We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Portpatrick Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Portpatrick Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

466 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Portpatrick Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 465: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2015 via mobile

A quiet hotel with very nice views across Portpatrick. I think they are trying to refurbish the hotel as the reception areas/hallways and bar/restaurant areas are all very good quality. I can only speak about my room, but I feel like they need to start to do up the rooms as they were cold and the paint/wallpaper was not brilliant,... More 

Helpful?
Thank James C
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are continuing or refurbishment programme this year with more bedrooms & bathrooms being upgraded. More 

Clackmannanshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2015

Have visited PortPatrick many times & always wanted to stay in the hotel ,I was not disappointed when at last I got to stay there . The staff were both friendly & helpful, & the food very good .Spectacular location & views although I do think nearly £40 a night extra for a room with a sea view a bit... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sueandianf5863
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. The £40 is per couple and is for the superior, larger rooms. You can get a sea view from £7.50 per person. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2015 via mobile

Having just returned this hotel I wouldn't recommend it . Driving up to the front entrance , it's definitely needing a lick of paint, but to be fair it will get the brunt of the weather due to it's location. When we checked in we were given a key to our apartment , when we opened the door there was... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank BevLove
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

It was unfortunate that the apartment you were first allocated had not been serviced. Oversights like this do happen in hotels from time to time. It is not something that’s done intentionally. You were issued another apartment within seconds of bringing this to our attention. You did pay £95 for a “Self Catering” apartment which can sleep up to 6... More 

Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2015 via mobile

A very spacious contemporary self catering apartment ( No 1) directly overlooking the beautiful village of Portpatrick, harbour and sea. Weather was so good could see Ireland every day. A well appointed 2 bedroom apartment allowing you to cook or eat well in the hotel ( good bar menu) or locally as you choose. I didn't eat in the restaurant... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank adnilyesac
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind comments on the staff, accommodation and facilities we provide. I would also like to thank your for informing other Trip Advisors users how nice a place Portpatrick is. We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future. More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2015

Another great stay at this hotel. Warm comfotrable room very clean with plenty of hot water - essential after a day's walking. The staff are friendly and efficient and the food excellent with plenty of choice. This hotel provides excellent value for money and is situated in a lovely position above the harbour providing spectacular views.

Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn440
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. I do hope we see you again More 

Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2015

My wife and I visited this hotel on 23rd March 2015. It's a lovely hotel in a wonderful position. The views from the lounge and the terrace are out of this world. The hotel is only a short distance from the village, where there are a couple of pubs and restaurants. It's a quiet and restful place, weather permitting. This... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank tony5998
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I’m glad you enjoyed not only the hotel but also the village. It is a restful, peaceful place to visit. Please call again. More 

Rotherham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2015

Had a 5 day break with Shearings. The driver Simon was knowledgeable and added to the enjoyment of our excursions. The Hotel is in a magnificent setting. Our room 103 was clean, warm and had comfortable beds. The Bathroom was lovely, appeared to have been recently refurbished. We found all the staff that we encountered were very friendly. Didn't take... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank holidaylovingnan
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for writing. Simon has now moved onto Dornoch for the summer season. I am sure he will be as thorough there as he was here with his tour. We only stop the entertainment for the main season (June – September) as most guests like to go out in the bright nights so perhaps we need to word the brochure... More 

paisley
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2015 via mobile

I spent the weekend on a Caledonian Bus Tour. My room was a small double with shower/ bath. It was very clean! Other people on the tour had fabulous views of sea but I had a view of golf course. As they paid twice as much as me I have no reason for complaint. Food was good, service in restaurant... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hmbpaisley
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind words. The view of the golf course is not the worst view you will ever see. In fact, most find it to be quite pleasant. There are lots of hotels out there where you look onto a brick wall or into someone’s room. It’s hard to believe you were on the same couch... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2015

Come on Shearings, put your hand in your pocket and get a window put into apartment 3 !! There have been several comments about this. I have stayed 3 times in these excellent apartments and will do so again. Let there be light !

Helpful?
Thank mrgoodison
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Being a listed building, it’s not quite as easy as it sounds to put a window into the apartment lounge. It is something we would really like and we are looking into it. thanks for the review. More 

Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2015

really friendly place all of the staff are very friendly helpful nothing was too much trouble for them the rooms very comfortable clean and a lot were refurbished the lounge had big picture windows which gave a lovely view of the village below as the hotel is on the edge of the cliff the entertainment was very good our room... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeandodd
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for writing. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and I do hope that we do see you again. More 

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (234)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.2 km away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
291 reviews
0.3 km away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
218 reviews
3.2 km away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
102 reviews
18.4 km away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
9.4 km away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Portpatrick is a small fishing village set in a peaceful and unspoilt corner of Southern Scotland. The Portpatrick Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore this delightful area. The Portpatrick Hotel is a spectacular property standing on Galloway’s clifftops in nine acres of grounds, overlooking the village and its secluded harbour. The area is a haven for lovers of sports and the outdoors, with its own tennis court and 9-hole golf course. You’ll also find a variety of wonderful opportunities for birdwatching and fishing. From the hotel you can enjoy day trips to nearby Stranraer, magnificent historical sites and gardens, or even a trip by ferry to Northern Ireland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Portpatrick Hotel

Address: Heugh Road, Portpatrick DG9 8TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Price Range: $122 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Portpatrick Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Portpatrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Portpatrick Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Lichfield, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Ayr, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Coleraine, United Kingdom

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Portpatrick Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Its worth getting a upgrade if you like views.”
 of 5 bubbles JackieA284, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I believe you can pay an extra one of payment of £10 and choose your room. Sea view being the most desirable of course.”
 of 5 bubbles moragn692, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I think most of the rooms in this hotel are quite as it is at the end of the road and there is a wonderful view from the back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles GeorgeOB, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“corner room with turret, on the upper floors, quiet, spacious and fantastic view”
 of 5 bubbles orchid382016, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Can be noisy on top floor in windy conditions”
 of 5 bubbles MalcolmS873, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay