We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Shore House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Shore House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Shore House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 222: English reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely meal at the shore house inn on Saturday the 10th of September for our sons 40th birthday with family & friends. The meal was excellent. The steaks were just how everyone asked for & the chicken with haggis was a treat. The owners & staff looked after us all evening to make sure we all had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette M
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review

Thank you Jeanette for you great review of your 40th birthday family meal. It was a pleasure to have you and your lovely family celebrating your special evening in our restaurant. Best wishes, Gillian Curtis

Stocksfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

My sister visited in February this year and couldn't recommend highly enough so our expectations were high! It is my mother in laws 70th today so we chose here to visit. Easy to book over the phone the evening before. Food was fantastic and service great. Can highly recommend the pizzas, never had one with haggis on before but definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review

Thank you Sharon for your excellent review of the Shore House. I and my team are delighted that your family celebration was such a success. Now you've discovered how good haggis is as a pizza topping you should try it with black pudding too! Glad you had a great time in lovely Lochgoilhead. Gillian Curtis

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Popped in for a bite to eat, bar service was good drinks were nice, sun was shining and the views whilst sitting outside was amazing. Ordered food to eat outside as it was such a beautiful day to find out you can only get pizza outside after 5.30 a bit strange and couldnt quite figure out the difference from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley T
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review Lesley. Glad to hear you enjoyed your pizzas. Sorry you were disappointed we don't do table service outside in the evenings but the restaurant was fully booked and too busy for doing outside tables as well. We have a certain capacity for output from the kitchen and we reach that without serving on the...

Glasgow
Reviewed 29 August 2016

The restaurant has a glorious view down Loch Goil. The service was warm and friendly and we were kept up to date when our food was coming. Everything was freshly cooked and tasted so. The venison pie was delicious, chunks of venison and lovely gravy. The veg had a nice bite as I like it. Those who had the jerk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review

Thank yo very much Joanne for your great review of the Shore House. I am delighted you were very happy with everything. We really appreciate your positive comments and you will return to lovely Lochgoilhead soon. Gillian Curtis

Gairloch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Lovely to wake with such a spectacular view down the loch. Enjoyed an excellent full breakfast (son) and porridge (me) that were freshly cooked from good ingredients. Very impressive given the setting and remoteness. My son was welcome to stay in the restaurant area doing his homework that morning while I was working locally which was really convenient and highlighted...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gacks
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your brilliant review of our little inn. We really enjoyed having you and your son stay with us and hope you will return soon. Gillian Curtis

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Good location with nice views, excellent service and friendly staff. Only let down is that for £5.50, I don't think it's unreasonable to expect a few more than 5 garlic mushrooms and four king prawns on a £9.50 pizza. Quality of ingredients good though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yellowmellow_01
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review

Thank you for your nearly perfect review of the Shore House. I'm sorry, but a little surprised, that you felt your food was overpriced. The large fresh mushrooms were accompanied by a generous salad garnish and home made pizza bread. The king prawns on our home made pizzas are large, and of course you are not just paying for the...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

The best view you could hope for. The food was excellent, and the staff even nicer, so accomodating despite being very busy. Great bar too, lovely atmosphere. Relaxed and friendly. Will definitely return it's just right. The room was one of the nicest we've stayed in, very good quality everything - Just great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie W
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review

Thank you Sophie for your wonderful review. It seems the Shore House was very much to your liking and that's fabulous. Everyone here does their best to give guests an enjoyable time with us and it's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Hope we see you here again. Gillian Curtis

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed a couple of drinks, in the very homely bar, and we're lucky enough to get a table for dinner in the very busy restaurant. The choice of speciality beers and single malt whisky went down a treat. Our meals were delicious and served by very friendly staff. We are hoping to return in the near future to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LillyDumfries
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your superb review. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your meal and the delights of our 'wee bar'. I hope you can come and stay at the Shore House before too long. Gillian Curtis

Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

The restaurant is at a lovely spot at top of the loch but unfortunately appears to be very rarely open. We visited on a Monday and the inn was totally dubbed up with no bar or anything. We did see a notice saying it was closed on Mondays and Tuesday's. So we phoned for a table on Wednesday to be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steven S
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review

Your review is not accurate. We are open five days a week Wednesday to Sunday and have chosen to operate our business this way for the last eight years. It works very well for us. You were certainly not told we were closed on a Wednesday but were most likely told the restaurant was fully booked, as it often is...

Reviewed 6 August 2016

Have just returned from a night at the Shore House Inn. It is now a lovely memory. The location is amazing, the food was fresh and tasty and served in a dining room with a gorgeous view and the room was elegant and very comfortable. We hope to return! M&E

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of the Shore House. It's very satisfying to have such good feedback from happy guests. I look forward to welcoming you back one day. Gillian Curtis

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgoilhead
12.3 km away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,314 reviews
10.3 km away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,069 reviews
11.1 km away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
0.5 km away
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
0.2 km away
The Goil Inn
The Goil Inn
#2 of 2 in Lochgoilhead
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Shore House loch-side guesthouse sits on the waters edge at the head of beautiful Loch Goil. Formerly an inn, the Shore House offers bed, breakfast and evening meals exclusively for residents only. There are four comfortable en-suite bedrooms, a residents bar and stunning loch-view lounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Shore House

Address: Lochgoilhead | Argyll, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Price Range: $151 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Shore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Shore House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Shore House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2 has nice view.”
 of 5 bubbles 468jant, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a loch view”
 of 5 bubbles gacks, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The loch view is so special”
 of 5 bubbles 496sophiew, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room with a loch view”
 of 5 bubbles elainer563, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Some have better views - worth paying for the slightly better room although the public areas also have the view”
 of 5 bubbles P8227YXmarkm, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5