We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Marine Hotel

Show Prices
#4 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Marine Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,981 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Marine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,964: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Swim pool that you cannot swim in - as the stairs are part of the pool. This means you can't swim to the end of the pool, only into the stairs and end up in about 6" of water. Ridiculous. Showers are TERRIBLE. Worst showers ever experienced in a spa. And I have been to a lot of spas. Sauna...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Hazelmct
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am disappointed that once again you have chosen to ignore my requests for more information or to meet to discuss your concerns. This is the second review in which you have made some unusual claims but not allowed me to have any detail that would have allowed me to understand what went wrong or...

PAISLEY
Reviewed 28 September 2014 via mobile

Great value spa day with 5pm. Treatments were excellent with friendly staff. Lunch was superb, again staff really friendly & helpful. Facilities need a little upgrading (pool area far too hot), relaxation room in need of some TLC. However for the price you pay, it's worth every penny!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lb171986
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lb171986, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am extremely pleased that you had a lovely spa day and especially your lunch We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again soon Andrew Deighan General Manager

glasgow
Reviewed 28 September 2014

Was greeted with a friendly smile on entry to spa area shown around, asked if there was some where to have coffee was taken to the bar ,and staff was very helpfull, the baker basket was £4.99 what a suprise 8 pieces of different toast and 6 buns ,and we ordered 2 lots plenty butter and jam couldnt complain about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank winnerglasgow
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear winnerglasgow, I am delighted to read that you had a nice relaxing spa break for your daughters birthday. Thank you for your lovely comments I will pass these on to the team especially Emma and I know that she will be overjoyed to hear such recognition as am I. We hope you will return again soon Andrew Deighan General...

Falkirk, Scotland
Reviewed 26 September 2014

This is our 3rd visit to the hotel as we really like the location and the hotel. We were here for 2 night. We were upgraded to the Muirfield superior room which was lovely & spacious with great views. There was also free wi fi in the rooms. I know a lot of reviews mention that the hotel is tired...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank McCusk
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear McCusk, Thank you for highlighting some areas for improvement. Your feedback has been very helpful. I am sorry that your dining experience wasn't as good as your last visit and I will feed this back to the chef and restaurant team. The views at our hotel are great I fully agree. We hope to see you here again soon...

bedale
Reviewed 25 September 2014

Recently visited this hotel for the night and paid £195 for a superior double room with balcony and didn't include breakfast .First of all the double doors to the balcony were nailed up and then found out it wasn't a double bed but two singles pushed together which was so uncomfortable as they kept coming apart! when I complained to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gerard b
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gerard B, Thank you for leaving us your feedback. I apologise that you were disappointed with your room and that you felt you weren’t listened to by our staff. All your comments have been read carefully and will be investigated to avoid this happening again. We do hope that you will change your mind and return to visit us...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2014

I enjoyed a day of relaxation. However, the facilities are tired, the loungers by the pool dirty and the water in the pool cloudy so I didn't swim. The reception room for spa breaks was dingy with stuff behind the sofa just thrown there out of site. Staff were friendly but my experience left me with a feeling that more...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Emelia10
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emelia10, Thank you for leaving us your feedback. Your comments will help us with our plans for refurbishment. I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your “day of relaxation” with us. We do hope to see you again soon Kind regards Andrew Deighan General Manager

maybole, ayrshire
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Visited on 20/09/2014 for a Spa day, the best part of the day was when we received our treatments, the girls were amazing and made us feel special, disappointing that our spa day included kids in the pool and the Jacuzzi area, not quite what I thought a spa day would include. Only one changing room in the main area...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jimjpaterson
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jimjpaterson, Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your treatments, the Beauty team will be delighted with your kind comments about their service. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the changing area and I acknowledge these points for improvement. I hope you visit us again in the near future Andrew Deighan General Manager

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2014

We stayed here for 1 night and I totally recommend it. Rooms were spotless a bit on the small side especially the bathroom but it did us. Breakfast was amazing one of the best i had would def go back again

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank debbie K
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debbie K, I am delighted that you had a “fantastic stay” thank you for your lovely comments regarding the cleanliness and how much you enjoyed your breakfast. I will pass your comments on to the team and I am sure they will be extremely happy to receive such feedback Andrew Deighan General Manager

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2014

The hotel is in a lovely setting overlooking the sea and the golf course. It is an impressive building with some beautiful rooms. We were allocated a room on the third floor, very clean but it was quite small. The windows in the bedroom and bathroom overlooked the sea but were very small and blocked by the roof from the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SusanT51
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. The water issue was regrettable and I will add my apologies that those of my team, it was fixed rapidly but was very frustrating for all concerned. I am sorry that you did not like breakfast but appreciate the feedback. I am puzzled by your...

Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2014

We stayed here a few times many years ago and decided on a return visit because we love the setting of the hotel. We booked b/b for 2 nights and we were disappointed to see the hotel has been allowed to deteriorate and needs a major refurb. Our room had a lovely view of the golf course and the sea...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank 150sandy
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I trust that the team made efforts to make amends when you raised your concerns. I very much hope that we will see you again soon.

354 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (303)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.3 km away
Piersland House Hotel
1.1 km away
Lochgreen House Hotel
2.7 km away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Fairfield House Hotel
21.7 km away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,408 reviews
7.5 km away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Price Range: $112 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Troon
#4 Family Hotel in Troon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Troon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Marine Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
7 months ago
3 months ago
edinburgh
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Marine Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles Deesty, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get the largest one you can afford....”
 of 5 bubbles beatlejuice01, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with even numbers have front facing views”
 of 5 bubbles Peggysue93, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea/golf view but charge is extra”
 of 5 bubbles K4B, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in upstairs are more cosy than at ground floor”
  • broken door handle
 of 5 bubbles kimmos544, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5