We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Trecastell Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Trecastell Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Trecastell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 272: English reviews
Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We called in for an evening meal and were met by friendly helpful young staff. We were seated overlooking the stunning views of the bay. For starters we had the pate and goats cheese and steak and gammon for mains and it was all very tasty. Unfortunately we were too full for pudding. Would definitely eat here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrisTim01
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your visit for food. Shame you missed the puddings. Always next time.

Reviewed 10 August 2016

Booked last minute and got a good deal. Receptionist was very friendly and very efficient. I was checked in quickly and shown to my room. I had a single room with ensuite bathroom. Ideal size for one person so no complaints from me. The room was clean and tidy. The bedding and towels etc fresh and clean. I went for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phil M
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for glowing report. Would love to know what you give a 5. See you again we hope

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

had a great 2 night stay at the Trecastell,nice comfy room with tea/coffee & great to have a bottle of water each too. The staff very friendly & helpful,made sure we had a table in the conservatory overlooking the bay for dinner.Lovely light & airy breakfast room overlooking the bay too,choice of cereal,yogurts & cooked breakfast,will definately come back sometime...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 969TracyC969
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you and come back soon.

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

We were a large party and had booked but there was an hour delay on the food. We got a friendly welcome. The food was good but the service was slow and this let them down. A lovely pub in a beautiful area overlooking Bull Bay. Would recommend the bar for drinks.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Buddy C
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you and sorry about the wait for your food and as no one in a long while has complained about the wait for food to us directly, as the speed of service is acceptable to most persons, then I have no idea which party you are refering to. The average wait on food is under 20-30 minutes and that...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We were visiting friends in West Wales and decided to stop off in Anglesey on the way home as we hadn't been there before. Found this hotel on the internet and we were very pleased that we did. We got a very friendly reception on arrival and were given details of the facilities and meal times before we were shown...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gavin j
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and please tell all

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed here not really doing any research before walking in to the reception and booking my room. The view is great although the wooden climbing frame is the first thing you see. The hotel is also a popular pub, with bar food and a children's area which gives the place plenty of atmosphere. The room was clean and compact...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barred R
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and glad that you enjoyed every thing that we are trying to do to make our hotel as good as we can be. I'm not sure what was £20 too expensive as drinks are all under £20 unless a top notch wine and our menu has nothing on over £20 either. If it is the...

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We stayed for 2 nights - double room, deciding to eat at the hotel both nights. Staff friendly enough and ready to help. Breakfast room very neat and quality of breakfast good! Evening meal: fish generally good - hake better than salmon. Starter of whitebait..nicely cooked. Enjoyed the spicy beef penne pasta. Good choice of drinks/bitters at the bar. An...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dom K
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you liked staying with us. Thanks

Weybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We really enjoyed out three nights stay at the family run Trecastell hotel. The hotel is located in the North of Anglesey, on the A5026 coast road. We had excellent meals in the conservatory overlooking Bull Bay. The 14oz rump steak in green pepper sauce was tender and very filling. I also really enjoyed the lamb shank in mint sauce,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John4One
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

I told the wildlife in the bay you were staying and will get new ones for when you come back again and will deduct their wages. Can't get the staff!!!!!! Seriously thanks for the comments and ring and we will see if 5 or 14 are free so you can see the difference.

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016

spent 3 nights again at the Trecastell. Loved every minute. Fantastic views form the hotel room (did upgrade but worth it). Staff very friendly, and helpful. Lovely food, nice bar area, and lovely seating outside. Will definitely be going back next year, can't wait, may go again this year if time! Highly recommend. Love this place!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nicolajohn
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Ah you are so kind. Good to hear that what we are trying to do is working. See you soon

Tutbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016

HI, Nice hotel, clean rooms, good service, excellent location. Booked 2 nights but about 3pm on the second day I had a problem and had to decide to cancel the second night. Fully expected to have to pay for second night but they very generously waived the cost. That's what I call good customer relations.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul C
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

We do try. Ta

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amlwch
1.4 km away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
12.8 km away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
24.5 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 km away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
24.6 km away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
636 reviews
23.3 km away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Trecastell Hotel

Address: Bull Bay, Amlwch LL68 9SA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Amlwch
Price Range: $105 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trecastell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Trecastell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Trecastell Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
3 months ago
Northwich, United Kingdom
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Trecastell Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“worth paying for a room at the front with the amazing sea views”
 of 5 bubbles StephenE974, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Great views , quiet rooms The website does not do the hotel justice.”
 of 5 bubbles darylb466, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“In middle with sea view at front of hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles CarolHurley, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No lift and try for sea view”
 of 5 bubbles johnbC652MQ, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Majority of rooms have sea view”
 of 5 bubbles dwe310, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay