with a little hard work it can look awesome. I'm intrigued by the intense rounders game, maybe you could teach...

Southbank
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for a weekend in November for some dear friends who were getting married in the local church. A whole bunch of us wedding guests stayed here occupying most of the rooms ranging from shared dorms to family rooms. I stayed in a dorm which was standard backpacker/hostel quality (a bit of a struggle for me however good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
CrofterAndrew, Owner at Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking time to write us a review. Sounds like your friend had a great wedding and you enjoyed yourself too. It's amazing what a few fairy lights can do to make a party go with a swing. Hope to see you back here soon. Amanda (front of house)

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
5.8 km away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
3.1 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Comrie
209 reviews
6.6 km away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
18.5 km away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
359 reviews
21.6 km away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Comrie Croft, the friendly wee farm on the edge of the Highlands. We offer great value in the great outdoors! Stay in the farmstead with private ensuite rooms and the friendly camaraderie of a hostel. Or experience natural camping with access to hot showers and facilities: bring your own tent or hire a Swedish kata with a bed and wood stove to keep it cosy all year round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping

Address: Comrie Road | Braincroft, Crieff PH7 4JZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Price Range: $28 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Comrie Croft Eco Hostel And Camping
Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping Hotel Crieff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are quiet, it comes down to preference really.”
 of 5 bubbles willm500, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Campsite for privacy, farmhouse and steading for comfort.”
 of 5 bubbles carrie_winger, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I scored 5 for rooms, but have not stayed at the hostel, only camped, but the pitches are great.”
 of 5 bubbles KerstinW589, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“top views from the high meadow pitches, arrive earlier to get a spot at the front.”
 of 5 bubbles hanadrobgaw, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All tent locations fab, forest quieter - katas located here also. Cars allowed to tent destinations for loading/unloading only.”
 of 5 bubbles Z3234JLleet, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5