We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

360 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 355: English reviews
Llanwrtyd Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We last had a meal here with friends on New Years Day and have had two or three meals previously. The food was very good, some unusual dishes which is nice. They have a good specials board which is great because being a pescetarian means that the main menu would be limited after a couple of visits. The service was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Virginia E
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked this hotel for my parents (Lawrence) and they really enjoyed their nights stay. They said the staff were very friendly and helpful. Lovely old features and sat by the fire to have their food. They said food was amazing and tasty. And really good prices too. They will be going back for more visits in the future! Keep up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Unbeatable value for money both the accommodation and the food. Dogs are just as welcome as their owners with friendly staff and excellent service. Courtesy of groupon we had a "best" room which was spacious and well equipped although the wifi was marginal-worked fine in the bar though! We will certainly be back soon. The only very minor complaint being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

I think that we discussed the Wi-Fi issues whilst you were here. Hopefully once BT have completed their works, normal service will resume. Regards the bread, I agree that artisan bread is delicious but we tend to find the majority prefer processed sliced for breakfast & indeed that fits our budget !

Pembrokeshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the Castle for lunch, the service was faultless. The food was served quickly and in a pleasant manner. We have eaten at the Castle many times in the past and its alway been of an excellent standard. It may seem a little thing to mention, but the chips are amazing. I think cooked in beef dripping - a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pembs79
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Yes the chips are cooked in Dripping, triple cooked for maximum flavour, whilst skinny fries & sweet potato fries are vegetarian friendly. Thank you for your kind comments & see you soon.

Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was going to receive a 4 from me on initial impressions but the dog friendliness, lovely staff and food for the money you pay pushed me to a 5! The hotel has faults but mostly only in the wear and tear aspects that come from an old building too. Our room was nice and had all we needed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bub72
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

So pleased that you (& your dog) enjoyed your stay with us. Decor & Maintenance is always an issue in listed properties but we do our best and refurbishment is on going.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just stayed for 1 night and we, and our dog were made very welcome. The bedroom was comfortable . The only quibble we had with the room was there was no hot water in the bathroom in the morning. We reported this on the way out. Dinner and breakfast were good but not exceptional. I would stay in The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre W
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear about the hot water situation. We have had a few glitches with the heating & water over the festive season but I think that all is now in hand.

Wales UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms are warm and comfortable.Staff, some very friendly others miserable. Disappointed with downstairs ladies toilets. They were really smelly, so smelly you did not want to visit. They needed a good clean.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KAYLYNWALESUK
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. There is a problem with the drain in Ladies toilets & action is being taken.

Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for New Years Eve - will definitely not be out last visit. Chose it because there was no 'big' celebration organised and although there was a disco in the ballroom this did not stop us enjoying ourselves sitting in front if the fire in the lounge. I was rung about a week before we went to ask wgat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 631SuW
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Glad that you had such a good time & we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a tiring 12 hour drive and arriving much later than originally envisaged at 8.00 p.m. on a cold, wet and foggy evening, one of the nicest ways to rejuvenate the spirits is to settle into a warm comfortable environment. Even better is to be informed on registration that you are being upgraded to a superior room for the 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BLACKBOYS
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Apologies regarding the lights over the mirror. We did respond to your complaint however but unfortunately replacement bulbs did not solve the problem & a replacement fitting has to be scheduled. I am pleased that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay.

Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

This is a mixed review and I would not wish to put anyone off but I can only relay my own experience. I booked via Booking.com and chose a D,B&B rate. I contacted the hotel to confirm a few details ie. booking in times, booking out times, dinner times and was directed to their website. I had already browsed this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mevs44
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

So sorry to hear about this. We thought this problem had been solved. My very next job will be to forward this to the plumber. Reference the information situation I can only imagine that the phone was answered by a junior member of staff however this does not excuse it & I will increase the levels of training in this...

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandovery
33.0 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
809 reviews
18.2 km away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
392 reviews
28.1 km away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
740 reviews
26.8 km away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
279 reviews
0.1 km away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#4 of 13 in Llandovery
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newly refurbished Castle Hotel in Llandovery has recently been reopened, by the small family run business, Taste Inn Wales owned and managed Sean Gerrard, Glyn and Jessica Bridgeman. The rooms, lovingly refurbished and their interior is honest, friendly and welcoming to all. Whether you are planning an outdoor activity break on the mountains, water, or in the air, our facilities are ideally suited to help you rest, recharge and recover. The bar and restaurant serve high quality local produce, cooked simply and beautifully. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Llandovery SA20 0AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Price Range: $86 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
over a year ago
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Treat yourself to best or the suite”
 of 5 bubbles bub72, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 - Comfortable bedroom. However, as situated in the front of the hotel not ideal for light sleepers as there is some noise.”
 of 5 bubbles BLACKBOYS, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Do not book room 12 or 14 as right next to boiler which ignites every 5 minutes.”
 of 5 bubbles mevs44, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front can suffer from traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles Cranside, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Wherever is furthest away from the anaerobic digester!”
 of 5 bubbles Elzzza, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay