We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Highgrove House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troon
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Highgrove House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 150: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Located on a hilltop overlooking the bay of Troon. The dining room also has a large conservatory with balcony facing the sea and coastline. The food is really good and the menu is varied and of reasonable price. Service is professional and knowledgeable, never intrusive but attentive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnjo2941
Irvine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent service with even better food. This hotel never fails to deliver and albeit we may only visit 4/5 times a year it envelopes even more to an absolute stand of food and staff. Attention to detail as well as to customers was superb. Thanks guys!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 549stuart1967
Killie Scotland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Received voucher as gift from our daughter. Large bedroom which was very comfortable. Excellent food and lovely staff. Only one thing..needs shelf in shower as there is nowhere to place your soap/shampoo when showering.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SandiKillieScotland
Mauchline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Celebrated our Ruby Anniversary. Lovely location and bedrooms. Lovely menu and the food was very good and well presented The staff were friendly and attentive. Absolutely no negative comments to make.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frances w
Wickham Bishops, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We were booked into Highgrove House as part of a family group for a wedding in Troon and Culzean Castle. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was huge. However there was something lacking although I am not sure what. This is clearly primarily a food venue and I have to say that the food was very good. It just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bouff
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Superb meal at reasonable price! The food is fantastic,well presented and flavoursome. The restaurant and bar areas are very comfortable with superb views from the window seats with elevated view to The Irish Sea. Service was efficient and staff were both knowledgeable and friendly. Would definitely recommend and I will be returning soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skye2903
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the Highgrove for three nights while on business in the area. It's not a large hotel and it's all the better for that, room 8 is very spacious and well appointed with fantastic views over to the Isle of Arran. The spectacular views can also be enjoyed from the conservatory part of the restaurant. I ate in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mal1971
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

After many excellent meals at Higrove and Ruby wedding and many weekends at Loch Green I took friends to lunch at Highgrove. My main course of battered fish was soggy and inedible. I did not want to complain in front of my friends so put the fish in my napkin and fed it to my dog. I complained by letter...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank d0uglasc00ke
Costley, Guest Relations Manager at Highgrove House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give your review of your visit to Highgrove. We're delighted that you have had many excellent meals at HIghgrove and at our sister Hotel , Lochgreen. Although your review has just been written, we noticed your visit was in January ( nine months ago.) Unfortunately as you did not bring your complaint regarding...

Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Stunning views for the 'newish' conservatory. Has to be one of the best dinning views in Ayrshire. Nice greeting on entry. Waiting staff appeared a little disinterested with no conversation, no check back.I understand that Monday Lunch might be a hard shift to get moitvated for but... Food was really good, the tried and tested garlic mushrooms have been tried...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chef262
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We were treated here to an excellent meal by good friends to complete the celebrations of my 70th. Birthday. Beautiful meal. I had the best Liver I had had for many a day and the Eaton Mess was delightful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith R

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
2.6 km away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 6 in Troon
1,889 reviews
2.2 km away
Lochgreen House Hotel
2.4 km away
Piersland House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#4 of 6 in Troon
431 reviews
2.4 km away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
215 reviews
5.5 km away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 6 in Prestwick
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Highgrove House Hotel

Address: 7 Old Loans Road, Troon KA10 7JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Price Range: $209 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Highgrove House Hotel Troon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Highgrove House Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Perth Scotland
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Highgrove House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For dinner would definitely ask for window seat for the view”
 of 5 bubbles Skye2903, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 2, what a view”
 of 5 bubbles Hokieche, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is my favourite”
 of 5 bubbles nipdrinker, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“My room was gorgeous with stunning views. Comfy bed and elegant furnishings. Lovely shower room with complimentary toiletries.”
 of 5 bubbles winechictravel, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 1 if you like a good hot shower”
 of 5 bubbles mhoram57, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5