We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Northop Hall Country House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

398 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 398: English reviews
Start your review of Northop Hall Country House Hotel
 Click to rate
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We first visited on mothering Sunday , we found the restaurant to be very welcoming , the staff very professional & friendly , the food was of a high quality with lots of choice & value for money ! Enjoyable experience ... except the back ground music !! Was the radio 😤... visited again Tuesday evening just the : of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkDUK1974
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We unfortunately booked 4 nights room only and was not impressed. From the drive up it looks good for a wedding venue but not to stay. We arrived about 1340 which was 20 minutes before check in time. The receptionist said she would check to see if our room was ready and apparently not so invited to sit in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheikmilc
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked in here for a family catch up before heading to Chester Zoo on the Sunday. Three rooms, all of varying quality. The worst being 323 - a hot room with an awful sunken bed that needs to be replaced asap. A tv that sits pretty much on the floor so you can't watch it from the bed, oh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gareth F
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gareth F Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us, I was sorry to read your comments - and have investigated the points you made. The TV is on a floor TV floor stand, and the first time we've been criticised for being unable to watch from the bed - I suggest either sit up or...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful country manor in a beautiful setting. Rooms very comfortable and warm, with a large bed. Bathroom facilities excellent. Food in the resteraunt very good and reasonably priced. Staff very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackie6113
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jackie6113, Thank you so much for your great review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Northop Hall. Thank you also for your valued feedback about your accommodation, food in Chequers Restaurant, and most importantly our friendly Team who do take enormous pride in looking after our guests. We look forward to welcoming you here again...

Heysham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this hotel as a second night nr Chester after staying in the Village Hotel down the road. There is no comparison between the two. The staff here are friendly, we had a premier room which was lovely. Nice views and good size too. The lounge bar is cosy and relaxed and has some of the best beer we've...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MsSpammy
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MsSpammy, Thank you so much for your great review, we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your feedback on our Chequers Restaurant, and our friendly Team. We look forward to welcoming you on future visits to North Wales, and thank you again for your valued feedback. Kind regards, Tony Holland

Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a business trip, with late evening arrival. The staff could not have been friendlier, and although we had the dining room to ourselves, the food was simply excellent. The rooms were in the main accommodation block on the first floor, and have clearly been recently fully refurbished. The bed was extremely comfortable, the room was clean and quiet,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris W, Thank you for your great review following your recent overnight stay at Northop Hall Hotel, we were pleased to see all your very positive feedback, which is appreciated by everybody here, who all work hard to look after all our guests. Northop Hall is perfectly located to visit local areas of interest and many businesses in our...

Mirfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A beautiful location and an obvious historical building - a good alternative to staying in downtown Chester at over double the price. This hotel is tired and in need of some attention - however, that won't be cheap and the room rates reflect what you get. Absolutrly no complaints here, its comfy, plenty of parking space and staff are professional...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidAWooo
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DavidAWooo, Thank you for your review following your recent visit, and your kind comments about our friendly professional Team. I was pleased to see you felt we offer good value, and you enjoyed the special terms you were given on this visit. We are constantly making improvements in all areas of the hotel - another bedroom is du for...

Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Beautiful setting with ample parking, was lucky enough to get a free upgrade to a much larger room without asking!! Cosy bar area with open fire large restaurant with a great breakfast menu. Staff were polite and friendly would highly recommend and use again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joannedonovan
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joannedonovan, Thank you for the great review following your recent visit to Northop Hall, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and our great Team looked after you. We do value all our guests feedback, and your kind comments are very much appreciated by everybody here. We look forward to welcoming you on future visits to North...

Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Just had a great 88th birthday week-end here. All round first class - reception, room, food, ambience and staff. Most enjoyable. I have been here on several occasions for lunch and dinner but this was first time to stay. It won't be the lasf.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fakirwinds
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fakirwinds, Thank you for your great review following your visit for the family birthday celebrations, I was please to hear that you all enjoyed your visit and our great 'Team' looked after you all. We look forward to welcoming you all on many future visits. Once again many thanks for your valued feedback. Kind regards, Tony Holland

Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel and had an excellent double bedroom. Plenty of room and a comfortable bed. No noise heard from room. Breakfast and evening meals were excellent. The bar is very quaint and comfortable. Hotel is very much away from anything else. You need to drive everywhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andre B
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andre B, Thank you for your great review following your recent visit, we were pleased to see you enjoyed your visit. I was also pleased to see you enjoyed your meals in our Chequers Restaurant and found your bedroom comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you on future visits to North Wales, please look out for some great all...

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northop Hall
2.8 km away
Beaufort Park Hotel
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
2.8 km away
Soughton Hall Hotel
Soughton Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Northop
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
8.7 km away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
419 reviews
5.3 km away
Mountain Park Hotel
Mountain Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flint
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Northop Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Chester Road, Northop Hall CH7 6HJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Northop Hall
Price Range: $98 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northop Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Northop Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northop Hall Country Hotel
Northop Hall Country Northophall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Northop Hall Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Northop Hall Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Premier Room 315 was quiet, spacious and comfortable. Room overlooked a pebble yard bordered by trees. Just a distant rumble from the A55.”
 of 5 bubbles jilleastbourne, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not sure there are any "good rooms" as other family members had similar experiences to me.”
 of 5 bubbles Z4126BSmikeg, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Superior room is definitely recommended”
 of 5 bubbles Annick-Garrington, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 301 was at the back and lovely and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 980karenw, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No lift so ask for first floor if you do not like stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles Frandis, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5