We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Claymore Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,339: English reviews
Start your review of Claymore Hotel
 Click to rate
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just returned from a short break at The Claymore, first time in Scotland and we couldn't have wished for a nicer weekend. Firstly this hotel is in a fabulous location, the views of the loch and mountains are stunning. A lot has been said about the look of this hotel, personally we like the look of it who wants these...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tottenham1956
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review of your recent stay. Many future guests will certainly enjoy reading your informative and in depth review. I'm also delighted that this has been your first stay and hopefully it will not be your last! Kind regards, gary Watson.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

room was spotless food was good staff were great right on the loch so position of hotel was good only fault in my opinion was a bit old fashioned but overall had a good night. the room we were allocated as I said before was spotless but was kitted out for a disabled person not a complaint but on our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamiesnana8
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on trip advisor. I'm glad that you enjoyed your short stay here. We hope that will return and enjoy the hotel on another great value break. Kind regards, Gary Watson.

Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just returned from a National coach trip to the Claymore Hotel .although the hotel is getting tired looking the staff were so pleasant and helpful,and the food was very good .The scenery was breath taking with snow on the mountains all reflected in the lake below. Our driver was very informative and we enjoyed our days in Stirling ,Oban and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marilynm15
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

Your title says it all!! We hope that you will return in the near future and enjoy Scotland in it's summer glory! Kind regards, Gary Watson.

Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The whole experience was great. The staff were so obliging and always ready to help. Wonderful exercursions as well as all coach drivers were very obliging as well as great fun.The Hotel and meals were execellant as usual. This my ninth trip up to the Claymore Hotel and not disappointed. National holidays are well worth the money and so enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank frwalker
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

I was delighted to read that this was your ninth stay here at the Claymore. We must be doing something right!! Thank you for your lovely comments. Please let me know when you arrive at the hotel for your 10th stay!! Kind regards, Gary Watson.

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had a lovely stay at the Claymore On a national holiday.Excellent value for money. The rooms food and staff were excellent. Entertainment was good and Sunday night Ray blondell had the whole place rocking excellent singer . Noel our driver was very good also . Thankyou Claymore for a lovely stay .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Easingtonshome
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

I must thank you for your lovely review. We hope that you will return and enjoy the hotel on an another great value break! Kind regards, Gary Watson.

Knottingley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Brilliant Value. This was our second National Holiday coach trip. The driver Alex gave us a verbal tour of all the interesting places on our trip to Oban. Coaches were comfortable and our own driver Noel was very safe and steady negotiating the narrow Scottish roads. The hotel was good, bed breakfast and evening meals were very good value with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoffq71
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your terrific review of your recent stay. I'm delighted to read that this was your second stay - we must be doing something right!! We hope that you will come back for a third stay very soon. Kind regards, Gary Watson.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Brilliant Value. This was my first National Holiday coach trip. The driver Alex gave us a verbal tour of all the interesting places on route. Coaches were comfortable. The hotel was lovely, bed breakfast and evening meals were lovely. Good choice and very tasty. 4 free drinks per day. The staff in the hotel were fab, nothing was too much...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elainefinch
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments on trip advisor. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your first National Holidays trip. They do offer terrific value for money and I can inform you that you are correct in saying that there are more bathrooms to be refurbished. There will be a number of bedrooms and bathrooms refurbished in April/May so please come...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Everything about our stay was mediocre . windy nights made the windows rattle! But for what we paid I'd expect that. Views are amazing,staff were nice. Night entertainment was boring even the entertainers seemed bored. Wouldn't revisit. Coach drivers Gary and malcolm were fantastic!! They were good fun and really made an effort. Staff at the hotel seemed rushed (maybe...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rany k
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

I was disappointed to read that you felt your stay was mediocre. All the staff and management go out of their way to ensure that all guests enjoy themselves and that includes the entertainers. We regularly receive very complimentary reviews about the nightly entertainment and I'm afraid that you might find yourself in a very small minority indeed!! The hotel...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hi I have just returned from a 3 day break to the Claymore with National Holidays and as much as I enjoyed my stay here I was disappointed with the meal arrangements. I travelled on my own and made friends with some lovely people on the coach on the way, we got on really well and were looking forward to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Myra H
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments on trip advisor. I find it strange that you didn't ask to be seated with your new friends when you were staying at the hotel. We regularly have requests from guests who wish to sit with newly found friends and the majority of the time we can oblige. Single travellers are always seated with other...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from our third National holiday at the Claymore hotel. We had a beautiful re-refurbished room overlooking Loch Long. (It is worth paying the extra for a scenic view.) The room was large with a comfy king sized bed. The en suite included a shower cubicle all re-fitted, but the only downside was that the shower pressure wasn't great....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank R J
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments on trip advisor. I'm delighted to read that this was your 3rd visit to the hotel. We must be doing something right!! I'm working on the pressure for the showers in the old building - when the new thermostatic showers were installed the pressure decreased. Hope fully this can be rectified soon. The bay inclusive...

647 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (647)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (169)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (69)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (311)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.8 km away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
397 reviews
0.3 km away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,082 reviews
2.4 km away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
21.8 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
12.6 km away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Address: Arrochar | G83 7BB, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Claymore Hotel staff and other travellers.
63 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (63)

Questions? Get answers from Claymore Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a front room we were at the back so no view at all only a rusty old boat”
 of 5 bubbles jamiesnana8, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best with a view of the Lock Long at the front of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles marilynm15, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“lovely views of the Loch long and great entertainment”
 of 5 bubbles frwalker, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best to ensure a room with shower, some had baths but no shower”
 of 5 bubbles geoffq71, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A room with a Loch view worth the extra”
 of 5 bubbles 416rj, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5