We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Morag's Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Morag\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 295: English reviews
Start your review of Morag's Lodge
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I stayed here with my partner whilst we completed the South Loch Ness trail. Not having stayed in a hostel before I was unsure what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are basic but clean. With pently of plug points etc. The room I stayed in had an on suite bathroom and it was possible to rent out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jered G
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent 2 nights in Morag's Lodge with a tour of Haggis Adventures. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm and were really glad about our ensuite bathroom. The bathroom was really clean and especially the shower was great. In contrast to other Hostels we stayed in, there were plugs on every bed so no need to fight over plugs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saskia_dr
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at Morag's Lodge for 2 nights as part of the Haggis Adventures 5 day tour. Check in and out was easy as, the rooms and ensuite bathrooms were very clean. Also dinner and breakfast were great and really well priced. Staff were friendly, and a lot of fun to hang out with in the bar at the end...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mo S
Claire C, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review! We are delighted to hear that you had an awesome time with us. We take pride in our standards of cleanliness & friendliness and are very happy that you enjoyed hanging out with us - we look forward to welcoming you back some day!

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed in Morag's Lodge for two nights with my friend. We both had a great time there. I love the peaceful and cosy atmosphere there, especially after a long day tour outside. It was enjoyable experience, no matter dancing on the table in the bar or curling up on sofa chatting with friends.The Intrenet is not very steady. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky L
Claire C, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed both the lively bar and comfy sofas in the sun-lounge! Our Wifi is currenty only available in the public rooms and some bedrooms but our plan is to extend coverage around the hostel - quite a challenge in an old building with thick walls! We offer locally sourced meals...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here on an overnight Highlands tour. The rooms were clean and bathroom satisfactory (though no wifi in some bedrooms). We did have an issue with the bar staff, who we found sexist and disappointingly close-minded throughout the pub quiz. During a pickup line game a couple of my friends were made to switch out so two girls/two guys...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hiker02371
Claire C, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. We are extremely disappointed to read that you have misunderstood the pub quiz round and that this resulted in your friend being uncomfortable. The aim is to switch people around in the pub quiz so that they are not with their friends as this helps break the ice. Whether they are switched with a male or...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was great; bed equipped with useful stuff and good ensuite. Excellent bar and entertainment. But annoyed by tour staff/buddies hogging the bar space and chatting endlessly to bar staff at the expense of attending to guests. Breakfast was ok. Evening meal was basic. Pack lunch was ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChicMac
Claire C, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. We are happy to hear you found our rooms, bar & entertainment excellent, but are very disappointed to hear that we failed to deliver the level of service that all of our guests deserve. On the night you stayed we were hosting groups with trainee tour guides who our staff were excited to meet and vice...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms were clean and conveinient. Check In was ok. We could check in earlier, just the warm water was not working till check in time. , Breakfast was really yummy.everything was great. The only thing I did not like was the loud music at night. Excellent Location directly along Great Glen Way. I especially liked the opportunity to charge your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theirishdodo
Claire C, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review - we are perfectly located right on the Great Glen Way so perfect for walkers. We have our heating & hot water on a timer so we are not wasting energy when we do not have guests in-house, one of our many commitments to sustainability #livegreen #sustainabletraveltips We are sorry that you did not enjoy the...

Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed 2 nights at Morag's. The accomodation was suggested by the Haggis Adventure tour. I could have booked somewhere else, but decided to go with the flow. Personally, I hate hostels because of the shared rooms/toilets. If you get loud roommates, you are doomed. And the toilets are always a pickle regarding timing (there weren't any private rooms available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggie S
Claire C, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this review

Ha-ha yes..."Morag" is Nessie's cousin! We are happy to hear that despite a hostel not being your ideal choice that you found us to be clean, friendly, and that you enjoyed our homecooked food. Our private rooms are popular so late bookers tend to have the dorm option only. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip with Haggis...

Leuven, Belgium
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed in Morag's Lodge for 2 nights as part of the Haggis Adventures tour and enjoyed my stay very much. Morag's Lodge is a rather large building with it's own free-to-use kitchen, seating areas and a cosy bar. The staff are very helpful and extremely friendly. They immediately make you feel at home. Once their shift is over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elinedewaele
Claire C, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank-you very much for your kind and detailed review - we are delighted to hear you had a great stay with us and particularly enjoyed socialising with our friendly team in our cosy bar! We hope you had a great onward trip from us :0)

Community of Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms were pretty spacious and clean, and they came with clean sheets. However the water pressure was kind of low so it was hard to flush the toilets. The dinner that you pay for was very delicious and good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jessicagting
Claire C, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - we are happy to hear your enjoyed our meals and dorms. We have double flush systems on all our loos to save water, one flush for wee and a double flush for poo ;0)

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.4 km away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,133 reviews
0.8 km away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
561 reviews
10.5 km away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#3 of 29 in Fort Augustus
125 reviews
0.5 km away
Highland Club Scotland
Highland Club Scotland
#2 of 10 in Fort Augustus
245 reviews
0.4 km away
Caledonian Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Morag's Lodge is a top quality 4* hostel located on the Great Glen Way in Fort Augustus, just a short walk from the banks of Loch Ness. Surrounded by stunning mountain scenery and set in wooded grounds this is the perfect budget accommodation option in the hub of the Highlands! The hostel has a variety of room types including 4-bed & 6-bed dorms, doubles, twins, triples, and family rooms, all with private bathroom facilities. The modern and super-comfy bunks have private reading lights and power points, and all linen is provided free of charge. There are excellent cheap meal options, from a buffet style budget breakfast to delicious home-cooked evening meals using local produce. There is also 24 hour access to the self-catering kitchen and free tea & coffee facilities. The rustic bothy-style bar offers a superb range of local beers and single malts, has a cosy log fire for the colder winter nights, and regular live entertainment. Other facilities include a drying room, laundry service, free wifi, toys, games, book swap and the famous red piano! The friendly and welcoming team can assist with arranging local activities, including the on-site bike hire and boat trips on Loch Ness, as well as advising on day trips and other activities available in the area. The team are on-hand to ensure you are able to make the most of your time and are proud to deliver "Highland Hospitality" at its best! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Morag's Lodge

Address: Bunoich Brae, Fort Augustus PH32 4DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Price Range: $81 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Morag's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Morag's Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Morag's Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want to go to sleep early, ask for the rooms further away from the bar.”
71maggies, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Staff said wifi was patchy in rooms, but we had great reception in ours (Glen Affric room name)”
sarahrN735MM, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Small sharing room”
ronnieh603, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are great!”
258janinaj, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Put your tent up along the canal to the south west.”
RedMacGregor, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5