We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Monachty

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Monachty
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Monachty
See the most recent reviews
Showing 176: English reviews
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Clean but shabby room ( room 5) at £85 a tad expensive for a pub in the centre of town. The room was clean. The room was quiet being clear of any extract fans. No grab rails in the bathroom. THE ROOM IS NOT DISABLED FRIENDLY Breakfast service was haphazard and the full breakfast was minuscule and did not set...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
TheMonachtyHotel, General Manager at Monachty, responded to this review

Hi Andy M Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Your comments have been taken onboard and passed onto the team. We do not advertise our rooms as disabled friendly, this is due to all accommodation being on the first floor and unfortunately we do not have a lift. The room you stayed in was our family...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Myself and my Partner were very surprised to read a review on here which states that the venue is "dog friendly". I do hope that the management are able to reply to this posting. Myself and my Partner needed to grab a bite to eat, mid afternoon, one day a couple of weeks ago. The town was surprisingly quiet, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adam12345678
TheMonachtyHotel, General Manager at Monachty, responded to this review

Hi Adam1234678 Thank you for taking the time to share your views on trip advisor. I'm sorry to hear you felt this was the way you were treated. However, I was the "smiley yet firm young lady" that you refer to and as I mentioned at the time, you were more than welcome to sit inside at the bar area...

Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Reviews seem dependent on the room you get ! We had room 2 (frosted window with a view of an extremely noisy extractor fan.)Staff member had to look out window when we asked about noise !! Said it would stop at 9 pm !! Stopped at 11 pm . Room very tired and tatty but clean. Breakfast fine but so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
TheMonachtyHotel, General Manager at Monachty, responded to this review

Hi Andrea S Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. I'm sorry to hear than on this occasion, we failed to meet your expectations. We have a grading system with the rooms at The Monachty and room 2 is our standard double option. We keep the prices low because of the lack of view...

Llan Ffestiniog, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2016

We stayed here for 1 night. The adjacent car park was full so we had to park in a side street. The room was clean and bright but the wall light did not work and the shower thermostat was difficult to control. The 2 windows in the room looked out over the picturesque harbour. Our evening meal was value for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jilly2903
TheMonachtyHotel, General Manager at Monachty, responded to this review

Hi Jilly2903 Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Please be advised that all maintenance of the rooms has been addressed and your comments about breakfast service has been looked into. I'm pleased you enjoyed your evening meals and we hope you stay with us again next time you are in the area Kind regards Kate

Reviewed 3 July 2016

Stayed here for just the one night, but would have loved to have stayed longer. Very large and comfortable room with a magnificent view of the beautiful harbour. Large, free car park just next to the hotel. We ate on the terrace and the meals were lovely. Breakfast was good, with some different choices, like bacon / sausage baps. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula F
TheMonachtyHotel, General Manager at Monachty, responded to this review

Hi Paula F Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and its great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit the area Kind regards Kate

Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

We turned up late on a busy Saturday night looking for food after a long eventful journey. We were so late, in fact that the kitchen was closing. However the manager went into the kitchen and spoke to the chef who said it was no problem to stay open and cook us a meal. Now, usually if you turn up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TyddewiTank
TheMonachtyHotel, General Manager at Monachty, responded to this review

Hi TyddewiTank Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely 5* review. We are delighted you enjoyed your time at The Monachty and we look forward to welcoming you again soon Kind regards Kate

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Lovely, friendly pub. Well presented as you would expect in a small harbour village. The food was very nice although the drinks a little pricier than their neighbouring pubs. Would have preferred the TV not to have been on continuously though. Dogs allowed in the front seating area which was a bonus too. Staff were very friendly and smiled a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tasmin1963
TheMonachtyHotel, General Manager at Monachty, responded to this review

Hi Tasmin1963 Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. We are proud to be dog friendly, also providing water bowls and dog treats for your dog to enjoy. We hope to welcome you back in the near future Kind regards Kate

Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2016

a group of 8, 3 couples 2 friends just enjoyed another good weekend (june10&11 2016) at the Monachty Aberaeron the room was clean tidy and in reasonable repair and like to say that the young staff have improved since my last visit 2 years ago nothing was to much trouble, this brains pub can be fauted if you want to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JayPhillips1968
TheMonachtyHotel, General Manager at Monachty, responded to this review

Hi JayPhillips1968 Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. I'm delighted to hear that you and your party enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards Kate

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Stayed here whilst visiting from Australia. The room was clean, light and all round good value for money with an excellent breakfast. I was worried it would be noisy but this wasn't the case. The staff were fantastic, particularly the manager (I think her name was Kate). I was really jet lagged and she went out of her way to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
TheMonachtyHotel, General Manager at Monachty, responded to this review

Hi Laura D Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and share your observations on trip advisor. Myself and the team are delighted you had a great stay. I will ensure your comments are passed on and we hope to see you again next time you are in the area. Kind regards Kate

chippenham
Reviewed 4 May 2016

The bathroom was very tatty and not the cleanest. The whole place was a bit scruffy and not somewhere I'd choose to stay in again. However the breakfast was a lot better than expected. And there was no parking.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BristolArchie
TheMonachtyHotel, General Manager at Monachty, responded to this review

Hi BristonArchie, I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations, I am surprised by your comments but I will take these on board and continue to look for ways to improve as a business. I am pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and will ensure your comments are passed onto the kitchen team. Kind regards Kate

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.0 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
151 reviews
0.3 km away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
197 reviews
19.0 km away
The Black Lion Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 km away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
656 reviews
6.4 km away
Plas Morfa Hotel
Plas Morfa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanon
53 reviews
18.1 km away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Monachty Arms is a small, individually run 8 bedroomed hotel situated in the holiday coastal town of Aberaeron on the beautiful west Wales coast 20 minutes south of Aberystwyth.Internationally noted for its fine original Georgian architecture, Aberaeron is equally famed for the brightly coloured houses which nestle sleepily round the picturesque harbour.The hotel is owned and operated to a high standard by the Welsh brewer, S A Brain and Company, known for high standards of comfort and customer care. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monachty

Address: 7 Market Street, Aberaeron SA46 0AS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Price Range: $113 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monachty 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Monachty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Monachty staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wonderful views”
 of 5 bubbles verinajohn, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room number 6 - excellent view”
 of 5 bubbles FionaNorthWales, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 is a family room and more expensive”
 of 5 bubbles andymK3007SB, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 7 has superb views of the harbour”
 of 5 bubbles Jilly2903, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a harbour view - it's worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles 153paulaf, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay