We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Moelwyn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Moelwyn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 100: English reviews
Brackley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

My partner and stayed here at the end of October. We are fans of Criccieth and have previously eaten here on the Terrace in the Summer. We booked our room on line, which was spacious and had an ensuite bath. The side sash window in the bedroom overlooked the sea and there is usually parking to be had directly outside,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neonlites
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Lovely helpful people who looked after us all so well. Smallish rooms but with everything you need for a weekend away. Lovely breakfasts and they catered for 11 different ones with a smile! Located over the road from the beach so location couldn't have been better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whiskey1412
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Another visit to this pleasant restaurant. Most of the party of 7 had the slow cooked belly pork for the main course and it was absolutely superb. All courses were of a high quality and reasonably priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Family went to the moelwyn had such a bad time stay away at all cost please horrible room simple bad room but this year are staying some were different this is a horrible 😧😧😧😧😧😧😧😧😧😧😧😧😧😧😧😧😧😧😧😧😧😧 what a shame it used to have nice food The photo is from my house

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skyflyhi
MoelwynRest, Owner at The Moelwyn, responded to this review

Firstly If you did stay with us we apologise for not meeting your standards However i do not remember you mentioning any grievances with us and you have definitely not stayed with us in the past year. I completely disagree with your comment and i quote "staying away from us" We have been trading here as a family business for...

Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2016

I say last minute as I think to secure accommodation in North Wales in summer you need to book a good few months ahead - perhaps even a year if you want to be in the heart of Porthmadog!. Our whistle stop tour of North Wales included a trip on the fabulous Ffestiniogg Railway on the first day, staying overnight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2016

I stayed here in a twin room and my parents stayed in a double room. The twin room that I stayed in seemed much more modern, although the furniture seemed very outdated. The twin room also had an amazing view right across the beach and sea. Free wifi was available and accessible in the room. The bed that I slept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MexicoPrincess
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Went as family of five including three children for last minute booking of evening meal. We're on terrace...food was absolutely superb...between us we had the chicken, belly pork, soup, linguine, chicken livers..would have them all again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sam d
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Stayed here for a wedding. Check in isn't till 2, although we arrived earlier with having a wedding at 1pm. Although, our room wasn't ready the kind staff allowed us to drop off our bags and get changed before heading to our event. Lovely breakfast the next day! Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DL12345678910
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, greeted very well at reception and given the keys to our room. First impressions of the room were good a little on the small side but well presented and clean. We found the bed very uncomfortable and was a bit disappointed to find that there was only a bath and no shower in the room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Hotel very good, our room was spacious comfortable. Decorating bit tired . Reception staff were very good. Bar stock was lacking in variety, not unexpected l like real ale. Entertainment was okay, both male and female singers. The hotel was let down by restaurant, service poor . Sometimes waiting 10 to 20 minutes to be served to be told no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
MoelwynRest, Owner at The Moelwyn, responded to this review

This review i can assure you is not for us 1) We do not take coach parties in as we can not accommodate them having only 6 en-suite rooms. 2) We have never provided live entertainment either male or female and is not something we are looking to provide in the future I have contacted Trip advisor regarding this review...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.2 km away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
268 reviews
0.1 km away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
336 reviews
8.9 km away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#5 of 6 in Criccieth
196 reviews
1.4 km away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
6.6 km away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Originally a pair of Victorian Townhouses, Moelwyn offers six en suite, individually furnished bedrooms and a quality restaurant of enviable reputation, specialising in seafoods. The ideal choice for a relaxed short break holiday.With a stylish yet informal atmosphere, the restaurant has established an enviable reputation for the quality of our cuisine and boasts some of the finest views on the North Wales Coast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Moelwyn

Address: Mona Terrace, Criccieth, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Price Range: $148 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moelwyn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Moelwyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Moelwyn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Moelwyn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All come with a view of the bay, but ask to make sure”
 of 5 bubbles robinm405, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay...just had a meal”
 of 5 bubbles samd787, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 1,View amazing.”
 of 5 bubbles 229janeo, 30 Oct 2015 | Read review
“I believe all rooms share the same stunning view!”
 of 5 bubbles MikeTheGreen, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Top floor is quieter as the first floor is above the restaurant and kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles Y3980JRrobb, 18 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay