We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ben Doran Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ben Doran Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

473 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 473: English reviews
Start your review of Ben Doran Hotel
 Click to rate
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

This was a trip organised by my elderly parents and I tagged along to help due to their poor health. The price worked out at around £35 per night incl meals, coach to location and trips (occas optional small extra for additional part to tour). The negative comments I have read seem to me to be based on unrealistic expectations....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeeEH4
Rushden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We spent 4 days here between Christmas and new year 2016 courtesy of Highland Heritage coach tours. It took twelve we hours to get there making four stops including a bus change over. The staff let the hotel down. We found that most if not all the staff were all East European and some of them were very rood to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Barry H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Kept meaning to add a short review being too busy until seeing the previous remarks. A previous customer of Highland Heritage then staying at the Alexandra at Oban, I had expectations of a enjoyable stay and wasn't disappointed. Had a ground floor room, although the restaurant was situated on the third floor the lift was readily accessible. Don't expect luxury...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gatedinter
High-Herit, Public Relations Manager at Ben Doran Hotel, responded to this review

Hi gatedinter Many thanks for your fantastic review, as you have stated, we offer the best value-for-money coach tours to Scotland and our staff work tirelessly to keep our guests happy at all times. Our dining format is designed around catering for large coach parties and hundreds of people who require top service within a very limited timescale. Our food...

Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

This does not fall under the definition of holiday, it is a constant do and don't rush. The hotel is plain and out of date. The only good side was that the hotel was nice and warm. The dining room is only what it says on the door. It is more like a factory canteen, along with being served from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 171sid
belfast
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel provides a great service ...hot food at regular times, entertainment, very reasonably priced bar, friendly eastern European staff, clean rooms with lots of thoughtful extras. BUT it seems to cater for the over 70s crowd. Food is plentiful and varied, you most definitely won't go hungry. Fruit and wine, slippers and gown in the room, lots of tea,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharon l
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Stayed at the Ben Doran for a six day turkey and tinsel and enjoyed every minute.We were welcomed by the manager on arrival and the whole welcome feeling remained throughout our stay.The staff were extremely efficient in serving the excellent meals and the daily cleaning of the rooms.There was entertainment every evening and an excursion every day with tea and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goron58
High-Herit, Public Relations Manager at Ben Doran Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Goron58 Wow!!!, you sound like you had a fantastic time! Everyone loves the Highland Heritage Turkey & Tinsel format as it offers such great value for money and fun! Please come back and visit us again soon, all the best from the HH Team.

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Went to the Ben Doran hotel for a really great 4 night stay over New Year. Good crowd of silver surfers and good fun with dancing and fancy dress. Musical entertainment was fun especially a singer with a comedy repartee. Good simple food served by lovely staff. Nice bedrooms but no walk in shower so difficult for a wheelchair user....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joy m
High-Herit, Public Relations Manager at Ben Doran Hotel, responded to this review

Hi joy m Many thanks for your 5 star review, I'm so glad you enjoyed the 4 day stay, the Ben Doran is such a great place to stay due to the beautiful surrounding scenery! Please come back and visit us soon, all the best from the HH team

Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We stayed over Christmas with a Highland Heritage package. I have to say that overall it was probably good value for money but the experience could have been better. The hotel and rooms were warm and clean and, as reported by other guests, the Eastern European staff were hard working, pleasant and helpful. Our twin room was a good size...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lupabianca
yorkshire england
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We last visited this hotel in 2011,,so knew what to expect. Overall we had a really enjoyable time again.The hotel is very clean and well kept. We thought the food was not has good as last time,starters no imagination,potatoes not cooked,sweets not really enjoyable,but you get what you pay for. Entertainment brilliant on 2 nights not good on the other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annemalc
High-Herit, Public Relations Manager at Ben Doran Hotel, responded to this review

Hi annemalc Many thanks for taking time to review us, please come back and visit us in the highlands soon, all the best from the HH team

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Had a great time good food always hot and good choice. he trips were good and the coach driver was knowledgeable, excellent staff always helpful , the drinks were reasonabley priced overall a great stay would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robothr
High-Herit, Public Relations Manager at Ben Doran Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Robothr Glad you had a great time, many thanks for taking time to write the review, we wish you all the best for 2017! Come back and visit us again soon, all the best from the HH team

173 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (161)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyndrum
7.5 km away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
9.5 km away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
230 reviews
14.7 km away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bridge of Orchy
871 reviews
8.4 km away
Inverardran Guest House
Inverardran Guest House
#3 of 11 in Crianlarich
153 reviews
7.6 km away
Ewich House
Ewich House
#1 of 11 in Crianlarich
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With return coach transport form your local pick up point, and with its stunning setting in the village of Tyndrum, the Ben Doran is a great place to stay. Purpose built for Highland Heritage group by Ian Cleaver, MD, this beautifully kept hotel has a sparkling glazed entrance filled with flowers and plants providing year round colour. Uniquely, the dining room and the lounges can be found on the top floor making the most of the location's spectacular views. Here you can admire the panoramic outlook across the glens and mountains. Free WIFI in Quiet Room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ben Doran Hotel

Address: Tyndrum, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Number of rooms: 240
Also Known As:
Ben Doran Hotel Tyndrum, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ben Doran Hotel staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Ben Doran Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It is a coach trip so expect long journey times but well worth it upon arrival.”
 of 5 bubbles ken271, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a room on the 1st floor facing the back. It was extremely quiet and we slept very well.”
 of 5 bubbles 529mavisr, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Only three floors, restaurant on top floor. We on second floor which was easily accessible via lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles hangoverlizzie, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms at the hotel are to a high standard. If you have special requirements ask when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles bodelzi, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“With a view and without electric meter”
 of 5 bubbles Mabel1969, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5