We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ben Doran Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ben Doran Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

478 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 478: English reviews
Start your review of Ben Doran Hotel
 Click to rate
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went on a coach trip with Highland Heritage to Ben Doran for 5 days, had a fantastic time, lovely hotel, great staff, good trips, good food, well worth the money. Excellent value. Had a need to visit the hospital, Fraser the manager was very professional and helpful, he could not have done more. The age group was a good mixture,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a 5 night stay with highland heratage at the Ben doran hotel ansd it was brilliant .the rooms were spotless got slippers dressing gown bowl of fruit 2 small bottles of wine te coffee chocolate biscuits . Loads of towels and plenty hot water. The views from the restaurant are amazing the staff were fantastic.the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F0li0
Nottingham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here this week the manager gave us a warm welcome as staff took our bags to the room on entering the hotel you can tell it's well looked after clean and well decorated our room was on the ground floor which was a large room well decorated it had a flat screen TV with 2 leather chairs and bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jackapp
stoke on trent staffs
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We traveled to Scotland from Stoke on 28/03 2017 with Highland Heritages own coach, the journey time was 7 hours but with 2 stops the actual time on the coach was 5 hours driving. The courier/driver was Josef and he was brilliant, although he was originally from Czechoslovakia his knowledge of both England and Scotland was awesome and he made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vondoenitz
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Before I review the Hotel think where you live, From Leicester where I boarded the coach at 6.30 a.m. 24th March it is a normal twelve hours journey. Because the M6 was closed due to a fatality the coach was diverted onto the A43 at Cannock.( It was 10.20 a.m.)as was everyone else. I arrived at the Hotel at 12.43...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David S
High-Herit, Public Relations Manager at Ben Doran Hotel, responded to this review

Hi David S thank you for the review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, please come back and visit us in the highlands soon, all the best from the Highland Heritage Staff!

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was a trip organised by my elderly parents and I tagged along to help due to their poor health. The price worked out at around £35 per night incl meals, coach to location and trips (occas optional small extra for additional part to tour). The negative comments I have read seem to me to be based on unrealistic expectations....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DeeEH4
High-Herit, Public Relations Manager at Ben Doran Hotel, responded to this review

Hi DeeEH4 thank you so much for taking time to review Highland Heritage and the Ben Doran Hotel. We try our hardest to offer the very best value for money coach tours to the highlands in the UK and your review proves it!!! Our staff are our biggest asset and I thank you for acknowledging that! Please come back and...

Rushden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We spent 4 days here between Christmas and new year 2016 courtesy of Highland Heritage coach tours. It took twelve we hours to get there making four stops including a bus change over. The staff let the hotel down. We found that most if not all the staff were all East European and some of them were very rood to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Barry H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Kept meaning to add a short review being too busy until seeing the previous remarks. A previous customer of Highland Heritage then staying at the Alexandra at Oban, I had expectations of a enjoyable stay and wasn't disappointed. Had a ground floor room, although the restaurant was situated on the third floor the lift was readily accessible. Don't expect luxury...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gatedinter
High-Herit, Public Relations Manager at Ben Doran Hotel, responded to this review

Hi gatedinter Many thanks for your fantastic review, as you have stated, we offer the best value-for-money coach tours to Scotland and our staff work tirelessly to keep our guests happy at all times. Our dining format is designed around catering for large coach parties and hundreds of people who require top service within a very limited timescale. Our food...

Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

This does not fall under the definition of holiday, it is a constant do and don't rush. The hotel is plain and out of date. The only good side was that the hotel was nice and warm. The dining room is only what it says on the door. It is more like a factory canteen, along with being served from...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 171sid
belfast
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel provides a great service ...hot food at regular times, entertainment, very reasonably priced bar, friendly eastern European staff, clean rooms with lots of thoughtful extras. BUT it seems to cater for the over 70s crowd. Food is plentiful and varied, you most definitely won't go hungry. Fruit and wine, slippers and gown in the room, lots of tea,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharon l
High-Herit, Public Relations Manager at Ben Doran Hotel, responded to this review

Hi sharon l thanks for taking time to review us, have a great 2017!

173 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (161)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyndrum
7.5 km away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
9.5 km away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
233 reviews
25.8 km away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Clifton Cottage
Clifton Cottage
#6 of 7 in Tyndrum
12 reviews
9.8 km away
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bridge of Orchy
883 reviews
8.4 km away
Inverardran Guest House
Inverardran Guest House
#3 of 11 in Crianlarich
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With return coach transport form your local pick up point, and with its stunning setting in the village of Tyndrum, the Ben Doran is a great place to stay. Purpose built for Highland Heritage group by Ian Cleaver, MD, this beautifully kept hotel has a sparkling glazed entrance filled with flowers and plants providing year round colour. Uniquely, the dining room and the lounges can be found on the top floor making the most of the location's spectacular views. Here you can admire the panoramic outlook across the glens and mountains. Free WIFI in Quiet Room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ben Doran Hotel

Address: Tyndrum, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Number of rooms: 240
Also Known As:
Ben Doran Hotel Tyndrum, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ben Doran Hotel staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Ben Doran Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on second floor great views and up one flight to restaurant and bar”
F0li0, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“if you go to bed after the evening meal get a ground floor room!!!!”
vondoenitz, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are on ground or first floor. Try for one with a view of the mountains (not mountains but I can`t recall what you call them.)”
H3518WPdavids, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It is a coach trip so expect long journey times but well worth it upon arrival.”
ken271, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a room on the 1st floor facing the back. It was extremely quiet and we slept very well.”
86mir, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5