We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

524 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 521: English reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

We visit Beaumaris every year and every year we go to the Bishopsgate hotel and would not go anywhere else. The staff are lovely, the food is out if this world, the hotel itself is beautiful, child friendly and serves for a very relaxing break. Thank you to everyone who made our visit perfect. We look forward to seeing you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carleyjane89
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

We booked in last minute and got a lovely cosy room on the top floor. The owner and all the staff are really friendly and helpful, can't fault the service or the place. The star of the show has to be the food! We had dinner in the restaurant which was simply stunning and breakfast the next day was great...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bryony R
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

We had a very pleasant midweek summer break here which made a change from our usual New Year trip! The staff were most helpful and welcoming, and the food was wonderful. I had the toasted goat's cheese on beetroot salad starter on both nights as it was so delicious. At breakfast the poached eggs were perfectly cooked and the service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusanR646
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2015

A lovely privatley owned hotel, well presented and very comfortable friendly staff who made us feel most welcome. The food is of exceptional quality at a very reasonable price. And dog friendly All in all a great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Supersupersandy
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Arrived as a single female traveller and was made comfortable the moment I arrived. It is a small (9 rooms only) privately owned immaculate Georgia Town House. Small cosy bar and beautiful residents lounge with sea with. The most accommodating staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dotty W
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2015

We initially had difficulties in finding the private free hotel car park which is at the rear Fortunately the weather was lovely so to take our bags around was no problem but it wouldn't be so pleasant in bad weather so an access door from the car park would be very beneficial . The check-in was friendly and helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris D
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2015

My wife and I booked a three night stay at this hotel from the 9th of July at a cost of £299-70 for what was described as a deluxe double room .The room was number 1 on the top floor in what was I presume part of the attic judging from the sloping ceiling and windows so high you cant...

 Report
Helpful?
15Thank ian l
HazelJohnson-Ollier, Partner at Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I will try to be objective and honest to your very dishonest and disparaging comments. Firstly when you arrived you were told it was a quiet room at the top of the hotel without a view as it has a skylight window, so I would not expect you to see out of it. Your TV worked perfectly but you hadn't...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015

booked to celebrate my wife's birthday so took extra care when checking the hotel out, emailed Hazel the proprietor and she recommended the package that included evening meals on both days of our stay, good decision! the food is top quality and the presentation is that of a top hotel, the breakfast was also freshly cooked and delicious, our room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank samdav2
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2015

This hotel is not one of the big chains and this shows in the personal touches around the place. The rooms are well appointed and spacious. The hotel is situated on the main street running through Beaumaris. The car park which is accessed through narrow streets behind the hotel will hold eight cars but it is very tight. Owners of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Peter L
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Food was lovely, our room was relatively small though had everything we needed. Small car park at the rear of the hotel was useful. The owner obviously had lots of experience and had repeat clients, as she was very familiar with a number of the older guests

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Deanne W

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
4.3 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
896 reviews
0.1 km away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
665 reviews
16.2 km away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 km away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 km away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
78 reviews
6.4 km away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bishopsgate House is a small Georgian town house hotel built in 1755 with a Rosette awarded restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Beaumaris
Price Range: $158 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsgate House Hotel And Restaurant
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our bedroom was very quiet, at the back of the building (Room 11)”
 of 5 bubbles TomCaris, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It seems they are all different!”
 of 5 bubbles RobL743, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No great views but front rooms have a nice view of the street”
 of 5 bubbles Glenyce2015, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“go for 1st floor as they seem larger and don't have to extra flight of stairs to go up.”
 of 5 bubbles waggalot, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms are on the small side with low ceilings”
 of 5 bubbles charliehigginson, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5