We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

847 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 847: English reviews
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked again for the last New Year with Shearings. I had a filthy room in the hotel they use in Tarbet. I complained at the time but was told no other room available. I was offered £50 off my next holiday so thought probably a " one off" NOT...I have photos of this room and previous ( 422..Single)...I once...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte331
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in this excellent hotel over New YearExcellent value for money Staff,food,entertainment all superb Can't fault the place and can't wait to see this grand old lady when it is fully refurbished. My mother is elderly and walks gingerly with the aid of a stick. Staff could not have been more helpful in letting her get about. Thanks for a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank alanmaconie
Management response:

Many thanks for the fantastic review you've posted on our site, we really appreciate it, and I'll be sure to pass on your comments to the team. We're now closed, and the workmen are back in continuing with the refurbishment work, so it' shouldn't be long till this grand old lady is back showing off her new facelift, so look...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stayed here over new year and had a nice time, the only let down was the entertainment on New Year's Eve. There was a group of Scottish dancers from the island who were brilliant and it was nice for a short show. Next there was a young lad who had a brilliant voice but spent the night singing songs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel A
Management response:

Many thanks for a great posting and a Happy New Year to you. Can I just clarify entertainment program, we do not plan the schedule the entertainment team do that themselves. I was in the ballroom that night and the team did do a selection of some Scottish music plus we had a piper. But we will pass on to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Overall we greatly enjoyed our stay here and we found the rooms to me comfortable, the food of a good quality as well as being a reasonable price for the weekend we stayed. The majority of staff (in particular a young girl who always was the person to serve us at the bar or greet us at reception) were friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nathan W
Management response:

Happy New Year and thank you for your posting. Sorry to see you had some issues with your stay but we are a little confused some areas that you were unhappy with. We do not have a young girl who works in both the bar and reception, we also did not serve breakfast during this period it was brunch. We...

Liverpool
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were under the impression that the Glenburn was a Shearings hotel as everything on the walls around reception gave that impression. However, the hotel had been bought by a Malaysian company in October & when we had a complaint about the 3rd party coach Shearings had forced us to travel on, the hotel reception staff were very quick to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 1travellerLiverpool
Management response:

Thank you for your posting, but as stated at the time we have no control over the coaches. We did explain to you at the time that you would have to take your complaint up with Shearing's. We were not in anyway not being helpful but we are a private hotel and have no say on what coaches are allocated...

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Hotel good and at the moment being refurbished,staff very good and friendly, breakfast very good and evening meals reasonable but not many fresh vegetables but overall satisfactory. Our bedroom was at the back of the hotel but still had a view of the Clyde, the bathroom was quite large, only down side was the window only had a lace curtain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 703Dan
Management response:

Many thanks for your review on your stay at the Hotel. Yes as you say we are under refurbishment and we are all looking forward to see the end product and the massive improvements it will make to the Glenburn. I will pass on to the team your kind comments and hope you give us another visit in the new...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016

just returned from weekend break to the glenburn,been many times and always enjoy it. It was quite quiet this year however still enjoyed ourselves. Staff are very friendly in reception and in the dining room, food as usual was very good and we received a free bottle of wine. Room was clean and warm, very comfortable. The hotel is closed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christinet119
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our site. What lovely comments about the staff and service so again thank you for mentioning that. Yes as you say major renovations are happening and we can't wait to see the end product. We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel some time next year. Have...

Reviewed 4 December 2016

Stayed here in November on a Shearings trip to Rothesay. Had a great time hotel clean, food good and staff friendly. Had a brilliant driver (Bill) had a good sense of humour and made the time on the coach fly by. Will be back again in the New Year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggie J
Management response:

Great review and thank you for posting it on our site. Lovely to see how much your enjoyed your holiday with us a please do come in the New Year, Hope you have a lovely Christmas and a good New Year. Kind Regards Debbie Deputy Manager

Wigan
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Stayed at this hotel on the 11th November for 3 nights on a Shearings coach holiday. There have been complaints about some of the rooms at this hotel which I have read on Trip Advisor so I was a bit sceptical. I booked a superior room which I do recommend to do. Our room was huge with a brilliant sea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusanFagan
Management response:

What a great review we really do appreciate you sharing your thoughts on your holiday with other travellers. We are at present getting the refurbishing work done in the hotel which will make all the difference. We would be grateful if you recommend us and we hope to see you again at the Glenburn in the not to distant future....

York
Reviewed 23 November 2016

We took a short break here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, which was excellent value for money. The staff were, without exception, friendly and helpful. As a whole, the hotel is perhaps a little shabby, but it is clean and comfortable. There's a refurbishment programme under way. Unfortunately, it hadn't reached our room which suffered a few minor problems such...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grovesred
Management response:

What a lovely review and a big thank you from all the team at the Glenburn for posting it on our site. Great comments about the service that you received during your stay with us and I will pass on to the team your lovely comments. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenburn in the...

325 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (315)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
1.0 km away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
224 reviews
1.7 km away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
289 reviews
20.7 km away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 1 in West Kilbride
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 km away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
423 reviews
11.4 km away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
291 reviews
0.4 km away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you'll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it's up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn... socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town's shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. The Hotel is about to embark on a major renovation on bedrooms and ground floor lounges due for completion by February 2017. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Price Range: $132 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Glenburn Hotel Ltd staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from The Glenburn Hotel Ltd staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ones that have been renovated”
 of 5 bubbles Charlotte331, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Select sea view”
 of 5 bubbles 660rachela, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“all rooms we have had have been great but you canpay extra for a sea view room”
 of 5 bubbles christinet119, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Recommend rooms at the front of the hotel and also the higher floors. We had room 210 and it was huge and spotless. Also an upgraded room.”
 of 5 bubbles SusanFagan, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We like the sea view watching the felly going past.”
 of 5 bubbles stevos963, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay