We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Save
Share
A861, Strontian PH36 4HY Scotland
eDreams
Agoda.com
Booking.com
Priceline
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (223)
Dining (54)
Room & Suite (31)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Strontian
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Recently awarded 3AA Rosettes for culinary excellence and one of the Daily Telegraph's top 10 most cosy Highland Hotels; The Kilcamb is a small luxury 4 star hotel, perfectly situated on the tranquil shores of Loch Sunart in the Highlands of Scotland. The hotel now has two restaurants; the new and less formal Driftwood Brasserie, or the renowned fine dining Restaurant, both offering friendly yet professional service and award winning food. This newly appointed 4 star hotel is perfectly situated in its 22 acres of loch side meadow, surrounded by stunning mountain scenery which adds to to the sense of peace and tranquility, hard to find in today's modern world. Local wildlife on the door-step such as otters, eagles red squirrels and pine martens only add to the sense of remote Highland serenity. Kilcamb Lodge Hotel is also pet friendly.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Books, DVDs, music for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Skiing
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Fireplace
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Lake View
Languages Spoken
English, German
709Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 600
  • 67
  • 29
  • 11
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
John N wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
We were two mature couples, very experienced in international travel, staying four nights after a fortnight driving round the Highlands and Islands. We cannot understand the previous negative reviews. The staff were charming and efficient and the food very good. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and if they seemed dated, it was probably due to the country house style, entirely appropriate for the location. The staff and management clearly were suffering from the combined impacts of covid and brexit, insofar as they were very short handed. Nevertheless they were very courteous and efficient and nothing was too much trouble. An excellent birthday cake was produced at short notice and the chef was able to adjust very well to our friends’garlic allergy and onion intolerance (something that seemed beyond the wit of The Thee Chimneys) and produced an adjusted set menu for them each evening. Whilst it is expensive, so is the rest of Scotland and it certainly didn’t disappoint. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The Roederer champagne is really quite reasonable
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
sdhunterx wrote a review Oct 2021
Hawick, United Kingdom40 contributions38 helpful votes
I’ve been in here for a meal a couple of times in the last few months and both times the food has been superb. The lunch menu is great value as the portion size is generous. Service was efficient, friendly but unobtrusive. Really good experience. Can highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Soton girl wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The staff are lovely, helpful and hard working, the food very good and a wonderful setting. But, sadly the hotel is tired and much in need of a refresh. Our room was comfortable but dated, several things didn’t work, and the bath was none to clean. The website and price raised our expectations to a level which sadly the reality did not meet.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
kpcski wrote a review Sep 2021
London, United Kingdom84 contributions92 helpful votes
Apparently Kilcamb Lodge was good in the past, if hotel awards and restaurant awards are to be taken seriously. Unfortunately, an ownership change coupled with pandemic impacts have left this establishment seriously failing at a very, very high price point. A positive is that the location and Loch views from the large, very dog friendly front lawn are spectacular. Another positive is that the bulk of the staff are very help and friendly. The list of negatives is far, far too long for a hotel charging almost gbp400/night for the room alone. As a comparison, Kinloch Lodge is a top class effort and result at a similar, if not less expensive, price. This hotel is seriously mis-priced for what is offers today. So here goes ... The rooms are stale at best and ratty in reality. Very few rooms have anything approaching a loch or mountain view due to the bizarre construction of the building. At least Rooms #10 and #11 both overlook the parking lot and are located above the active kitchen with its accompanying noise and cooking smells. The manager of the hotel is a shocker. Nowhere in Pavlina's vocabulary were the words "I am sorry, there must have been some mixup with your reservation, but do not worry, we will do our best to sort out your needs". When confronted with a check-in situation, she was nothing short of unhelpful with a touch of animosity about her ways. It is obvious and a fact that she lacks the demeanor and skills to handle such hospitality. Her reactions and actions were appalling. Moving on from Pavlina, unfortunately, the first five course, and £65 per head, tasting menu dinner was just awful. Dish after dish was bland at best. There was none of the promised fresh seafood. It was as if Gary, the reknowned chef, was absent or worse. The breakfast, which is hard to mess up, equalled the quality of dinner, amazingly. I am happy to say the the a la carte menu and breakfast were a large improvement to acceptable the following night and morning, but nowhere near the standards of the awards previously given and touted on the website. We understand that an ownership change into a pandemic was a real challenge, but to say that you should stay away until, and if, New ownership can refurbish rooms and refresh the food and staff would be an understatement. For these prices and even at half the price, the experience here is horrendous. Your time, money, and appetites can be satisfied in many other lovely and well run Scottish establishments elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Stay away until it improves.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from B Grzeda, Owner at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 18 Sep 2021
Dear Kevin C, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to read that your recent stay with us wasnt up to your expectations. The Team here at Kilcamb is nothing less than polite and professional hence our suprise when we read your comments. Gary's food is well known and respected by our guests as it is easily reflected in our 600 excellent reviews. On arrival in the hotel it became aparent that you have made a mistake on your booking and failed to let us know that you are bringing a baby with you, which we have rectified for you, however you were clearly upset and blamed Pavlina for your mistake, when all she was trying to do is fix it for you. We can understand your frustration at the time but in no way should that be an excuse for your abusive bevaviour.
Read more
Jane4321Jane wrote a review Aug 2021
6 contributions
We stayed for 2 nights at the end of July, which was a rearranged trip from my 40th last year. It exceeded our expectations! We both love our food and the tasting menu each night was just wonderful. Their chef kindly altered a course for me, as I'm not fan of mushrooms, and the replacement dish was delicious and nothing seemed too much trouble. Their adaptions for Covid were really well explained and executed. We particularly enjoyed our second evening dining in the main restaurant. And having coffee in the lounge was very luxurious after dinner. We'd recommend room 6, it had a wonderful window seat with a direct view over the loch. Our only regret was not booking 3 nights! The shower could run cold, which we reported and were told it linked to an old boiler problem. Full credit to their team, particularly the two ladies running front of house, their service was impeccable.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$312 - US$402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kilcamb hotel strontian
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsLochaberStrontian
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Which popular attractions are close to Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant?
Nearby attractions include Ariundle Oakwood National Nature Reserve (3.8 km) and Darach Social Croft (2.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ariundle Centre, Strontian Hotel Restaurant, and Driftwood Brasserie.
Is Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Strontian.
Are pets allowed at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Does Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.