We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Argyll Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochgilphead
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Argyll Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Argyll Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 56: English reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2015

Recent mean out, a lot of products not in the menu, service was poor, during the meal and certainly afterwards in the bar, not to mention the "mutton dressed as lamb" who apparently runs the place!! Won't be back unless I'm desperate!

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Scotlandhomegirl
theargyllhotel, Owner at The Argyll Inn, responded to this review

Hi Scotlandhomegirl, I am sorry that your stay and meal were unsatisfactory, and shall certainly try and sort out the issues that you mention, so can you let me know what date it was so that I can investigate further. Thank you.

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2014

I stayed for one night mid-week. Although the room was basic, it was very clean and functional. The food was good pub food - much of it locally-sourced. The staff were friendly and helpful and keen to please. All in all, good value for the £40 I paid.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank prgirl107
Scotland, Livingston
Reviewed 12 December 2014

Me and my friend have just come back from a 2 night stay. The staff are so friendly, rooms were clean and comfortable and the food is AMAZING!! I felt so at home here and I did not want to leave.....I will be back in the summer when the weather will be better :-) thank you to everyone that made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EricaM132
Abernethy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2014

stayed at the argyll inn for 2 weeks, working at a nearby wind farm, very nice and helpfull owner and a brilliant team of staff, excellent meals and breakfasts, very clean and cosy, friendly locals in the bar too, would definitely recommend and will pop next time i am passing, graham, mike and mel :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denparkbhoy
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2014

Well where to start ?? The service was absolutely dreadful I hope management take Ms this on board , staying in Lochgilphead with family and went for a night out and decided to go to the argyll as there wa a disco event on , I wish I never went paid £5 pound entry fee for all 6 of us...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank silent9assasin
theargyllhotel, Owner at The Argyll Inn, responded to this review

It is probably best if I go through you issues as you have written them. We have had 2 discos in recent weeks and if it was the October one then that was so quiet that we cancelled it so I presume you meant the November one which is always one of our busier ones so we make sure that...

Ars-en-Ré, Poitou-Charentes, France
Reviewed 15 October 2014 via mobile

Very nice inn, rooms are comfy and the staff if very helpfull. An evening meal by the fire is great. Breakfast is very good value and will keep you going all morning. A nice stop we always use when passing in the area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
Reviewed 12 September 2014

While visiting Scotland we had the pleasure of staying in this hotel. Owner and staff very helpful and pleasant. Rooms slightly dated and basic but very clean. Breakfast was good and they had a selection of newspapers available for the morning read. Had dinner here and it was very good, some of the best of our visit to Scotland. If...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WH09
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2014

after a 500 mile drive we booked into a nearby b&b as the Argyll was full . But popped in for dinner and drinks and found the staff and locals very friendly. Recomend the venison burger . Have a chat with the local people..... Very friendly and had lot's of information about the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skipp66
Falkirk
Reviewed 31 July 2014

After a day out in Oban footsore and very hot we stopped at The Argyll Inn for refreshing drink. It was busy and the food being served looked appetising. I ordered a starter of Buffalo Wings in a spicy dressing as I was not very hungry and my partner had the gammon steak with chips and a fried egg. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Silverflossie
Scotland
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The restaurant wasn't busy when we arrived and while we decided on what we wanted to eat, we ordered a drink from the bar. The waiter took our order, only to come back and say there was none left. We ordered something different, only to be told again that it was not available!! We did manage to get something eventually....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arquebus

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgilphead
0.0 km away
Lochgair Hotel
Lochgair Hotel
#3 of 3 in Lochgilphead
73 reviews
3.6 km away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
130 reviews
16.1 km away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
254 reviews
20.1 km away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
242 reviews
11.3 km away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
Food & drink at the hotel
The Argyll Inn
The Argyll Inn
Cuisines: Bar
No photo provided
The Snug Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blair and Steven welcome you to The Argyll Inn, a wee gem in the heart of Argyll. Our main bar is a lively, sports oriented bar with snooker table, darts board and serving an array of popular drafts, bottles, and spirits, as well as soft drinks. We are open 11am - 1am daily, 7 days a week. With almost weekly events, we are sure that you will enjoy the welcoming atmosphere and great caric from our staff and locals alike. Come and sit a while by the log fire, have a dram & relax. The Argyll Inn is undergoing a period of substantial renovation, including a full new kitchen and construction of a lounge bar next door to the main bar. Here we hope to offer a wide range of speciality whiskies, bottled craft beer and a low key atmosphere. We hope to cater to the discerning punter who enjoys a quieter place for a drink, soundtracked with regular acoustic sessions from local and not so local musicians. Out room offerings are a combination of single, double, twin and family rooms which can accommodate any type of guest. The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable and are suitable for those who are looking for a stop over in Lochgilphead at great value. Currently we are offering room only rates but once our kitchen is up and running at the end of August we will offer B&B and dinner packages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Argyll Inn

Address: 69 Lochnell Street, Lochgilphead PA31 8JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Lochgilphead
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Argyll Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Argyll Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Really friendly. good craik. no rip off prices. highly recommended”
 of 5 bubbles gogs11uk, 1 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Back has noise from fans and kitchen - front looks onto main road. If I stayed on a weeknight I would probably ask for one overlooking the front of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles JEHighland, 16 Apr 2013 | Read review
“Go elsewhere for a better room..”
 of 5 bubbles 211kk, 17 Aug 2012 | Read review
“we didnt stay.”
 of 5 bubbles satellina, 22 Dec 2011 | Read review
4 of 4