We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Port Askaig Hotel

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Askaig
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Port Askaig Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 180: English reviews
Biggar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We called in here for a drink and a bite to eat while we waited for the ferry to Jura. The hotel has a nice little bar and we sheltered from the rain. It's a habit of mine to order Cullen Skink if it's on the menu and I'd had a few during our trip, so seeing it listed as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DaydreamE10
sammy253, Manager at Port Askaig Hotel, responded to this review

Probably a misunderstanding between waitress and kitchen for which I apologise. - we serve two portion sizes and you obviously got a starter portion. I would be happy to send you a refund if you e mail your full name and address to hotel@portaskaig.co.uk. Our apologies.

Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We called here for lunch while awaiting our ferry back to the main land with a party of eight . The hotel is in the most beautiful setting imaginable near the sea and facing the island of Jura . We found a table and ordered and paid for our meals this was two hours before our ferry was due to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Scotchboy
sammy253, Owner at Port Askaig Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly sorry your table did not get served - we always regret any customer being disappointed at Port Askaig. However by way of explanation, on an average day we serve something between 25 - 40 lunches and are staffed accordingly. On the day in question our 2nd chef on his own cooked over 70 lunches - and not one of...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I have to admit we weren't expecting much after reading some of the previous reviews. Though we've been fascinated by this place and left with great holiday experience. It's a cozy hotel by the water with probably the best view in Scotland. It offers excellent food and great selection (and collection) of whiskey. It's situated near the ferry terminal to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bobyjill
Clare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed here for a week,and thoroughly enjoyed the excellent breakfasts and evening meals,very well cooked using local produce. The fish was particularly good(not surprising as the fishing boats came in 20 yards away).The service was really good, and above all, everybody would go out of their way to help.Our ensuite room was quite adequate and spotlessly clean. Friday night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank turtle9
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stopped by at the Port Askaig Hotel for lunch as a last minute decision and what a find! It was absolutely fantastic. My husband and I shared a seafood platter and it was the best I have ever had. Half a lobster, languistines and scallops. All 100% fresh and cooked to perfection. The chef in their kitchen really knows...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aileen B
Huddersfield
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Whilst on a cycling tour through the islands, we celebrated a birthday with dinner at this hotel. Everything was excellent, from the window table with views across to Jura, through to the service & food. The waitress was very friendly & helpful, serving us a jug of iced water & a basket of freshly baked bread while we perused the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnharding46
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The food in this place is delicious and is cheep and cheerful. It seems to be a typical bar meals place which I think Islay is lacking. Too many places on Islay to fancy and very expensive! I would recommend this place for good pub grub :o)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The hotel was alright. The room could have been a little more modern, but we expected not much since we were on a little island. Overall, the room was clean, but a little too overheated. Parking was free. WiFi was not working properly and no one could fixed it. We ate at the Hotel's restaurant. Food was alright. The little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Axel K
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel in June 2013 with my wife & another couple, although the bedrooms rooms we stayed in had recently been tidied up and were comfortable there was no television radio etc that would have been available in other hotels locally. The landings and public areas restaurant etc where scruffy & needed updating. The rear out door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank p1pre
sammy253, Manager at Port Askaig Hotel, responded to this review

We regret that this party could only find the negative - while we are aware that some areas are still to be upgraded the bistro had a new wooden floor laid, was completely redecorated etc. less than 2 years ago. Hotel rear entrance is lit -but has a switch which guests can access - we certainly do not put the...

Kyle of Lochalsh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This hotel is situated in a great position, and if you have a window table in the dinning room, the views are great. It is an old building, and hence difficult to adapt, perhaps, to modern day standards. The proprietor and staff were plesant and welcoming. The majority of waiting staff etc, were not local, and some were struggling with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M G
sammy253, Manager at Port Askaig Hotel, responded to this review

We regret that elements of your stay were not what you expected. Yes , some new staff for the season do not have the best English but they work hard and do their best. Staff training? My staff both local and from Europe for the most part have been with me for between 4 and 14 years with the exception...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Askaig
20.9 km away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
247 reviews
25.2 km away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
166 reviews
24.9 km away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Ellen
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Islay House
Islay House
#1 of 1 in Bridgend
10 reviews
11.3 km away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
118 reviews
15.2 km away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowmore
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Port Askaig Hotel is a picturesque, family run Highland Inn on the shores of the Sound of Islay, overlooking the pier at which daily car ferries berth on arrival from the Scottish mainland. Due to its proximity to the ferry, it offers easy access to Jura, Colonsay and the mainland. Our Starboard Restaurant offers Bistro style dining, with a full meal service in both bars and hot snacks available out with main meal times.Menus feature the best of Islay's Larder from both land and sea with 'catch of the day' fresh from the harbour here a speciality.Our hotel garden provides organic vegetable and salads to compliment your choices. Our Port Bar is the oldest licensed premises on Islay and features an excellent selection of Islay Malts and a display of old and rare bottles. In season live traditional music is oftenplayed in the Old Port Bar. Enjoy a beer or a malt whisky in the garden- relax and watch the boats sail by. Islay and it's goodbye to care ...... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Port Askaig Hotel

Address: Port Askaig Isle of Islay | Argyllshire, Port Askaig PA46 7RD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Askaig
Price Range: $50 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Port Askaig Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Port Askaig Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Port Askaig Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not sure, all I can tell you is that all of the rooms are named after an island.”
688alexj, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a family room at the back. Big room. No view.”
The_McTravel_Clan, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor, middle of front.”
basilhoward, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms appear to have their own character, but tmany stairs and corners, so confirm when you book that access is suitable for you”
70janetw, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I was only eating in the hotel, not staying there..”
Underthepaw, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5