We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bull Bay Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Bull Bay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bull Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 265: English reviews
Staffs
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2016

We had a cheap offer on this hotel dbb 2 night stay. Staff pleasant, location great, delicious breakfast. Bed lumpy but I am used to king size seally so not really surprised, however it was clean. Shower head broken, dribbled water and had to hold shower head in hand..although when I mentioned this I was told they'd get on to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HelenStaffs
Alan C, General Manager at Bull Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Helen, Firstly let me apologise for your evening meal, had you made a comment we maybe could have rectified any problems. So pleased you were happy with breakfast and the cleanliness of the room, we have replaced many of the beds in the hotel in the last year or so but unfortunately I am uncertain of which room you... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Really enjoyed our stay at the Bull Bay Hotel. As in other reviews it is in need of sprucing up, but this was more than compensated for by The Excellent Food Cosy Friendly Bar Extremely Friendly and Helpful Staff and the Views That Are To Die For. We Stayed 2 nights on a Wowcher Deal which was also great value

Helpful?
1 Thank morrispaul10
Alan C, General Manager at Bull Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. Thanks for pointing out the excellent food & friendly helpful staff. Regards Alan More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2016

Went on a wowcher 2 night B&B stay plus dinner.Got the last room so knew we didn't have a sea view The room was clean and beds comfy with kettle and Welcome tea and biscuits nice touch but let down by cracked sink and frayed bath mat struggled with a poor WiFi connection. Dinner consisted of good starters but tough... More 

Helpful?
Thank julie s
Alan C, General Manager at Bull Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, Yes we are aware of the cracked sink, it has been an issue for a while and the brewery have been made aware of it but refused to fix it even though it was broken since the day we moved in. In fact its not the only broken sink which they are aware of. However,... More 

Warrington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Just returned from a little mini break. The location is breathtaking with views all across the bay. Alan and his staff extremely helpful and friendly and nothing too much trouble.Food was exceptional with a varied menu. Hotel and beds very clean. The hotel is a little tired but the staff and atmosphere in the hotel more than make up for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris F
Alan C, General Manager at Bull Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Chris. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Alan More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2016

We spent 3 nights here on a Wowcher which was a great deal. We had a lovely time in an excellent location and all staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is a little "retro" but the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We ate in the bar two nights and had the Carvery on Sunday and all meals were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mandy H
Alan C, General Manager at Bull Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Mandy, We are pleased you were happy with your stay, thanks for your comments on the clean rooms and great food. Kind Regards Alan More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

Yes the hotel does need some tlc in particular a decent boiler as the water never got better than warm. The small TV and poor reception is negated by free WiFi that is accessible from your room. However the location is stunning and the staff put themselves out to accommodate you. Please be patient if you have to wait for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pam H
Alan C, General Manager at Bull Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. we are in talks with the brewery for a better water system. More 

Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We have just stayed for 3 nights at the Bull Bay Hotel, which must have the best location of any hotel that I have ever stayed in. There is a beautiful coastal walk that leaves from outside the door, and it's only about 40 minutes to Snowden. The staff are efficient and friendly, the hotel is clean but is clearly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trguest
Alan C, General Manager at Bull Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your candid review, Yes we have a fabulous location, Yes we could be the premier hotel on the island with help and support from JW Lees brewery, however, we do try our best to provide a welcome stay. Thank you for you comments Regards Alan More 

Rhosgoch, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Called into the bull bay hotel last night thinking of eating there. When we walked in there was no staff in the bar area waited about 3 mins.and someone turned up looking rushed off her feet. We asked about a menu to be told there was only one and someone else was reading it!!!.Waited again for it to be produced... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann K
Alan C, General Manager at Bull Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Apologies for your 3 minute wait, out of season we have a skeleton crew manning the decks as do most hotels in the area, our menu changes on a daily or basis and 10 copies are printed every day, please accept our sincere apologies if this was not the case on the evening in question, however, I am aware that... More 

1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

Just returned home after a 2 night break at the Bull Bay Hotel. A lovely stay in a somewhat worn down and tired hotel. This is not to say we didn't enjoy ourselves. The staff were amazing, hard working and made us welcome from the moment we arrived . Although the hotel was dated it was clean and nothing that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
Alan C, General Manager at Bull Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Lisa, most appreciated. We are pleased you could see through the decor and appreciated the real life aspects of the hotel. Thank you. Regards Alan More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

The hotel is located in a fab position with beautiful views. The decor is dated, however rooms are very clean and beds very comfy. The staff are lovely, especially Kim who couldn't do enough. The friendliness of the staff and location make up for the dated decor. Would definitely visit again.

Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqui L
Alan C, General Manager at Bull Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Hello & thank you, Kim is fab, the views are great & as mentioned - We have one pf the most prevalent area's for dolphin & Porpoise watching, More 

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amlwch
1.1 km away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
273 reviews
2.2 km away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
13.6 km away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 km away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
568 reviews
0.0 km away
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
215 reviews
25.6 km away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An Anglesey Hotel with a fabulous coastal location in Bull-Bay - Amlwch, overlooking the Irish Sea. The hotel accommodation boasts 10 en-suite rooms 8 of which have sea views, an 80 cover restaurant, a large function room, a lounge bar & Games room with a pool table. Free parking is available with CCTV. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bull Bay Hotel

Address: Bull Bay, Amlwch LL68 9SH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Amlwch
Price Range: $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bull Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Bull Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a sea view double room and it was lovely.”
  • View from our room
  • Fancy waking up to this each day of your hols, beautiful.
  • The view from our room
 of 5 bubbles allend637, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't expect to much of the decor a little run down in places”
 of 5 bubbles pwarburton2, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room 10 has fantastic views but is up 2 flights of stairs. Was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 745janettef, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room 10 has great views but there are some quite steep stairs to climb.”
 of 5 bubbles Bol2wanderers, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay”
 of 5 bubbles tonyanne6052, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5