We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castle Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$64*
View Deal
29/06/2017 30/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lowest price we found
US$64*
View Deal
in partnership withBooking.com
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

397 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 392: English reviews
Start your review of Castle Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I am not sure where the people below (reviews) stayed but it doesn't sound like this hotel when i stayed there. Room was dull, depressing, unclean, no hot drink facilities, awful bathroom with no loo roll. Checked back out within 20mins. No staff. Still charged £90 !!!!!!!!!!!!!! what a bloody cheek. The worst hotel i have ever been to.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NetSurv
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

How odd that this reviewer posted this as a second review & deleted their first ? This couple were booked into a Better Room, upgraded to a Best Room on arrival (Room 5, see photographs) and a short time later crept downstairs (on camera), deposited the room key on reception & left. They did not wait to speak to or...

Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the Nelson suite - this was the room we had stayed in 25 years ago on our honeymoon night! Staff left us a bottle of bubbly to help us celebrate which was a lovely touch. The room was great and the welcome superb. We had brought our dog, Luqa, with us and he was welcomed as a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pam S
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were lucky enough to be upgraded as the better room cancelled, but all the rooms here are very nice. Excellent breakfast, clean, comfortable facilities, private car parking. Ticks all the boxes, recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trackdemon
Mickleton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a friends birthday. Not been here before and found it via booking.com. Great welcome when we got there. The room was a basic one ( you can choose when you book - price alters accordingly) but apart from the view being poor ( which we weren't worried about) it was absolutely fine and the bed was extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Overall 4 stars. LLANDOVERY: a lovely town to visit. Quirky little shops and plenty of places to eat. Behind the hotel there are the castle ruins & an impressive sculpture of Llywelyn ap Gruffydd ROOM:Stayed in Room 1 "Lady Hamilton" which was clean but a little tired looking. (The portrait of Lady Hamilton made us chuckle as she looked more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janno58
Rhondda Cynon Taff
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed the 1 night for our joint birthdays. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. This is a lovely old hotel. As it's on the main road and the windows are the old sash ones there was some traffic noise in the morning but we knew that would be the case anyway. We'd definitely stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walkingstick4
Hayle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly and helpful staff.Had a family get together meal on the first evening,which was hot,good standard and reasonably priced.Especially pleased with bar prices,which were cheap for a Hotel. Roast before leaving on Sunday was great,albeit a little slow in being served.They were busy and our group was large,so nothing to complain about. Would happily recommend to others and visit again.Thanks.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janner123
ross on wye
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An old fashioned slightly down at heel country hotel. Staff were lovely - nothing too much trouble. Room was good, well stocked and clean. Some of the food was quite innovative and generally well cooked. Breakfast was disappointing. Mostly DIY which I expect nowadays, juice/cereals/ tea,coffee and toast. The "production line" toaster is quite literally a waste of space but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnRossOnWye
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We enjoyed our evening meal served by friendly, helpful staff. Our room (a "better" room) was comfortable and spacious. The lounge with open (gas) fire was also homely and comfortable but outside was a little rough around the edges.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Room lovely ,clean comfy bedding , plenty fresh towels and toiletries food plenty of nicely cooked and presented and good value . Great with the Dog also would go again and recommend to anyone any age

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane S

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
29/06/2017 30/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandovery
18.2 km away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
435 reviews
32.9 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
894 reviews
0.1 km away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Llandovery
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#6 of 13 in Llandovery
86 reviews
0.0 km away
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Llandovery
70 reviews
9.2 km away
Llanerchindda Farm
Llanerchindda Farm
#1 of 13 in Llandovery
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newly refurbished Castle Hotel in Llandovery has recently been reopened, by the small family run business, Taste Inn Wales owned and managed Sean Gerrard, Glyn and Jessica Bridgeman. The rooms, lovingly refurbished and their interior is honest, friendly and welcoming to all. Whether you are planning an outdoor activity break on the mountains, water, or in the air, our facilities are ideally suited to help you rest, recharge and recover. The bar and restaurant serve high quality local produce, cooked simply and beautifully. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Llandovery SA20 0AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Price Range: $95 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
over a year ago
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nelson suite is large. Some noise from the road but not too bad after 8pm.”
427pams, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Our larger double room was great”
trackdemon, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“If you can afford it go for an upgrade,and ask for a room NOT above function room.A disco was noisy but stopped at 2300hrs as advised.”
janner123, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“go for a best room beds are huge !”
janesD830MM, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from the kitchen extractor fan! ( room 118)”
fletchsteve, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$64* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$64
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates