We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Rhu
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

538 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 528: English reviews
Start your review of Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
 Click to rate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the worse sleep I have ever had in a hotel – bed was rock solid, pillows had the consistency of cement. I needed a bath the next day to ease off the pain & stiffness in my back. The bath brought its own problems as the extractor fan in the toilet did not work and I was concerned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louiseluvstravel
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post this very poor review of your visit to Rosslea. Fortunately you are the only person who had anything negative to say about the weekend you speak of. I presume you were a guest at Lyndsey and Kyle's wedding as you mention the wedding rate for bedrooms. The feedback from all...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked an overnight and enjoyed it very much. Very well located in a lovely part of the country. We had an evening meal in the bar and have to say it was poor value and not that good. We would not choose to eat there again , but as we weren't too close to anywhere else and wanted a drink...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank graham m
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graham, Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with fellow travellers and I am pleased to note the positive aspects of your visit. I am disappointed however to read that you were unhappy with the food which to be honest is very unusual but I accept your views as not everyone has the same opinion. I...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here last Friday night (3/3/17) with my fiancé after getting a great deal on Facebook - 4 course meal, overnight stay and full Scottish breakfast for £65 per couple. We paid an extra £10 for sea view - gorgeous! We had stayed before last year and loved the hotel and have actually booked our wedding here this summer! Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pammy_Ax
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Pammy, Thank you for your very kind words and for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and it wont be long until your special day. I am looking forward to that too. Thanks again and see you both soon. Kind Regards Don

Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked the Country Rose Afternoon Tea for my daughter's birthday on Saturday. Lovely selection of sandwiches. Three of us are vegetarian and had a good choice, not just cheese and tomato that is the usual vegetarian option. Wonderful light sponge cakes and meringues and choice of fruit or plain scones. Plenty refills of coffee. Waiting staff were very attentive. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janemG5878EX
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon jane, Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with others. It is always pleasing to note comments such as yours. I am delighted that you enjoyed our afternoon tea and hope you will visit again in the not to distant future. Kind Regards Don

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Got a terrific deal here, we were guests at a wedding and booked online and got dinner,bed breakfast,late checkout and Sunday lunch for £139 per couple. Terrific value. We knew there would be food at the reception so we were allowed to have a lunch instead of dinner. The room was bright, clean and had a nice sea view, there...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Margaret C
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Margaret, Apologies for my late reply to your very good review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Rosslea. Its particularly pleasing to note your comments regarding the service, we work hard trying to perfect our brand of hospitality and it makes me very proud of the team to read comments such as yours. Hopefully I...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Just returned from a short overnight stay. Lovely hotel in a beautiful location. Rooms were spotless and warm. Staff are fantastic, always acknowledged you with a warm smile and were very helpful. The food was outstanding.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gillian B
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Gillian Thank you for sharing your opinion with others through tripadvisor, it is always reassuring to read reviews such as yours. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable visit as I am sure the staff will also enjoy reading this. Thanks Again Kind Regards Don

Reviewed 4 February 2017

Stayed here on business several times now. It is always friendly and there are plenty of helpful staff on hand. A great breakfast,including the 'full Scottish' the restaurant is excellent and the bar food has a good choice and is always quality. It's always a nice relaxing atmosphere in the bar or restaurant. Lovely views at the front , Will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike Y
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike, Thanks for this very good review and for taking the time to share with fellow travellers. I am delighted that you enjoy our brand of hospitality and look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future. Kind Regards Don

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Can't fault this hotel we had a beautiful room with stunning views, good food in the bar and the a la carte restaurant, breakfasts are a feast so much food it sets you up for the day! the afternoon teas are a delight so much to choose from! the staff are all very polite and helpful, can't do enough for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andreaportas68
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Andrea, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read your comments and that you had a very positive visit. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Don

Gleneely, Donegal, Ireland
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Superb hotel, amazing food ,brilliant staff and so so friendly, rooms lovely and cosy will definitely be back here again, all you could ask for in a hotel, met with a smile and warm welcome the minute we arrived, hotel breaks dont get much better so roll on the next visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathal D
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Cathal, I am also looking forward to welcoming you back, it was great to meet you and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit. Your opinion is important to me and I will make sure the team see this review. Kind Regards Don

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2017

good hotel very friendly welcoming staff, nothing too much trouble. we stayed on a late deal and dbb was included, 3 course dinner was excellent, good choice at breakfast also. 2nd night we ate in bar also very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackie s
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jackie S Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with others through tripadvisor. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable visit. The opinion of our guest's is very important in the development of our brand of hospitality. It makes me so proud to read reviews such as this. I do hope to get the opportunity...

338 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (193)
Viewed
Family Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Seaview Room (16)
Viewed
Single Room (14)
Viewed
Standard Room (19)
Viewed
Suite (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhu
4.9 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
11.0 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
26.8 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
12.8 km away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
21.0 km away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the picturesque village of Rhu overlooking the Firth of Clyde, near Loch Lomond. The Rosslea Hall offers you a choice of traditional elegance and modern facilities. Our award winning Restaurant and wedding venue are famed for the quality of food and service. Built in 1849 by Architect Daniel Walkinshaw, who was so enamoured by Italy in general, decided his house should be italian in style and built on the shores that most resembled his loved Bay of Naples. To this day, with its bell tower clearly visible from the peninsula in Rhu Rosslea still has the Italianate flavour. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Ferry Road | If Travelling by Car Please Use a Neighbouring Post Code of G84 8RL, Rhu, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 8NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Rhu
Price Range: $160 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosslea Hall Country Hotel
Rosslea Hall Country Rhu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view room”
 of 5 bubbles jimthechef, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors and gardenside rooms offer better views and are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahrZ2929OE, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a front facing room to get best views.”
 of 5 bubbles thetraveller435, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“not room 2 unless you have mobility issues, due to church bells”
 of 5 bubbles squiddyEastry, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No problems with noise..rm2 groundfloor is lovely (and accessible),large room and huge ensuite.”
 of 5 bubbles 597patsyj, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5