We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sir John Trevor House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruthin
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sir John Trevor House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sir John Trevor House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 40: English reviews
Oisterwijk, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Beautifull house,very nice owners,thank you very much for helping our 81 years old mum.The breakfast was delicious.been in lots of hotels and b&b´s all over europe this is one of the best. The Gore family

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alex v
Misodali, Owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review

Looking back at my reviews I thought I had responded to this one, so really sorry I missed it, nevertheless I want to say thank you for the great things you said about our B&B and I'm pleased I was able to accommodate your mother too and that we will meet again in the not too distant future! Kind regards...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I agree with previous comments regarding service, breakfast etc. I thoroughly enjoyed the decor and objets d'art around the place. Sumptutous. The many pots, pans and high quality china on display were absolutely gleaming. I wish mine at home were as clean! I loved my room but recommend the blue and white room with the MAJESTIC bathroom. A real treat....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BethG186284
Misodali, Owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review and for saying such great things about our b&b it's always interesting to find that not everybody likes the 'minimalist' approach to visitor accommodation and we like our guests to feel at home from when they arrive to when they leave and hopefully to return to us for another visit.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed for one night as we were guests at a wedding at Ruthin Castle which is a few minutes walk from Sir John Trevor House. This B&D was ideally located for us as it was in the heart of Ruthin and so close to the castle so we didn't have far to stumble after a very enjoyable wedding. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adam_n_Chris
Misodali, Owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review

Great to meet the two of you and even better to know you were very comfortable and relaxed here in Sir John Trevor House and I do like to hear that my guests enjoy their breakfast as well and hopefully we will meet again in the not too distant future.

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We chose this lovely B&B for our bank holiday weekend stay as it was central to two of our walks. The room we chose was the Bryon room as this was at the back of the house,this had a massive king sized bed, and the views beyond the garden over the hills were delightful.The real bonus was the huge bathroom,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jnice A
Misodali, Owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Sir John Trevor House even though the weather wasn't brilliant for the bank holiday it is great to know when you came in from your walks at least you liked your accommodation and next time you come we'll see if we can have better weather!

Cambridge
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I stayed here recently as part of a walking holiday. The house is very centrally located for Ruthin and it's centre (literally thirty feet from the main square). The hosts were very welcoming and showed me to my room which was spacious and well presented. This hotel is not the modern 'sterile' type - it is full of character but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank basejumper
Misodali, Owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review

Sorry it's taken a year to respond to your kind words I try to respond to all my reviews your must have escaped! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was as you had expected it's important when you book accomodation that it comes up to the right standard hopefully we will meet again sometime.

London, England
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I know Ruthin well and have often walked past and admired this beautiful old house when visiting friends in the area so I was very pleased to be able to satisfy my curiosity by staying here. We weren't disappointed. Our room, at the back and overlooking the pretty garden and the hills, was very clean and sympathetically furnished in a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Random19845
Misodali, Owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review

I am pleased that you were not disappointed with your stay with us, when you go to another town and see an interesting house and wonder what it must be like inside and then get the chance to see it it's good to like what you see and hopefully get what you expected, perhaps you will come to Ruthin againand...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My partner and I recently stayed at this charming B&B as we were attending a wedding at the nearby Ruthin Castle. We stayed in the gorgeous Sir Johns room which had a lovely four poster bed and an ensuite/dressing room which was huge! Jackie & Dolly the cat welcomed us very well and were really friendly! the breakfasts were lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mollly1985
Misodali, Owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review

I am so pleased that you felt comfortable in Sir John's Room, as it was originally custom built for ourselves, including the 4 poster bed, 30 years ago it still holds fond memories for us and it's good to have guests in the rooms who appreciate the historic atmosphere, I used to like looking onto Castle Street and St Peter's...

Garstang
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We can thoroughly reccommend this accomodation right in the middle of lovely Ruthin.. Jacqui and Stuart are most welcoming and the building is lovely. We had a twin bedded room overlooking the garden with a splendid bathroom....big enough to hold a party in!! We would like to return there sometime.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hildahenry
Misodali, Owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and your previous email, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sir John Trevor House and that you felt comfortable and had a good night's sleep and we look forward to meeting you again should you visit Ruthin in the not too distant future.

Lincoln, Lincolnshire, England
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Lovely to be able to stay in such an historic yet homely house coupled with a friendly atmosphere give by the hosts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharron B
Misodali, Owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a nice review and for your lovely email if we can please our guests every time we are very happy, especially if you perhaps you would like to return one day in the not too distant future.

sfauntie
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My sister and I had stayed with Jackie and Stuart in their charming historic B&B in Ruthin last year and of course when we decided to make a return visit to Ruthin we knew we had to stay in Sir John Trevor House again . Fortunately there were rooms available for us even though we were quite late to book....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sfasuntie
Misodali, Owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review

We do remember you and your sister very well and we were pleased to see you both again and that you enjoyed your stay as much as we did and we are very much looking forward to your next visit

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruthin hotels
0.1 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
314 reviews
0.1 km away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
3.3 km away
Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Manorhaus Ruthin
Manorhaus Ruthin
#4 of 18 in Ruthin
362 reviews
0.3 km away
The Feathers
The Feathers
#7 of 18 in Ruthin
17 reviews
5.8 km away
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer the modern traveler bed and breakfast, in the warm and luxurious atmosphere of our home, with two tastefully appointed comfortable en-suite double bedrooms. It is a charming Elizabethan town house of exceptional character and a fine example of a grade 2 listed building, with hundreds of years of history but with all the amenities and facilities today's traveler expects, in the most historic street in the centre of the Ruthin. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sir John Trevor House

Address: Castle St, Ruthin LL15 1DP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Price Range: $90 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sir John Trevor House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quentins room overlooks the garden at the rear of the house, Sir John Trevor Room is at the front of the house overlooking the street.”
 of 5 bubbles 331ElaineP, 10 Feb 2013 | Read review
“All rooms very nice and quirky, you would be pleased with any of them”
 of 5 bubbles NICOLAH401, 26 Sep 2012 | Read review
“Try to get the room with THE bathroom!”
 of 5 bubbles BethG186284, 24 Oct 2011 | Read review
“Superbly quiet and relaxing at the back - did not experience the front but can't imagine such a quiet road would cause a disturbance!”
 of 5 bubbles Sharr0nB, 11 Aug 2011 | Read review
“Byron Room had a large bathroom with tub.”
 of 5 bubbles sisu99, 26 May 2011 | Read review
5 of 5