We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Eco Retreats

    Plas Einion, Furnace, Machynlleth SY20 8PG, Wales
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    Traveller (156)
    Room & Suite (23)
    Dining (7)
    Hotel Portmeirion
    1,487 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Penrhyndeudraeth
     
    Wynnstay Hotel
    69 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in Machynlleth
     
    Plas Dolguog Hotel
    104 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Machynlleth
     
    Dolserau Hall Hotel
    158 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Brithdir
     
    Overview
    • Excellent91%
    • Very good6%
    • Average1%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “gas stove” (5 reviews)
    “welcome pack” (5 reviews)
    Free Parking
    Free Wifi
    All hotel details
    {"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
    Hotel Portmeirion
    1,487 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Penrhyndeudraeth
     
    Wynnstay Hotel
    69 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in Machynlleth
     
    Plas Dolguog Hotel
    104 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Machynlleth
     
    Dolserau Hall Hotel
    158 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Brithdir
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (87)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 87 reviews

    Reviewed 3 days ago

    Absolutely fantastic place for some self healing even in the Welsh Rain. Going back next year. Get in touch with nature, the energy of the forest and get to see some of the gorgeous Welsh countryside.

    Thank Kath W
    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    We stayed in the forest tipi for a couple of nights, then the river yurt. Very remote locations, the forest tipi is located up a hill 5 minutes away from the nearest track, so make sure you have suitable footwear, especially during wetter months. Chris...More

    Thank B J R
    Response from Michael B, Manager at Eco RetreatsResponded 3 days ago

    Thanks very much for your review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay so much and hope you can come again some time.

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    We came at the end of September and stayed in the forest tipi. Overall we had a wonderful time, even though the weather was pretty terrible as it never stopped raining. Michael and Chris (the hosts) were great, very informative from the booking onwards and...More

    Thank LaraSirap
    Response from Michael B, Manager at Eco RetreatsResponded 3 days ago

    Thanks very much for your review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay in spite of the weather. Following this particularly wet summer we're currently looking into making the tipis more closed to the rain - we have fitted ozans (an inner awning) and drip...More

    Reviewed 14 September 2017

    My girlfriend and I have just returned from a stay in the Cwm Onnen tipi at Eco Retreats - and it was absolutely wonderful! We had originally only planned to stay for two nights, but we loved it so much that we decided to stay...More

    Thank eve b
    Response from Michael B, Manager at Eco RetreatsResponded 4 weeks ago

    Thank you so much for your review. I'm really happy that you enjoyed your stay so much and appreciated the beauty of tipi living. I hope you can come back again some time.

    Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

    The Forest Tipi is located in a private wooded area which provides a natural shield from much of the wind and rain. It's a very pretty private location. The highlight of the stay was the secluded location, the silence only broken by the odd sheep....More

    1  Thank Gary M
    Response from Michael B, Manager at Eco RetreatsResponded 6 September 2017

    Thanks very much for your review. I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay as much as you were hoping and am contacting you outside this page to apologise. In particular I'm extremely sorry about the pans etc not being properly cleaned and also your...More

    Hotel Portmeirion
    1,487 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Penrhyndeudraeth
     
    Wynnstay Hotel
    69 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in Machynlleth
     
    Plas Dolguog Hotel
    104 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Machynlleth
     
    Dolserau Hall Hotel
    158 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Brithdir
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$108 - US$188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Number of rooms
    • 5
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Eco Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • Wales >
    • Powys >
    • Machynlleth
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (156)
    Room & Suite (23)
    Dining (7)
    Pool & Beach (3)
    Hotel & Grounds (117)
    Bathroom (6)
    Nearby
    Hotel Portmeirion
    1,487 reviews
    35.06 km away
     
    Wynnstay Hotel
    69 reviews
    9.71 km away
     
    Plas Dolguog Hotel
    104 reviews
    8.08 km away
     
    Dolserau Hall Hotel
    158 reviews
    11.08 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Andy & Adam's Cafe and Shop
    41 reviews
    4.51 km away
    Ty Te Cadair Tea Room
    35 reviews
    7.48 km away
    The Buckley Arms
    8 reviews
    7.89 km away
    Gwesty Minffordd Hotel & Restaurant
    19 reviews
    7.09 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Corris Mine Explorers
    180 reviews
    5.13 km away
    King Arthur's Labyrinth
    491 reviews
    4.97 km away
    Corris Craft Centre
    214 reviews
    5.13 km away
    Corris Railway
    81 reviews
    4.53 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    11happytimes11
    14 August 2016|
    Answer
    Response from Michael B | Property representative |
    Hi, Sorry but we don’t allow dogs. We’re surrounded by sheep grazing and so this is our agreement with the farmers who we rent the land from.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Not a hotel. Tipi or Yurt. Try both! Not quite glamping either. Have fun and go with the flow."
    Read review
    "You can choose the best tipi or yurt for your needs browsing full offer on the eco-retreat website"
    Read review
    "The forest tipi is THE BEST!"
    Read review
    "Forest Tipi is most secluded so peace and quiet a guarantee"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing