We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Monachty

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Monachty
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Monachty
See the most recent reviews
Showing 194: English reviews
W Wales
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Went for a bank holiday lunch......was informed of a delay of approx three quarters of an hour...decided to wait as everywhere was understandably busy due to the annual carnival. Was disgusted to have to wait an hour and a half!...the food was terrible with hard eggs, tough and dry gammon, new pots like bullets!! Not to mention tasteless vedge and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank izzyWWales
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days in middle of August, we were worried about noise but it turned out there was no need. Staff made us feel welcome upon arrival and helped bring the bags up to our room, the room itself was clean, bright and had fab views overlooking the picturesque harbour. We ate here on 2 out of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank welshtraveller172
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Just better than the usual pub grub. Prices not bad compared to some places, especially if you choose from the two meals for £12 menu option (Mon-Fri). Good kids choice menu. Drinks reasonable. Only downside was polite but sourfaced waitress. We felt like we were being a bother asking for more sauce., but everyone has a bad day don't they,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

arrived at the hotel. Got told we only had one room. Had to tell the guy on the bar that we had booked 2 rooms. This was soon solved and we were given the keys. We were told we had two keys, one for the room and one for the downstairs door for once the bar was closed. Luckily we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 979george
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

After sitting for nearly an hour waiting to be served told that we had to order at bar. Another 50 minites later the food turned up wrong , the 2 mixed grills where very good my steak was well done when asked for medium to rare. Had appology and that the waitress would speak to the manager, waitress retuned to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stuart W
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016

perfect location food was good the only thing i was't happy with was the poached eggs all i could taste was the vinigar that was in the water that they were cooked in haveing said that the full english breakfast was exellent.anyone with walking difficulties the stairs up to the rooms were very steep, bed was comfortble but bit dissapointed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosalyn E
TheMonachtyHotel, General Manager at Monachty, responded to this review

Hi Rosalyn E Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your weekend stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the minor issues you encountered, I will ensure these matters are resolved so they don't happen again. Many thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon Kind...

Tenby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2016

i had ajacket potato with barbequed chicken was was good. my husband had a ploughmans lunch . we were not waiting long for the food. a good choice of snacks and reasonably priced. there is also a beergarden which seemed popularwith families.we ate in the bar which was modernly decorated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mary c
TheMonachtyHotel, General Manager at Monachty, responded to this review

Hi Mary C Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. We hope to see you again soon Kind regards Kate

Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Visited on a bank holiday weekend, and they were extremely busy and we hadn't booked a table. Thankfully we found a seat and ordered food. Although there was over an hour's wait for food - they made us aware of this before we ordered, and as it was so busy we could see why. Happily had a few drinks and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank k2354
TheMonachtyHotel, General Manager at Monachty, responded to this review

Hi k2354 Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Your comments are greatly appreciated and it's lovely to have such positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon Kind regards Kate

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Clean but shabby room ( room 5) at £85 a tad expensive for a pub in the centre of town. The room was clean. The room was quiet being clear of any extract fans. No grab rails in the bathroom. THE ROOM IS NOT DISABLED FRIENDLY Breakfast service was haphazard and the full breakfast was minuscule and did not set...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
TheMonachtyHotel, General Manager at Monachty, responded to this review

Hi Andy M Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Your comments have been taken onboard and passed onto the team. We do not advertise our rooms as disabled friendly, this is due to all accommodation being on the first floor and unfortunately we do not have a lift. The room you stayed in was our family...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Myself and my Partner were very surprised to read a review on here which states that the venue is "dog friendly". I do hope that the management are able to reply to this posting. Myself and my Partner needed to grab a bite to eat, mid afternoon, one day a couple of weeks ago. The town was surprisingly quiet, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adam12345678
TheMonachtyHotel, General Manager at Monachty, responded to this review

Hi Adam1234678 Thank you for taking the time to share your views on trip advisor. I'm sorry to hear you felt this was the way you were treated. However, I was the "smiley yet firm young lady" that you refer to and as I mentioned at the time, you were more than welcome to sit inside at the bar area...

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.3 km away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
215 reviews
0.0 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
160 reviews
32.3 km away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Plas Morfa Hotel
Plas Morfa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanon
56 reviews
17.5 km away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
688 reviews
0.2 km away
Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Monachty Arms is a small, individually run 8 bedroomed hotel situated in the holiday coastal town of Aberaeron on the beautiful west Wales coast 20 minutes south of Aberystwyth.Internationally noted for its fine original Georgian architecture, Aberaeron is equally famed for the brightly coloured houses which nestle sleepily round the picturesque harbour.The hotel is owned and operated to a high standard by the Welsh brewer, S A Brain and Company, known for high standards of comfort and customer care. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monachty

Address: 7 Market Street, Aberaeron SA46 0AS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Price Range: $125 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monachty 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Monachty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monachty staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Monachty staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a harbour view”
TyddewiTank, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We asked for a Harbor view and got it. Nice, unfortunately the windows here are tiny...”
  • View from the terrace
  • View from the terrace
  • View from the terrace
blackbeers, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Wonderful views”
verinajohn, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room number 6 - excellent view”
FionaNorthWales, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 is a family room and more expensive”
andymK3007SB, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates