We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
On Loch Earn, St. Fillans PH6 2NF Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (368)
Panoramas (49)
Room & Suite (196)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 08/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Achray House
Updated 08/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#1 of 2 hotels in St. Fillans
Travellers' Choice
With picturesque views over Loch Earn to the hills beyond, Achray House is set in the peaceful village of St Fillans in Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park. Boasting 9 well-appointed bedrooms which feature; large flat-screen LG Smart TVs with 400+ SKY channels incl SkySport, dùsal bedding made in Fife, Scotland with both down & hypoallergenic alternatives available, Arran Aromatics toiletries, tea/coffee-making facilities, central heating, radio-alarm, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Free high-speed internet (dedicated fibre to the house) is also featured in each room and around the main house. Should you require, we also have 2 newly renovated garden rooms which are pet friendly and 1 self-catering lodge situated behind the house. Your stay will conclude with a locally sourced, AA awarded Gold Star breakfast which you may choose from our menu on the day. Achray House is home to 2 AA rosette Lochview Restaurant, with fabulous Loch Earn views, provides an intimate setting for a fine dining dinner or you may also enjoy something a little more causal. From your apéritif upon arrival to coffee and a last digestif before you depart, we are sure you will enjoy every moment of the genuine, Scottish hospitality that we pride ourselves in. On Sundays we serve traditional Sunday Roasts with seating times between 12-3pm. The bar can be seen to have a selection of malt whiskies, spirits, craft ales and a fantastic wine selection, which you can delight-in any time of the day in the Conservatory or Lounges. Whether you’re planning a meeting or conference, wedding or special occasion, our experienced team will be on hand to answer any questions. Within the area you can enjoy plenty of scenic walks, a round of golf in St Fillans or within an hour’s drive. Fishing and water sports is another possibility on Loch Earn, as well as guided walks upon request. This is just a small selection of what this part of Scotland has to offer – visit us to find out for yourself…
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Books, DVDs, music for children
Free shuttle or taxi services
Banquet room
Electric vehicle charging station
Car park
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Horseback riding
Water sport equipment rentals
Archery offsite
Bicycle tours
Canoeing offsite
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Neck massage
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Bay View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch, Finnish and 2 more
1106Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 838
  • 207
  • 39
  • 16
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
CakeTime wrote a review 26 Oct
Slyne, United Kingdom120 contributions46 helpful votes
We booked a dog friendly room direct via the website, the Doine or Dochart were grouped together so we assumed they would be the same. Unfortunately when we saw the room it wasn't as expected and it seems the new up to date bathroom on the photos must be the Doine bathroom as the one in Dochart was outdated and dirty in places. The decorating wasn't of a great standard. On checking in we arrived in reception but there was no one present to check us in so we had to wait. We had the same on check out. We paid extra for a Loch view but unfortunately this is beyond the car park so primarily you have a view of the car park then the Loch in the background. Breakfast was OK. We were only offered one drink on sitting down and we had to request milk, sugar and condiments. The hotel lacked bins outside even though it is dog friendly, which wasn't convenient when taking your dog out to go to the toilet. Positives were the bed was comfy and the coffee machine in the bedroom was good.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
ewan m wrote a review 20 Oct
1 contribution
Popped in at the last minute for dinner, Made space for us and were very welcoming. Owner and staff were great. Fantastic food and wine selection. Great views over Loch Earn. Would reccomended and return anytime.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
aiu05109 wrote a review 8 Oct
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We visited the Achray Hotel for dinner whilst on a short break to St Fillans. It is a lovely restaurant, the food & service was great & the views are just stunning. Would definitely recommend this place to others.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Dibdabbidbad86 wrote a review Sep 2021
Glasgow, United Kingdom65 contributions64 helpful votes
We travelled an hour both ways from Taymouth for what was meant to be our best meal of our holiday and I have to say this was entirely regrettable. A few niggles I could've overlooked- lack of ambience/the very casual conservatory with cheap paper napkins- had the food been remotely intriguing, seasoned or edible (in the case of the coley-which I left after a few bites). The website boasts two AA rosettes and 'a culinary experience offering exceptional food', which normally is a good indicator of the standard you would expect... this was far from our experience. Although fresh ingredients are used, all dishes completely lacked flavour or basic salt and pepper - which were on the table if you want to attempt a rescue. The food comes well presented but definitely a case of style over substance here and only leaves me to presume the chefs who earned the high praise/good reviews have since left which is a real shame. The saving grace was the pork with cottage cheese starter which did not sound that enticing but was the only stand out dish of the night. Upon arrival we were seated in the conservatory. I booked 3 weeks in advance but maybe made the wrong assumption the conservatory would be for casual dining, lunches/walk-ins and we would be seated in the adjoining restaurant for our dinner booking. Menu options and prices are the same in each room despite there being an obvious difference in table settings. No matter-until guests dining with a dog arrived and were seated across. I asked the staff politely to be moved as I'm allergic (I also don't enjoy eating beside animals no matter how well behaved) and was told they would try find a table next door but they were 'very busy' and they are a dog friendly hotel. This did make me double check the website to see if I had missed this when looking at the Eat section or when I booked. No-but you will find it hidden in terms & conditions which states dogs are not allowed in the restaurant room. I feel this is definitely a huge oversight by the hotel and this should be advertised clearly on all pages as I will not be the only guest who doesn't want to eat a meal alongside animals. Thankfully we were moved-to a fairly empty room- but it did seem as if I was being a bit of a difficult customer. I've worked in hospitality for many years so am always respectful/appreciative of how extremely hard staff work especially in these trying times. Apart from that I have no gripes with service, both waiters were polite and handled my requests with grace. I left (still hungry and disappointed) with an hours drive but still a 10% gratuity for the waiting staff. I hate leaving negative reviews but feel this one is warranted for a restaurant boasting 2 rosettes.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Response from Ryan McCutcheon, Owner at Achray House
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello, thank you for your detailed account of your experience with us at Achray House. I'm very disappointed to read your thoughts and would like to apologise you left feeling hungry. I would be very grateful if we could discuss these matters directly. Would you be so kind as to email my colleague on lyndsay@achrayhouse.com so I can respond to your email please?
Read more
Carmen2294621 wrote a review Aug 2021
United States73 contributions16 helpful votes
We had a relaxing dinner in the restaurant, overlooking Loch Earn, which was beautiful in the evening sun. The starters were excellent, but the main courses had an odd selection of vegetables-orange doused Chinese cabbage with the pollock and a watery mixture of vegetables under the salmon. We enjoyed the chocolate caramel tart for dessert.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Lovely spot by the Loch
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
US$85 - US$161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
the achray house hotel st. fillans, achray hotel st fillans
United KingdomScotlandPerth and KinrossSt. Fillans
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Achray House
Which popular attractions are close to Achray House?
Nearby attractions include St Fillans Village Store (0.5 km), The Four Seasons by Rob Mulholland (0.2 km), and Riverside Garden Centre & Art Gallery (7.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Achray House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Achray House?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Achray House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Achray House?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Achray House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lochview Restaurant at Achray House, Nutritious & Delicious, and Seasons View.
Is Achray House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of St. Fillans.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Achray House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Dutch, Hungarian, Swedish, and Finnish.
Are there any historical sites close to Achray House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Glenturret Distillery (14.1 km), Cultybraggan Camp (8.8 km), and Killin Railway Viaduct (14.4 km).
Does Achray House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Achray House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.